We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most beautiful place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar
Ranked #3 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Paje
Certificate of Excellence
dorset
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Most beautiful place”
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights and left very upset we didn't stay longer.
Very beautiful setting with discreet bungalows hidden among trees and a beautiful beach with enough loungers.
Didn't book a sea view but our bungalow had one anyway which was nice.

Food was excellent and good selection of cocktails and drinks.
Such a good relaxed atmosphere and highly highly recommend.

Have absolutely no negative comments - what a great place.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fcrazza21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans Terrbi E, Manager at Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Thank you very much for your fantastic review of our little paradise on the beach - we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much. Of course we would have liked for you to stay much longer, but let's hope that one day you are able to join us again at this lovely beach with our great staff and yummy food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    94
    18
    8
    2
See reviews for
39
105
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We found this place by accident while driving in Paje. The beach is stunning (at high tide tough only) with the restaurant and cafe right in front. The place is very cozy with sand. The food was always succulent as the chef changes the menu based on fresh products. Try the Swahili food but also the pizza. Was disappointed by the cocktail bar (very slow service, pole pole, and not generous with alcohol) hence I preferred the local beers. Finally the bungalow, bathroom were nice, clean and with all you need to feel at ease! I still give it a 5* but would be good to fix the few little issues mentioned above.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Hussein D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans Terrbi E, Manager at Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Thank you very much for taking you time to review our little paradise on the beach. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall, particularly the food, the beach and the room. We find the beach stunning at both low and high tide because we think that the changing of scenery makes a nice 'beach TV', we are glad you enjoyed it though. We will take your comments regarding the bar service on board - we haven't had anyone commenting on the lack of alcohol so far, and we do follow the standard recipes and procedures without any funny businees. Nevertheless, we hope that next time you come and visit us you will have a more favourable experience. We hope to welcome you here again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Stunning island stunning beach lodge stunning food - everything was just awesome! Owners were friendly, approachable and so relaxed!

See you again in December 2014 for more sunshine, tourist attractions and more importantly fun and relaxing !

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans Terrbi E, Manager at Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Thank you very much for your review of our little paradise on the beach, and it is great to hear that you are coming back. Our white sandy beach and turquoise blue ocean is waiting for you, as is our fantastic team. Let's hope your second stay will top the first one, we have made some improvements in the past year so let's see what you say! Karibu tena - you are welcome again...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Velenje, Slovenia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2014

I just came back from Tanzania and Zanzibar trip. I was travelling with my friend from Uganda and by coincidence we came to Ndame Beach Lodge. Wow! We weren't sorry even for a minute! Such a nice place to stay at! Rooms are nice and big, clean. Houses are spaced enough from each other people can't disturb you (this is a big plus!), beach is just in front of houses, now the restaurant - omg that food is so good, i want to go back now :-) Mr.Mike (or Michael) who is taking care of cooking - you can see he is real expert! Chicken, fish, pizza... everything was soooo good. Especially Hawaii pizza with black olives and tasteful ham! Prices are ok, not too expensive (but i am from Europe, so prices at home are higher). Everyone is very friendly, all the staff in restaurant, the other boss (Hans?), just everyone is always smiling and willing to help. Restaurant is such a nice quiet place, nice wooden tables, very relaxing place - i could sit there for hours. One day ill go back to Zanzibar and i dont even think of going anywhere else than Ndame. The only thing they need to fix is put wi-fi in restaurant although there is wi-fi 30 meters away from restaurant at the reception but we people are lazy ;-) All the best and I hope to eat your pizza again Mr.Michael!

Matjaz from Slovenia & Irene from Uganda

Room Tip: Any room there is nice but we stayed in number 24 i think. very nice and quiet section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mat550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans Terrbi E, Manager at Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Thank you very much for taking your time to review our little paradise on the beach. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much, and would love to welcome you back! Our restaurant has become very popular in recent years, and we know that this is due to Mr Mike and his team with their fantastic cooking.
Although it is a bit late, we can now tell you that the only fault we had according to you has been fixed: Wifi is now available in the restaurant without any problems!
We hope to see you here again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2014

I would first like to thank the entire staff of Ndame. I really felt like I was right at home. I travelled to Zanzibar with an open mind and it helped a lot. From the day I set my foot in Ndame Beach Lodge to the day I left I have nothing bad to say. My room was clean at all times, the food was great (especially the pizzas), ocean view as I was promised and the best service ever. I love and miss everyone and I can't wait to go back. Thank you to all! Asanteni!! - solo traveller from Cape Town

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phakamisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans Terrbi E, Manager at Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Thank you very much for taking your time to review our little paradise on the beach. We are happy to hear that you felt so welcome as a single female traveller and that our staff made sure that you had everything that you need. We hope to welcome you again here soon! We are sending lots of love from the entire team to Cape Town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

I stayed here with a friend for 5 nights in April. We had a really lovely time there. The location is amazing, right on the beach and our room was lovely. We had a twin room, very clean, and on arrival there were fresh flowers on our bed, which was a really nice touch. The room was cleaned every day and every day there was a fresh basin of water left outside our room for us to clean our feet. We did have to ask for fresh beach towels. There were two power outages while we were there so it's always a good idea to have a backup torch! Internet was available at reception. My only problem is the price really. Meals and drinks were quite expensive compared to what we had been used to on the mainland, however, we did have a walk down the beach and ate at some other places and the prices at Ndame were the same as along the strip so I think this is probably reflective of the area. We also had a morning trip we organised through Ndame to go dolphin spotting and snorkelling. Unfortunately, another family on our boat were feeling unwell so we only had about 30 minutes dolphin spotting and about 5 minutes snorkelling but we still had to pay the full $60. However, overall I really enjoyed my stay at Ndame, the staff were lovely and very friendly and the personal touches were lovely. Oh, and the beach is amazing.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank obries11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans Terrbi E, Manager at Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Thank you very much for taking your time to review our little paradise on the beach. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we are taking your comments on board. The reason that you had to ask for fresh beach towels is probably due to the fact that we try to save some water by not changing these towels every day - however, we will pass the information on to housekeeping to keep an eye on this. Regarding the food prices, you quite rightly compared it to the places along the beach - in comparison we find that we have a great value for money. Coming from the mainland though, we understand that the prices were rather high in comparison. This is unfortunately the case in all of Zanzibar - being an island presents a geographical challenge to have everything supplied at a reasonable price, therefore prices for everything (not just food) tend to be higher than on mainland Tanzania. We wish we could change this, but we are trying our best to keep the value-for-money at its best.
We have passed on your comments regarding the tour to our captain - it is unfortunate that you had a less than satisfactory experience with the dolphin tour.
We hope to welcome you again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed at Ndame Beach Lodge for three nights over the New Year holiday and it was bliss. Ndame has everything you are looking for in a place to stay in Paje: great location on the beach, beach bar, decent food in the restaurant. The hosts are very helpful and responded to our many email questions. There are a few friendly Masai that help manage the beach chairs. Ndame is a bit more expensive that other Paje places but it is worth it.

Room Tip: All rooms are about 30-40 meters back from the beach and all face the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanseh, Manager at Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you very much for your review - we are happy to hear that you have had a lovely stay with us! You seem to have enjoyed all our key features, such as the great beach, overlooked by our beach bar, and the yummy food, served by our lovely team. We are a tiny bit surprised that Ndame seems to be more expensive as we find our prices lower and value for money better compared to similar establishments around Paje - however, you stayed during peak season when everything on Zanzibar is unfortunately a bit more expensive. Nevertheless, it's been wonderful to have you hear, and it would be wonderful to welcome you in our little paradise on the beach again - the bliss is still here and waiting for you...
Sunny greetings from the Ndame Beach Lodge team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paje
5.8 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#6 of 13 in Jambiani
555 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kisiwa On The Beach Resort
6.1 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#4 of 13 in Jambiani
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Reef & Beach Resort Zanzibar
1.4 mi away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa (Relais & Chateaux)
1.6 mi away
Kilima Kidogo Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar

Property: Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar
Address: Paje, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Paje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Paje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ndame Beach Lodge in Paje Zanzibar has been a dream beach holiday destination for more than 8 years. Sun-seekers and Indian Ocean lovers from all over the world come to stay with us. Our 14 bungalows with 31 rooms are strung along in lush tropical gardens on the shores of one of the world's most beautiful beaches. Stretching more than 250 m along snow white beaches, where the warm, turquoise waters caress the shores. From Ndame you can start a variety of activities like swimming with the dolphins, kiting, diving, visiting the local markets, snorkeling, learning about local culture and the spices which grow here in abundance. The Arabs called it the Spice Island. Enjoy the relaxed atmosphere in our restaurant and bar, have a chat with interesting people from all over the world. At times we accommodate guests from more than 20 countries. A much loved highlight is our bonfire grill below the sparkling stars of the southern hemisphere. In our local style beach bar we serve you fresh fruit juices, tasty cocktails or exotic local drinks for the daring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar Hotel Paje
Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar Zanzibar Island/Paje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing