We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar
Nearby Hotels
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dhow Inn(Paje)
$148
$142
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$530
$449
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveler rating
153
108
19
9
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
153
108
19
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooms are very basichot waterblue indian oceansmall bungalowsgreat resortlocal foodkite surferslow tidebar tenderwi filocal lifehundred meterspole polefresh fishmosquito netoctopusdelicious food
Filter
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 291 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We loved this place, - staff were really friendly and helpful, food and ambiance were above standard,. Although we didn't stay here we spent a lot of nights in the beach bar and eat here a lot. Free wifi was a bonus!
Security was evident with many Masai on evening duty. There was a Masai floor show too, which was brilliant!
We tried to book here at Christmas time but there were no vacancies, I'd advise to book early at peak times.
The beach is wonderful at Paje and more so in front of Ndame as the staff rake way the sea grass every morning.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TAFYTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans Terrbi E, Manager at Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words and taking time to review our lodge. It would have been a pleasure to accommodate you in our little paradise on the beach, but we are glad that you were able to enjoy at least some of it, such as the food and the atmosphere. It's particularly nice to hear that you could enjoy it, even if you were not staying here full-time. We hope to welcome you as 'proper' guests some day soon - maybe when we are less busy.
All the best from the Ndame Beach Lodge team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

What can I say...white beach, blue sky, clear water of the Indian Ocean....Nice (allthoug basic, but he what do you need here) cottages on this nice beach resort. Perfect bar and restaurant. Great staff

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kilidoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans Terrbi E, Manager at Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

thank you very much for taking your time to review our lodge. It's always nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our little spot of heaven on the beach, and we are glad to hear that you agree with us - it must be paradise! We hope that we can welcome you back some time!
All the best from the Ndame Beach Lodge team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

A beautiful place...rooms are simple, but lovely and airy, with a sea breeze and a big mosquito net. They are kept very clean as is the whole place.

The beachfront bar and the restaurant are both great, with a lovely atmosphere and excellent food and drink. The cocktails with fresh fruit are delicious and reasonable, and the food in the restaurant was consistently great.

Staff are all friendly and welcoming and the whole place is run very well. Would definitely recommend this place.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank SWJ-85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanseh, Manager at Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Thank you very much for your review - we always appreciated when our guests take their time to comment on our little paradise on the beach, and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our lodge. The beach is a truly amazing backdrop to our lodge, and we appreciate the hard work that our staff is doing - it is them who make our lodge a special place to stay. We look forward to welcoming you here again!
All the best from the Ndame Beach Lodge team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I got foodpoisoned twice in four days, the doctor can confirm it. Allthough the first night there was nobody at the hotel who could even call for a doctor. When I told the management, the whole managemnet team just shrug and said they have not been ill for three months.

We where a group of six and five of us suffered from the bad food. I have been travelling more than 15 times to Tanzania in the past five years always eating anything, at hotels or local food, in tiny restuarnts or just off the road and I have never ever had any problems with the food.

And I did have to pay for the food.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annethiele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans Terrbi E, Manager at Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on our lodge. Firstly, its not nice to have anything unpleasant happening especially on holiday. So, whichever way things happened my sincere sympathy. However from the hotel's point of view it's a very inappropriate comment and we can not follow the line of thought at all.
We do not understand how it is possible to have food poisoning on the same evening of arrival. Furthermore, the contact details of the doctor are available at reception, restaurant and in the room information folder - any of our staff would call the doctor in case of any serious incidences or requests. We did speak to the doctor to investigate your case further, but he did not confirm food poisoning with us, which leads us to think that it was maybe a more common stomach bug. We were serving over 200 meals a day without any serious incidents. We also saw that your family was eating and drinking in our restaurant every day, which suprises us regarding your statement. We do our best to respond to customer complaints as soon as they are brought to our attention, but we heard about your problems only at check out.
Whatever the guests' problems have been, we regret that they were not able to enjoy their stay in our little paradise as much as all our other guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at Ndame. The beaches are beautiful. Had good dives at Powani reef and lake mountains. Our sons enjoyed kitesurfing. We enjoyed walking out to the reef and enjoys snorkeling amongst the beautiful coral. The chef at Ndame was very innovative and proved very good specials every day.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henrylambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanseh, Manager at Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review - we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Ndame Beach Lodge is located within an amazing setting and environment, and we agree with you that the beach is a beautiful spot. You certainly enjoyed your time, and we would be happy to welcome you again in our little paradise.
All the best from the Ndame Beach Lodge team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews