We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Dhow Inn(Paje)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveler rating
153
108
19
9
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
153
108
19
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooms are very basichot waterblue indian oceansmall bungalowsgreat resortlocal foodkite surferslow tidebar tenderwi filocal lifehundred meterspole polefresh fishmosquito netoctopusdelicious food
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 291 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Yes! Paradise on earth does exist! We found it at Ndame Beach Lodge in Paje on Zanzibar.
A fantastic place with a wonderfull beach, cosy lodges, a good restaurant with excellent food and a good selection of wines. (Instant coffee and tea is available free of charge all day, but if you want the real stuff, freshly brewed coffee of your choice, you have to pay a little extra)

We stayed four nights and enjoyed every moment, not least the "sundowner" at the fully equipped beach bar.

Friendly and service minded staff. Safe and quite atmosphere.

We came in the beginning of march when the rainy season had just started, so we had a few hours of rain a day or two, but that was only added value - very refreshing afterwards.

Highly recommendable!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erik e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanseh, Manager at Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback, and we appreciate that you took a moment to comment on our little paradise. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our lovely beach and great food impressed you. It is also nice to hear that you made us of our new beach bar and enjoyed it during the golden hour - just before sunset - for a sundowner - it is a lovely spot to observe beach life and enjoy the tranquility of our place. Our staff will be happy to welcome you again, and we hope to see you at our lodge again one day - maybe without any rain, but with some refreshement (maybe in form of the lovely breeze that we usually get here on the South East Coast).
The Ndame Beach Lodge team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We spent 5 days in Ndame and it was absolutely amazing. We left the hotel today afternoon and now being in another hotel, we understand how much we really miss all that Ndame has to offer to its guests. The stuff was very lovely and welcoming, the food was delicious, the rooms were clean and the beach is large and prive and with a gorgeous view. The hotel is very cosy and just makes you forget all the problems.
Our minds and souls are still there. We wish all the best to the greatest hotel in Paje and suggest it to everyone who is looking to find paradise on earth!
Greetings from Estonia!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Grethel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanseh, Manager at Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback - we are happy to hear that you enjoyed our little paradise and that you had a relaxing stay with us. We agree with you that our staff and our location on one of Zanzibar's whitest and finest beaches are the best features of our place, not to forget the food. We hope that one day you come back and visit us again - it was lovely to have you here with us.
Sunny greetings from the Ndame Beach Lodge team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Nice beaches and Good food but too may power cuts in the evening. Could do with serving a decent cup of coffee in the morning especially as they do a good breakfast but you have to pay extra for this.

Room Tip: Check bathrooms first. The one we had had the main bath tap in an awkward spot.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASDFTRPADV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanseh, Manager at Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you for your review and we appreciate that you take time to comment on our hotel. You are right in that we don't offer luxury - it is more important to us that guests feel at home and ease in our lodge, and our staff is working hard to make everyone feel relaxed while not being over the top as in many 4 or 5 star hotels. We have a coffee bar which offers very good quality coffee for free 24 hours - it might be instant coffee, but many people say that it is the best instant coffee that you can find anywhere.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the main attraction, i.e. the white and sandy beach which is one of Zanzibar's finest beaches, and our restaurant is becoming more and more popular in its own right. Unfortunately we do not have any control over the power cuts but we try and anticipate them and make sure that is does not affect our guests too much.
Best regards from the Ndame Beach Lodge team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I stayed here for four nights. The rooms were simple, but tastefully appointed and cleaned every day. My room had a view of the sea and the garden which was lovely. The lodge is well run and the staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good - you can choose from a buffet of fruits, cereals, yoghurt, eggs to order, grilled tomatoes, potatoes, pancakes, pastries, juice, tea, coffee. My only complaint if I could call it that was that I thought the room was a little over-priced for one person. However, this didn't get in the way of having a relaxing peaceful and enjoyable stay. I loved the quiet peace and natural beauty of the place and had the best sleep there that I'd had in months.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisa_om1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanseh, Manager at Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Hi Lisa - thank you very much for your review, and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is nice to hear that you got to enjoy the main appeal of our lodge - the friendly staff, laid-back atmosphere, beautiful beach and lovely garden environment. We are sorry to hear about the price, however, if someone books via a third-party, we have less control over the rooms that guests get allocated - but then again, you stayed in one of our loveliest rooms, and it's nice to hear that you relaxed and had a enjoyable time in our lodge. We hope to see you again some day!
Your Ndame Beach Lodge team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at Ndame Beach Lodge for 4 nights around New Years.

Out of the 3 beachside hotels we stayed at in Zanzibar (including over Xmas) this one was the most expensive but had the smallest and most basic rooms. I think it would have been better value at another time of year as they seem to have inflated the price over New Years (we booked though an external website).

We stayed in 2 different rooms which were a bit different - one was not on the generator so no electricity during power cuts but also had a much better shower than the other room so each had some advantages. The second room also had good hot water even though we were only promised cold water when booking. There were some thoughtful extra touches like water outside the room for washing feet, beach towels and bug spray for killing mosquitoes (we saw a few in the room but didn't really get bitten). It was not too noisy but we could hear music from the bar a couple of nights.

The breakfast was the best out of the places we stayed in Zanzibar with much more choice than most other places (a good thing since I will a bit sick of toast and eggs every morning at the other hotels we stayed at). Sometimes the breakfast room seemed a bit crowded but that's understandable with them being fully booked over New Years. Free tea and coffee was available throughout the day which was a nice touch.

The food in the restaurant was generally pretty good and the portions generous. Prices were perhaps slightly higher than average. It's best to sit down before the main lunch crowd as service got slow when they were busy but was quite good the rest of the time. We alo enjoyed a seafood BBQ on New Years Eve which was great!

One of the best things about Ndame Beach Resort was the spread out beachfront area which seemed one of the nicest in Paje. There is plenty of shade and enough chairs most of the time (but people did get up early to take the best spaces). It is also somewhat out of the main area so quite quiet - there is no hard sell on the beach and it's away from the main kite-surfing area. It is still close enough to the village that it is easy to walk there in 10 min and it felt safe enough to walk in the enening as well. Areas north of here towards Bweiju are also quiet but had much more seaweed on the beach than the area around Ndame.

As for all of Paje the beach is highly tidal - swimming is difficult at low tide but you can observe local sea weed farms etc. There are also small patches of coral so you can see some sea life if you look carefully.

Another positive here is that the staff and management seemed really friendly and helpful. They also organise day trips and can arrange taxis. The hotel seemed much better managed than the other 2 places we stayed at.

Overall I'd definately stay again if we return to Paje and we didn't see anywhere we would have preferred to stay while walking along the beach.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanseh, Manager at Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Thank you for your review - we appreciate you taking time to give some feedback on our little paradise on the beach, and we are happy to hear that overall you had a good experience. New Years tends to be our busiest season and is exceptionally busy, and considering the challenges of operating a hotel on a small island, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews