We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kilima Kidogo Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dhow Inn(Paje)
$148
$141
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$134
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$144
$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$430
$364
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (233)
Filter reviews
233 results
Traveler rating
139
60
22
6
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
139
60
22
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspice tourhome from homefull body massagebeautiful oceanother placesboard gamesher daughterrestaurant barswimming poollow tidethe beach is very nicecalamarivisiting zanzibarwalk along the beachlocal staffseafoodperfect holiday
Filter
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 233 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Thank you Dina for a wonderfull stay and the effort you made to make us feel at home.
The Blue Safari was the best. The food at KK is of the best on the island..Dina goes the extra mile and nothing is an effort.Staff is very friendly and helpfull. Thanks for a great holiday.

Room Tip: The family cottage is very comfortable and the sea view rooms are stunning. Decor in the rooms very nice.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

It was my second time there and it was amazing again, was like coming home and when i left i made some new friends that i already visited after meeting them there..
What can i say, lovely Beach, lovely stuff, lovely Dina and Joey, lovely people and i can recommend this Rsort from the heart...
The first time was more action, more tours, this time was relaxing and just soaking up the whole place....

Thank you for everything, see you next year!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank benrock20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We are staying here after a grueling 18 days safari roughing it in tents.
The location is magnificent,with the Indian ocean waves putting us to sleep each night.
Rooms are lovely with shutters to let the breeze in or aircon when it gets too hot during the day.
Owner Dina is more than helpful and runs a good business employing many locals who cook,clean,serve and provide tours.
There are cheaper tour options from the itinerant beach boys but quality and safety are also considerations.
The beach at Paje is fine white sand but is littered with plastic and other refuse.unfortunately when the tide is out you may need to walk 1500m before being able to swim in the hot water.
Sitting in the open air restaurant on the sand ,nursing a kili and feeling the cool breezes waft in is close to paradise

Room Tip: Ask for room 3
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I do not have good words to express my experience. This was our second stay here (first one in February 2012). Hotel and staff are excellent. This it the right place for you, if you do not want to spend your holiday in posh hotel resort with thick walls allaround and with no chance to enjoy real people, real Zanzibar and real nature. You can get great portion of sunbathing, snorkeling, enjoying sea breeze, deserted beach, beach bar fresh drinks, rooms with AC, well-equipped guesthouse "lounge" and large offer of trips for all generations. We are already craving to come again...

Room Tip: there is no wrong or better room - if you will see and try the beach and sea, you will stay in your room only to sleep and...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This guesthouse is located directly on the beach, on a quiet spot, around 35 minutes walking from the village Paje where you will find a cluster of small hotels. From the airport to Paje take around 50 minutes by taxi.

The guesthouse offers a couple of very nice and comfortable rooms and it pays attention to small details. Flowers on the bed, nice bed lights, enough space for your luggage and a clean bathroom with big towels and (sometimes) hot water. The ambiance in the main building is great, a couple of wooden chairs around a table, small library and pool table. If you need any information or help, the manager will be there or at least somebody who’s on duty. The staff gives you a welcome feeling and your welcome cocktail is served at the bar on the beach. There you will immediately love the view, blue sea and the white fine, sandy beach.
The food is perfect: breakfast starts at 8am, with eggs, a kind of pancakes, butter, marmalade, fresh fruit, coffee and a delicious fresh fruit juice. Lunch, dinner and breakfast is served just outside the main building. There is also a small bar. Besides the tasty food, the nice beach and the cosy, relaxing area, I can recommend to sign in for the full body massage: $ 30,- for 45 minutes (which is a pleasure after having enjoyed the safari tours in the Serengeti) . A big compliment to the young lady Sisy, who does a great job!

The only negative point is the price of a bottle of water. You cannot drink tap water, so you have to buy bottled water. Along the road to the guesthouse, you will find a small local shop where you pay Tzs 1000,- for 1,5 litre water. At the other accommodations along the beach they will charge you Tzs 2000,- for a bottle of 1,5 litre. At Kilima Kidogo they charge you Tzs 4000,- for the same bottle, which is really too much. We did tell the manager about the point, and she said she’s going to find out if the price might be changed, or that guests are offered a free bottle of water in their rooms. I definitely think guests will appreciate these measures. It’s a pity that such a wonderful, clean and relaxing place, can’t offer bottled water for free, or at least for a more reasonable price for their guests.

If you are in to visit Stone Town, you can get a taxi from Kilima Kidogo right away, but it’s fun and very cheap to go there with the local transport, the Dala Dala. Keep in mind that the bus stop is almost half an hour walking. For Tzs 2000,- (one way), you take the bus to Stone Town while the taxi driver will charge you around $ 50,- to go there (45 minutes more or less). It’s up to you! Don't forget that there is no timetable for the bus. From Stone Town back to Paje with the Dala Dala can take some time... but if you are not in a hurry, just enjoy your trip!

It takes around 40 minutes walking tot Jambiani beach from Kilima Kidogo. Jambiani beach is a bit more crowded, more accommodations, and gives a nice impression of how a village looks like. Nice to enjoy the view, your beer and watching the women collecting seaweed.

Finally I would like to thank Charlaine for her kindness and hospitality towards us. She was in charge of the guesthouse when we were there and we liked the professional way she paid attention to her guests and took notice of our comments. Good luck!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Urs40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews