We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“top notch place just outside of Paje with the best chef in town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kilima Kidogo Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kilima Kidogo Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 16 Paje B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“top notch place just outside of Paje with the best chef in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

This was such a wonderful way to end our Tanzanian vacation. We started with a safari, climbed kilimajaro and then went to Zanzibar for a few days each in Stone Town, Nungwi and finished off at Kilima Kidogo. We stayed in room 3 which faces the ocean. it's a very big room with an ensuite bathroom and AC. there's a pool, spa and restaurant and Dina books tours as well even though we just wanted to sit and do nothing for our last few days. The food is absolutely incredible. The chef will make whatever you like and people come from other hotels to try his wonderful creations but he gives priority to those staying at Kilima. We ventured into town once to try another top restaurant (the thai/sushi fusion one) and Kilima blows it out of the water. I also love that the restaurant is right in the sand so you can kick off your sandals and have your feet in the softest sand ever :) Dina is the most welcoming hostess. Every morning she chats with everyone and introduces all the guests to each other. It's about a 20-30 min walk along the beach to Paje. We were so happy to end a great trip here! Thanks Dina xoxo Robyn and Shane from Canada

Room Tip: Room 3 is deluxe with a king size bed and ensuite bathroom + A/C and faces the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    51
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
40
104
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Smithfield, North Carolina
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is a lovely bed and breakfast about 50 minutes from Stone Town. We stayed in room 3 facing the Indian Ocean. We had a/c but power went off about 4 times a day due to poor cable, which will change in March when the new cable comes to the area. The owner, Dina, was a most gracious hostess and provided us with anything we needed. Ali helped my husband a great deal with ice and cold water when he was overcome from heat exhaustion from our safari in Tanzania.
We met great people there who made the trip very special. The food was excellent and the location is on the beach and beautiful. I had a wonderful, very inexpensive massage there too.
I would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone wanting to relax.

Also went on a swim with dolphins and a spice tour that Dina set up. She has all types of tours and they are flexible so you can go whenever you want. There are not that many rooms so you get to know everyone there and it makes for a fun adventure.

Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Room 3 and room 4 face the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rags12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Overall a peaceful, homey and aesthetically pleasing place!

Loved every minute! We stayed in the upstairs backpacker's room. It was lovely, with a beautiful Zanzibari door and comfy bed-- no AC, but two fans, which for the time of year were enough. The main house also had a beachy/Zanzibar/Cozy vibe with a pool table, games and more.

The new swimming pool was our favorite hang-out spot! This is a place on the island where the tide goes out for most of the day, so having a nice, relaxing place to cool down is essential.

Beers were 4,000/= which is a nice plus as some hotels seriously overcharge for local beer. That made us happy to stay in once place all day ;)

The manager, Dina, really makes the place a community by initiating fun activities to get guests to know each other, that makes the stay more comfortable, with only a few rooms it's nice to know the people you're gonna see everyday and be able to have a chat.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Littlebreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in Kilima Kidogo at the end of a Tanzanian safari. I cant recommend it enough - the setting is spectacular, with the main room opening out onto the beach. All the staff are polite and friendly, particularly Dina who goes out of her way to make sure you are welcome and are enjoying your stay.
The food was great, and nothing beats been able to sit on the sea front eating freshly cooked seafood and sipping an ice-cold Kilimanjaro!

We spent most of our time relaxing, but did go on the boat trip. This is expensive for what you get, but on the plus side it was just us - some of the other boats were packed with tourists. The food on the trip was again excellent, although we didn't come close to finishing it all!
The main room has loads of games, a pool table, darts, a TV/PC and books to keep everyone entertained, and Dina sorted us out some snorkels and flippers to go swimming with.

All in all, we had a fantastic time and it was the perfect way to end the trip of a lifetime!

Room Tip: Room 3 looked out on to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Will_W82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

We had a great stay of 3 nights in Kilima Kidogo. The hospitality and heartwarming charm of the hosts Joey and Dina really makes all the difference. It felt like home. Always a friendly smile, good advise and a nice chat.
The room was nice with a very clean bathroom. The food was the best of our entire trip!
The chef cook really prepared the most delicious and very tasty meals.

We booked all our excursions with the tour operator they are working with and everything was perfect: a spice tour, a visit to Jozani NP to see the monkeys and mangrove and the best of all: swimming with the dophins. No crowded boats, just us and Dina with her daughter.
It was an amazing experience: 3 dophins kept coming back to our boat to let us swim with them.

Kilima Kidogo Guesthouse is not only a superb accommodation with great people and great food, it is also ideally situated for many excursions on the island. A real must if you go to Zanzibar!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tzims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Thank you so much for your hospitality. We were made to feel at home, met lovely local employees, saw lots of dolphins and ate great seafood. We got engaged on the island and Dina went over and above to take photos for us. The beach is not 'commercial' like the north of the island but we loved it (and Dina can organise any tour for you). Very relaxing stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Thank you Dina for a wonderfull stay and the effort you made to make us feel at home.
The Blue Safari was the best. The food at KK is of the best on the island..Dina goes the extra mile and nothing is an effort.Staff is very friendly and helpfull. Thanks for a great holiday.

Room Tip: The family cottage is very comfortable and the sea view rooms are stunning. Decor in the rooms very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paje
0.3 mi away
Kisiwa On The Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Dhow Inn
Dhow Inn
#4 of 8 in Paje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
1.0 mi away
Paje by Night Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#2 of 12 in Jambiani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa
1.6 mi away
Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilima Kidogo Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilima Kidogo Guesthouse

Property: Kilima Kidogo Guesthouse
Address: Jambiani Road, Paje 0000, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Paje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Paje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilima Kidogo Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilima Kidogo Guesthouse is situated on the east coast of Zanzibar between the villages Paje and Jambiani. This mini boutique has great spirit, value and is situated right on the white beaches and great views of the crystal blue seas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Jovago.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Kilima Kidogo Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilima Kidogo Guesthouse Hotel Paje
Kilima Kidogo Guesthouse Zanzibar Island/Paje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing