We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“WOW!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kilima Kidogo Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kilima Kidogo Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 16 Paje B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

The place to be in Zanzi. If you like great service, decent room quality, living on a beach and superb coctails from freshly squuzed fruits then Kilima is a place for you.

GOOD
Service is super friendly. Owner, Dina, welcomed us saying "feel like at home" ans this was true. She was very helpfuj and genuinly caring for us.
Location - you live on a beach
Restaurant - great, tasty, simple food.
Coctails - they are really great. Fresh juices, local ingredients and huge menu :)

TO IMPROVE
Frankly,... nothing significant to add :) !

Mac

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MacTka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    51
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
40
104
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Kilima Kidogo Guesthouse was graet. Rooms are modest but it is enough for a beach guesthouse. The owner is worm and welcoming, but the best is:
1. restaurant / bar on the beach - it is so nice to feel a cold sand under your feet while eating
2. chef - food is excellent (lobster) and he really cares if you like it!
3. cocktails - masterpiece
over all: yes! yes! yes!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monika T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juba, South Sudan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

I truly enjoyed my stay at Kilima Kidogo. Dina was extremely welcoming and made the stay very comfortable. The food was very good and the place made you feel at home. Dina was able to arrange trips and tours. The beach was beautiful, but the pool was also nice for when the tide was out.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Bradley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

This was my second stay at Kilima and it was once again awesome. Dina is so warm and welcoming and sets the tone for all the staff . Mohammad and his team cook amazingly, we had a kilo and a half lobster Thermidor fresh from the ocean that will have us heading back for more! The beach on your door step, a beautiful swimming pool, dining with your feet in the sand, cool air con for the night, great staff makes this a place to relax and unwind. We did a day trip with Haji that included snorkeling off a sandbank in the ocean, a luxurious lunch at a deserted beach ( lobster, octopus, fish, calamari,prawns, chips,salad, rice, fruit.....) more deep sea snorkeling- in my memory bank til next time. The welcoming atmosphere has people from surrounding establishments spending their days and meals at Kilima which jusT shows its the best around! Ooh, and I forgot to mention Christina and her massages, certainly helped with my stiff Kili muscles! The bar men top it off by being extra accommodating in terms of musical choice and attentive service! This is one of those places you can't visit once...

Room Tip: The luxury rooms in the house are tops, but the others are great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We spent 8 nights in last half of February 2013 and was very pleased. Everything was as promised in all the other reviews on trip advisor. Dina and the staff is absolutely fantastic. The food is marvelous. Its very fresh, tasty and gives a clean impression, we actually ate all meals at Kilima Kidogo for our entire stay, since it was so good.
The beach, although the tide makes swimming not ideal on all times of the day. There´s hardly any people there at all, something we found very nice.
Also theres a small television set in the lobby with all sports networks for the avid soccer enthusiast like myself.
The security on the guesthouse at night is tight with a gate and guards. There seemed to be a problem further up the beach with robberies at night, but never had been at this place because of the security.

All in all a place we would return to and not hesitate to recommend to anyone.

And additional bonus is for the experienced birdwatcher; the point south of the beach is a spot for large numbers of shorebirds and at any time I saw between 500-1000 birds of around 15 species, mostly Siberian migrants. These birds come to the beach in front of the guesthouse when the tide is low and you can actually enjoy them from your sun bed.

Room Tip: We tried two different rooms and both were very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ludvigsen_JSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed here for three days over Christmas 2012 and loved it. We had a great air conditioned room. Very clean and well appointed. Dina, the owner, makes everyone feel welcome. Introducing everyone and making you feel at home. There is a great pool and outdoor bar/restaurant. It is a nice quite place directly on the beach. There are lots of other hotels and a dive center just a short walk down the beach. You can rent equipment to go out in the water just next door.

We arranged our tours through the hotel. The Mr. Spice tour is not to be missed! Great learning experience and an amazing lunch to go with. We also did a snorkeling tour that was outstanding. Bring your own equipment if you have it. The hotel's equipment is a bit tired.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank KilburnPost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed at Kilima Kidogo for 9 nights in February 2013. The location is great, right on the beach with white sand and turqoise water.
You can just relax by the pool and enjoy the great meals the cook prepare for you, or if you want to be more active you can walk a bit further on the beach for some kite surfing.

The owner Dina is attentive to all your wishes and makes her best to make you feel at home. The staff is also great and makes all for your conformt and happiness.

We are definitely recommending Kilima Kidogo and are going back again next year!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paje
0.3 mi away
Kisiwa On The Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Dhow Inn
Dhow Inn
#4 of 8 in Paje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
1.0 mi away
Paje by Night Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#2 of 12 in Jambiani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa
1.6 mi away
Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilima Kidogo Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilima Kidogo Guesthouse

Property: Kilima Kidogo Guesthouse
Address: Jambiani Road, Paje 0000, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Paje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Paje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilima Kidogo Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilima Kidogo Guesthouse is situated on the east coast of Zanzibar between the villages Paje and Jambiani. This mini boutique has great spirit, value and is situated right on the white beaches and great views of the crystal blue seas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Jovago.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Kilima Kidogo Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilima Kidogo Guesthouse Hotel Paje
Kilima Kidogo Guesthouse Zanzibar Island/Paje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing