We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Relaxing Stay in Page”
Review of Demani Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Demani Lodge
Ranked #2 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Paje
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A Relaxing Stay in Page”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Great service, good food, lots of fun. Demani Lodge is a great place to stay if you want to enjoy the beach in Paje. The staff is really helpful at organizing different tours around the island. The rooms are really funky, but watch out for the sand floor! It does take some getting used to :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anya_at_large
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    33
    13
    3
    4
See reviews for
10
58
39
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frederiksberg, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Demani Lodge is the perfect place to stay if you want a cheap hostel that provice a service and hospitality that you would not expect any where in the world. The owner, managers and staff was amazing and very extroverted and helped us planing trips on the island, took us to parties and did everything for making our stay as perfect as possible (wich succeeded). I will certaintly reccomment this place to everybody. I am deffently going back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenjaminFroling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København, Staden Kobenhavn, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Demani Lodge gave us an amazing holiday with everything we could wish for. The place was beautiful and had a relaxed and welcoming atmosphere. Demani Lodge has great food and breakfast is included in the price. We enjoyed the company of the managers and the rest of the friendly staff. After two weeks with party, beach, dolphins and friendship we will recommend Demani Lodge for everyone that want to experience the best of Zanzibar.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sveadk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

My friend and I recently spent some time at Demani during our stay in Paje. We weren't staying here but came daily for breakfast and to just generally chill out. The staff were all incredibly welcoming and sociable, making time spent there like relaxing with friends.
Our daily breakfast was very tasty (and is included in the price of a room if you are a guest) and consisted of a range of fresh fruits, eggs how you like them and then either pancakes, chapati or what I can only describe as 'east-african style donut'.
Demani isn't situated on the beach itself, but the sea is just a 'stones throw' away and the soft white sandy surrounds give it a 'beach feel'. There is a lounge area up above the bar which is a nice and breezy spot and the perfect place to hang out in the evening with a few beers under the night stars
We would both highly recommend Demani as a place to stay in Paje simply because the people make a place what it is and these guys make Demani fantastic. Enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Demani Lodge is a beautiful place to stay for backpackers and low budget travellers.
Clean rooms, a chilled bar area with very friendly staff and a very nice garden made my stay there perfect. The food was very nice too and the breakfast included in the room rate.
It's not far to walk (around 5 minutes) to the amazing beach of Paje.
Paje is my favorite place in Zanzibar with it's friendly people and nice beach and Demani a very good choice if you are looking for cheap and good accomodation.
I loved my time there and I would come back any time =)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L0veTheW0rld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Demani Lodge is a really awesome and enjoyable place to stay!
The staff is very helpful and caring.
The room we stayed in was very nice and clean. The shared bathrooms were also clean.Breakfast was very good and included in the room rate.
The bar area is really nice and perfect to meet other traveller.

The lodge is between Paje and Jambiani. About 15 minutes to walk to Paje.

All in all Demani Lodge is a really nice place for backpackers and low budget traveller who want to get the best for their money!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank -TINA199-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

If you are looking for a nice, low budget place to stay at Zanzibar's East Coast you sholud go to Demani!
The place is amazing! There are different sized bungalows, some of them have sand floor! So once you got up from your bambus-bed, your feet are already in Zanzbars snow white snow!
The breakfast is really good and included (30 US Dollar a night for 2 people).
The breathtaking beach is just across the street. The village of Paje is a 15 minutes walk down the road. If you traveling by bus, the managers of Demani will pick you up with their car - no problem!
During the day the place is very peaceful and quiet. There are relaxing hammocks and couches. Every saturday there is a party at Demanis, with a lot of Backpackers and locals.
The kitchen serves delicious food (seafood, chicken, beef, vegetarian,...) and milkshakes for very good prices.
The managers will also organize tours (such as snorkeling or boat rides) for you, if you are interested in that kind of stuff.
There is also Internet, that you can use.

Long story short - Best place to go for Backpackers at the east coast of Zanzibar! You will not regret this choice ;)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Friederike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paje
0.6 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#8 of 13 in Jambiani
251 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kisiwa On The Beach Resort
4.1 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#7 of 13 in Jambiani
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#4 of 13 in Jambiani
241 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa (Relais & Chateaux)
0.2 mi away
Kilima Kidogo Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Demani Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Demani Lodge

Property: Demani Lodge
Address: Jambiani Road, Paje, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Paje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Paje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backpackers, Kitesurfers and barefoot beach-lovers will adore the easy retreat oasis of Demani Lodge. Situated just a kilometre from Paje on the Jambiani Road, Demani's lush garden, swimming pool, free Wifi and easy access to the beach are topped off by flexible accommodation options with singles, doubles, triples, dorm room and nice, big rooms with wooden floor and bathroom en suite. Pick-up's can be arranged for extra cost. We have a BBQ with live music and party with DJ every Thursday, delicious food in the kitchen from 12 pm - 22 pm, and an open bar as long as there is people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Demani Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Demani Lodge Zanzibar Island/Paje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing