We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay in paje”
Review of New Teddy's Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
New Teddy's Place
Ranked #1 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Paje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2014

New Teddy's was awesome and I have heard the old one is cool too. The staff (Genuis, the 2 Harry's, etc etc) and all the local guys who hang out there are all legends. It's a shame the lady who runs it didn't fit the internet the entire time I was there... but the boys behind the bar made up for it by being heaps of fun. the sand floor dorms are cool and don't be turned off by the sand floors- even if you did get sand in your bed the sand is as fine as flour, it's literally not a problem. I see other people have complained about power outages but as soon as you have been in Africa a few weeks you will realise there probably isn't a place on the continent where this doesn't happen- it's Africa and you just have to get over that stuff! Definitely recommend Teddys :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theycallmetrouble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddys P, Manager at New Teddy's Place, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

dear Sarah,

we remember you very well as our guest and also had a good time with you here. We are very sorry that we couldn´t fix the internet during your stay, but this is always a little bit a difficult topic here in africa. Nevertheless we are happy that you had a good time here and thank you for the lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 298 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2014

Nice staff and restaurant. Very nice atmosphere. Beautiful territory inside. A lot of friendly people all around the world. Nice food and nice mojito party on Sundays. Good music in the evening. Bungalows with a sand floor Toilet and shower one is situated on the territory. You must go 50 meters to the beach but this way is very nice and not worry you at all. Excellent beach, like everywhere in Paje.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Leonid Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddys P, Manager at New Teddy's Place, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Thanks for the good review and we are happy that you had a good time at New Teddy´s Place. Welcome back again. Cheers your New Teddys Place team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Possibly my favourite place in Tanzania by far! What a laid back atmosphere. The staff are great fun and very friendly, the best I've met in three months of Tanzania. The food is good for the price, make an effort to try their Swahili BBQ. The bungalows are well spaced out and comfortable. The best thing about this place is the view from the raised chill out area...

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddys P, Manager at New Teddy's Place, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

we are happy that you had a good time at New Teddys Place and would love to see you again. Thanks for staying with us. Your Teddys Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

The staff is very friendly, and when I was there the other guests were also awesome - world travelers with very interesting stories. The spice tea they serve at breakfast is my new favorite tea. The whole area has sand floors and plenty of hammocks. Less than a minute from the beach. Breakfast is included, but there's no kitchen.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sydneybennet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddys P, Manager at New Teddy's Place, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Thanks a lot for the lovely review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at New Teddys Place and can only say karibu tena.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

its beach is being cleaned every morning, dorms are clean, private huts are good. People who work there speak fair english (although Hassan ("Genious") was the one who resolved most of our problems when needed). Credit card is accepted -i was able to pay- but the machine doesn't always function. In restaurant Paje by Night, they have cash back service (no ATM on Paje). you can ask about shared taxis to go there from stonetown. Owner (manager?) Tobias is helpful but he is not always there and the person who supposed to be there (Muzu? ) might not be always there as well. This being Africa I'll be there at 2 doesn't mean he will be. The reason I am writing this, is to say, if you keep your money in the safe of Teddy, you need to ask him the key. (He is the only one with the key); so if he is not there when he supposed to be, you might not get your money when you need. This doesn't devaluate the place, we've checked other hotels/hostels as well, this one had the best price/service ratio. Just act smart, always keep enough cash with you. (worst case scenario you eat at teddy's restaurant and pay later.but this takes away your option of going to a party. Sunday barbecue is recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exclea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

we spent beatiful hollydays there!!! it was a great place, and the staff good vibes!! the beds are really comfortable like the place in general. the beach is a paradise!! cold beer!! and delicious caipirinha!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lu_Trindade2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddys P, Manager at New Teddy's Place, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Thanks for the lovely review. we enjoyed having you as our guests and are happy that you had a good time at our place

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

New Teddy's is not a bad place to stay, the rooms are funky and good value. The bar and lounge area on the platform are really cool too. Only thing I would say is not a complaint but just to say to the managers that the staff use NewTeddy's as a home and the problem with this is it feels slightly uncomfortable. We saw staff sleeping on the platform sofas daily.The music is loud and not really the right atmosphere when there aren't many guests around and are just trying to have a relaxing dinner. It seemed the music was chilled and great when the managers were there in the morning but changed drastically when they left and the staff had control. I understand as a manager myself it is difficult to always be at your place and checking the staff and end of season you want some time off but just to give a heads up that the way the staff treat New Teddys doesn't make a great vibe for others.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gbrown_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddys P, Manager at New Teddy's Place, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

we are very thankful for your comment as we always wanna improve. I am really sorry if the musik was disturbing you sometimes and we will work on making the stay in New Teddys Place for all our guests to an unforgettable time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paje
0.5 mi away
Kisiwa On The Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#8 of 13 in Jambiani
261 reviews
0.6 mi away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa (Relais & Chateaux)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Demani Lodge
Demani Lodge
#2 of 26 in Paje
214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cristal Resort
Cristal Resort
#4 of 8 in Paje
40 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hakuna Majiwe Beach Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Teddy's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Teddy's Place

Address: | P.O. Box 3564, Paje, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Paje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Paje
Price Range: $15 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — New Teddy's Place 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect accommodation for all who want to travel on a backpacker's budget and experience real Zanzibar vibes. Stunning Zanzibari food, cooked by one of the best chefs on the island, cozy bar with chilled music and plenty of space for relaxing, traditional makuti bandas and of course the breathtaking beach of Paje.Our aim is to make it possible for everyone to enjoy this beautiful island. Especially for backpackers it is really hard to find cheap accommodation on Zanzibar. So we have adjusted all our prices for a backpacker budget.All prices include our delicious Teddy’s breakfast. Choose from yummy pancakes or delicious eggs and famous chapati, both served with fresh fruit, juice and tea/coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your New Teddy's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teddy`s Place Hotel Paje
New Teddy's Place Zanzibar Island/Paje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing