We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Zanzibar gem is relaxing and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kilima Kidogo Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 20 Paje B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2009

My friend and I read the reviews of Kilima Kidogo here on TripAdvisor and decided to give the place a try. We were impressed with the genuineness of peoples' comments in what is a very competitive accommodation market on Zanzibar.

Kilima Kidogo lived up to its reputation and more. It is the perfect spot for a relaxing beach holiday in a gorgeous setting. The rooms are beautiful and spotless. The "Zanzibar beds" are enormous and so comfy. The food is marvelous and lovingly prepared. The breakfasts are generous and delicious. The setting is sublime. Paje Beach gets ho-hum reviews from Lonely Planet because the tide goes out once/day and you can't swim when its out. But what they don't say is that there are all sorts of tide pools to explore. Paje Beach also has a reputation of being crowded, which couldn't be further from the truth--at least the part where Kilima Kidogo is located. The beach itself is wonderful for both walking and swimming (when the tide is in), not to mention sunbathing and relaxing. The hotel itself has an on-site spa (which we didn't use, but it looked wonderful).

When you get tired of the beach, Kilima also offers all the Zanzibar tours for reasonable rates. We spent a great day on a spice tour in the morning and then touring Stone Town in the afternoon. Many of the other guests took part in diving, swimming with the dolphins or other activities. Everyone spoke very highly of the tours and the guides.

Another very welcoming thing about Kilima Kidogo is that you pay for the room at the beginning and pay for the food/drink at the end, in addition to dropping well-earned tips into the staff tip box. In between, the place is money-free, which makes it even more relaxing. You don't have to worry about having money/tips handy for every little thing. You don't need to bring your money or purse to the beach or the bar. You can sit back, relax and enjoy the beautiful setting and the warmth of hosts Dina and Mark.

I'll end with one example of Kilima Kidogo's ethos of hospitality. My friend and I had to catch the 7 a.m ferry to Dar es Salaam in order to make the bus to the next stage of our trip. Dina arranged transportation, then was up with us at 5:45 with a lovely breakfast and sent us on our way with a hug. It was hospitality above and beyond the call of duty. Anyone who stays at Kilima Kidogo is in for a treat!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Worldbutterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 230 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2009

Our holidays in kilima kidogo have been the best we ever had and even we ever dreamed!
Every body is wonderful and helpful, Marc, owner'son, and Salum, the barman, are always there to help you with your trip, to organize an excursion, to give you an information or just to have fun and talk a bit! The cookers are amazing and their food is just so tasteful!!
There is also a women coming for the massages and her hands are like silk....

The room were large, clean, very well decorated, with a large and very confortable bed. One of the qualitites of this place is their "living room" with pool, internet, tv, books and sofas that makes you feel like at home and let you the possibility to just hang around when you are too tired of the your day.

The beach is really sumptuous with green clear water and a lot of space!!!! which the real luxe! There is also the possibility to make snorkeling on front of the hotel, and we have seen amazing fishes with incredible colours! People of the Paje village is very nice and the local restaurants hospitable, tasty and cheap!

Well to resume we only want to go back as soon as possible and just recommend to everybody to go there because they represent what most people has in mind of perfect holidays!!!

Patricia and Alex

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P_Vagabonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2009

Location couldn't be better - right on a beautiful stretch of beach. Value for money was excellent. Owner & staff very friendly and helpful

Some great day-trips, or just sit and relax

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilRickards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2009

It’s been about two months since our week holiday in Zanzibar but what an unforgettable stay we had at Kilima Kidogo.

We were warmly greeted by Mark, Dina, Joey and the staff of Kilima Kidogo. Our room was fantastic. Very spacious and clean and a lovely sea view. I think our poor aircon worked overtime.

There is a very homely atmosphere at Kilima Kidogo. One walks through the front door and all your worries and stresses are left behind.

There is nothing the staff is not prepared to assist with. All our tours were organized for us with fantastic efficiency. There was no question they found to menial to answer.

Though Zanzibar and Kilima Kidogo is now but a distant memory, what a great memory it will always be.

Regards,

Mark and Catherine Waudby

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjwmjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2009

We had the most incredible stay the past week at our home away from home...thanks to Dina for her great hospitality and the wonderful friendly staff, we will be back next year...but this time for a little longer. Will miss the view and everything about Kilima Kidogo....it is the most amazing place and great seafood. Will be posting pictures soon. Take care Dina we will miss you, till next year. Etrece and Donovan

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Etrece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2009

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maryannejane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2009

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank unicoletti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KilimaKidogo, Host at Kilima Kidogo Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2009

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paje
0.3 mi away
Kisiwa On The Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#7 of 13 in Jambiani
277 reviews
4.3 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#6 of 13 in Jambiani
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cristal Resort
Cristal Resort
#3 of 8 in Paje
54 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa (Relais & Chateaux)
0 mi away
Hakuna Majiwe Beach Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilima Kidogo Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilima Kidogo Guesthouse

Address: Jambiani Road, Paje 0000, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Paje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Paje
Price Range: $62 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilima Kidogo Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilima Kidogo Guesthouse is situated on the east coast of Zanzibar between the villages Paje and Jambiani. This mini boutique has great spirit, value and is situated right on the white beaches and great views of the crystal blue seas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Kilima Kidogo Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilima Kidogo Guesthouse Hotel Paje
Kilima Kidogo Guesthouse Zanzibar Island/Paje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing