We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to chill”
Review of New Teddy's Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
New Teddy's Place
Ranked #1 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Paje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2010

I can really recommend teddys place! It's a quite and really relaxing place in paje and i think it's also the best place to stay there!!
The prices a more like in europe but compared to other hostels in zanzibar is it ok but not cheap..
the staffs are very welcoming and the food is delicious!! if you want to go to the east coast, go there!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ganz-weit-weg10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 314 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2010

Really enjoyed staying there. Everyone was so nice, helpful, open and relaxed. Rooms were clean. Food was really good. They have some parties there aswell that were always great and we just had a lot of fun there. The beach is just amazing!!! Definitely a good place to stay!! Would love to come back.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johannasez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

I've enjoyed the stay at Teddy's Place very much. I've been there for more than ten days and will definitely be coming back. Especially the staff is very welcoming and charming! If you're around, you should definitely check out the place! Zanzibar is the place to be - and if you're on Zanzibar, Teddy's Place is even more so!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flyhigh291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

a very nice place with affordable prices! perfect for backpackers. i planned to spent the last days of my trip at the beach and at teddys was everything i've needed. very chilled out and great food.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina_Hamburg_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2010

It was a really relaxing time at teddys place. The staff is very nice and helpful and we totally enjoyed the great food. Thanks to teddy the chef! The prices are totally ok. Its a chilled out place but every wednesday there is the big Hakuna Kulala party with many locals and good music.

its very close to the beautiful beach, just climb the wall :)

we also had a good time at the snorkeling trip, that was organized for us.

Hope we can come back soon :)

Cheers

Josephine

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josi_Phine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

I've rarely seen a low-budget place as beautiful as Teddy's! If you come there you really become part of the Teddy's Place familiy...The Zanzibar vibes just go right into you...being able to relax, leave all the stress behind you and just enjoy your time. On ZNZ there are lots of things to do..from snorkelling, dolphin tours, discovering the island (e.g. ZNZ National Park or the Zala Reptile Park) and Stonetown or just swimming in the great Indian Ocean on the beach that seems as if you got it right for yourself, and partying as well of course :-) The staff will always help you with this. They really know what they're talking about and will not try to palm you off, they will really put their shoulder to the wheel.
Prices are really affordable and the food is just delicious. The rooms (which are called Bandas) are simple but clean and equipped with mosquito nets and fans (spray against mosquitos is also available). I can really recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Porcellina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

Teddy's Place is surely the best option in Paje and reasonably priced (in comparison to the high prices elsewhere on Zanzibar). The Bandas have sand floor and everything is very clean (so are toilets and showers) and superromantic. It's not right on the beach (half a minute walk) and they organize every Wednesday a big party till the morning - the rest of the week is very quiet. The part-time manager Nadine from Germany is very helpful in all matters. I even got after-sun and Aloe Vera to cut in the beautiful garden. After the dolphin tour we bought a fish and Teddy, the owner and cook, made a delicious fish and even invited us for the rice and preparing. Also Teddy likes cooking and finally someone adds spices :-)
Nadine is also very helpful with internet and is working constantly to make the place even better - also Markus from Germany who works there is always helpful with good advices. They all put so much effort in this place to make the stay a great time (btw, they just opened in spring 2010). No doubt, one of the best plaes I stayed in Tanzania on my journey in 4 weeks!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomrom24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paje
0.5 mi away
Kisiwa On The Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Paje by Night Hotel
0.9 mi away
Demani Lodge
Demani Lodge
#2 of 26 in Paje
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Summer Dream Lodge
Summer Dream Lodge
#6 of 26 in Paje
65 reviews
30.4 mi away
Villa Kiva Resort and Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Jambo Beach Bungalows
Jambo Beach Bungalows
#11 of 26 in Paje
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Teddy's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Teddy's Place

Address: | P.O. Box 3564, Paje, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Paje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Paje
Price Range: $15 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — New Teddy's Place 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect accommodation for all who want to travel on a backpacker's budget and experience real Zanzibar vibes. Stunning Zanzibari food, cooked by one of the best chefs on the island, cozy bar with chilled music and plenty of space for relaxing, traditional makuti bandas and of course the breathtaking beach of Paje.Our aim is to make it possible for everyone to enjoy this beautiful island. Especially for backpackers it is really hard to find cheap accommodation on Zanzibar. So we have adjusted all our prices for a backpacker budget.All prices include our delicious Teddy’s breakfast. Choose from yummy pancakes or delicious eggs and famous chapati, both served with fresh fruit, juice and tea/coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your New Teddy's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teddy`s Place Hotel Paje
New Teddy's Place Zanzibar Island/Paje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing