We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”
Review of New Teddy's Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Teddy's Place
Ranked #1 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Paje
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

New Teddy's is not a bad place to stay, the rooms are funky and good value. The bar and lounge area on the platform are really cool too. Only thing I would say is not a complaint but just to say to the managers that the staff use NewTeddy's as a home and the problem with this is it feels slightly uncomfortable. We saw staff sleeping on the platform sofas daily.The music is loud and not really the right atmosphere when there aren't many guests around and are just trying to have a relaxing dinner. It seemed the music was chilled and great when the managers were there in the morning but changed drastically when they left and the staff had control. I understand as a manager myself it is difficult to always be at your place and checking the staff and end of season you want some time off but just to give a heads up that the way the staff treat New Teddys doesn't make a great vibe for others.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gbrown_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddys P, Manager at New Teddy's Place, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
we are very thankful for your comment as we always wanna improve. I am really sorry if the musik was disturbing you sometimes and we will work on making the stay in New Teddys Place for all our guests to an unforgettable time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    38
    14
    3
    9
See reviews for
8
43
78
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

New Teddys was a nice cool place to stay. We were on a budget so stayed in dorms, they were clean with lots of space.
Bathrooms were ok, cold shower with bad pressure but large.
Fans kept you cool. Breakfast (inc in price) was good, on till 11am, with 2 choices.
Food was expensive but in line with all other restaurants on the beach.
Nice bar/ veranda/ hammocks to relax and a fire at night If you want to sit around.
Sunday is the night they host the party so loud music, but music stopped about 12.
Overall, highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josie1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Uppsala Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I stayed in New Teddy's Place. The place has a great feel to it and a nice location right on the beach in Paje. The main attraction though is the staff. Some of the most fun people ever. most nights there is some kind of event going on and just hanging out in the bar is as fun as anything. there have to be some thing done about the beds though, they are horrible. I'm not a tall guy but I could not fit in mine. Also they are kind of hammocks so unless you are OK with sleeping like a banana it kind of doesn't matter how short you are. Sorry it now sounds like I wasn't pleased with my stay and that is wrong. I enjoyed tremendously my stay in New Teddy's Place and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viktor E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddys P, Manager at New Teddy's Place, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thanks a lot for your fair and nice review. We appreciate every kind of review and are happy that you enjoyed your stay in New Teddys Place. Hope to have you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This place is very friendly, staff is amazing, they are mostly locals so u can feel the Zanzibar best atmosphere. It is not a hotel so if u expect perfect condition u will not find those there, but the atmosphere rewards all. Best double Rum&Cola, good prices of food an beverage. Only disadvantage is that it hasn't got direct access to the beach - u need to go over the wall - 100m.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmichu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddys P, Manager at New Teddy's Place, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thanks for that great review and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay here. We hope that you where able to enjoy the nice beachview from our amsterdam and hope you are coming back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Really good beach and nicely designed place. Rooms good value but food and drink a bit expensive. Simba the Barman is a very cool guy. There could be some more sunbeds on the beach. But otherwise great!! Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thomas1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddys P, Manager at New Teddy's Place, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
thanks so much for your amazing review! it's a great pleasure for all of us to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed here with some friends for 3 week in December 2012 and it was the best time ever! The people are so fun and it is a chill young atmosphere all the staff and friends are very friendly and hanging out there at nights are always fun. The food was great and good prices. The sand floors were really cool and no shoes are required, we did not wear them for 3 weeks!! Great location with beaches not overcrowded, the water is blue and clear as can be :) We stayed in the dorms and felt comfortable having all my belongings and camera in there and beds were comfortable as well. Would totally recommend this place if you are looking for a fun, young cheap place to stay with great staff and location!! :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

After hearing about this hostel and having taken a look at the website, we had high expectations about this place. Unfortunately, there was a big mismatch between what we expected and what New Teddy's Place offered us. Although we like and appreciate the philosophy behind the hostel (affordable food and stay, a free and 'hippie' atmosphere, everyone is welcome) and staying there is indeed very affordable, we feel like the philosophy has been pushed through too far and has gone wild. Staff is welcoming you and behaving as in the episodes of MTV Cribs (with the same overdone language and attitude). Everything is an exaggeration which made us feel very uneasy and it felt awkward being there and wanting some privacy that we did not get. We did not have the chance to really relax, because staff was constantly approaching us in a pushy popular way. I would say that for people who like to be with others (who are not genuine, trying to be who they are not and have a fake and exaggerated attitude) constantly, and like to be 'sandy' all the time (going to bed with sandy feet, because there is a sand floor everywhere), this is the place to be. For others, take a look at the other beautiful accomodations that are nearby.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank T_Koomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddys P, Manager at New Teddy's Place, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for using tripadvisor to review your stay here. We have been working with this page for many years and are glad about any constructive criticism. We are now able to work on it to make your future stay more comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paje
0.5 mi away
Kisiwa On The Beach Resort
5.3 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#4 of 13 in Jambiani
229 reviews
0.9 mi away
Demani Lodge
Demani Lodge
#2 of 23 in Paje
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar
0.6 mi away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa (Relais & Chateaux)
0.7 mi away
Jambo Beach Bungalows
Jambo Beach Bungalows
#12 of 23 in Paje
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Teddy's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Teddy's Place

Property: New Teddy's Place
Address: P.O. Box 3564, Paje, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Paje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Paje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — New Teddy's Place 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect accommodation for all who want to travel on a backpacker's budget and experience real Zanzibar vibes. Stunning Zanzibari food, cooked by one of the best chefs on the island, cozy bar with chilled music and plenty of space for relaxing, traditional makuti bandas and of course the breathtaking beach of Paje.Our aim is to make it possible for everyone to enjoy this beautiful island. Especially for backpackers it is really hard to find cheap accommodation on Zanzibar. So we have adjusted all our prices for a backpacker budget.All prices include our delicious Teddy’s breakfast. Choose from yummy pancakes or delicious eggs and famous chapati, both served with fresh fruit, juice and tea/coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your New Teddy's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teddy`s Place Hotel Paje
New Teddy's Place Zanzibar Island/Paje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing