We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of Dhow Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dhow Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Paje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2012

After 3 weeks in Ethiopia, Dhow Inn was a perfect end to a great holiday - so much so I stayed longer than intended. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble and there was always a smile and engaging conversation. The food was delicious with a good fusion between local and international. A hop skip and a jump to the water (assuming it isn't low tide of course), sunbeds provided, all areas of the hotel were extremely clean and well maintained, bedrooms were de-mosquitoed every night, hot water on demand, free wifi, a lovely pool for a change of scene and good cocktails - what more could you want. I stayed in the budget room and it was perfect. I will be back here - in fact wish I was there right now.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kat74M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 196 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2011

After a week in tents on safari, followed by a hot and humid nights in Stone Town, Dhow Inn on Paje Beach was a perfect place to end the vacation. A stone throw from the beach, the fresh sea breeze hits the open patio with it's spacious lounge. The friendly staff, lead by Christian, is the essence of this hotel. Their attention to detail and willingness to please create a great vibe, which the guests can't help but be cheered up by. The rooms are clean, sprayed for mosquitos every night and although not the biggest, more an serve their purpose. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sngmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

If you're looking for a comfortable place to spend a couple of wonderfully lazy days in Zanzibar, the Paje Dhow Inn is your place. The hotel itself has great vibes and is situated right on the beach - and is in strategic proximity of a fun beach bar, if I may add - and is truly dedicated to making your stay as stress free as possible... you're in the land of Hakuna Matata, after all.
The staff are cheerful and lovely, we knew half of the staff by their names after 2 days of staying there. The manager, Christian personally ensures that you're happy and well taken care of, he supervises each detail and is great help in advising on excursions, things to do, anything!

All in all, strongly recommend this charming place and many thanks to the Dhow Inn team for making our stay there so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bmerei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Everything starting from the location right in front of the beach to the cleaness, to the service level and friendlyness of people, tot he food and drinks was absolutely perfect.
Christian and his wonderful team are doing really the best to make you feel comfortable with western standards, but nonetheless into the local culture and atmosphere.
No way to go somewhere else if you are looking with a real experience of Zanzibar wonderful seaside, especially because you could be trapped in awfull plastic big resorts.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Filippo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Beautiful Hotel, with attention to detail. The mangement and staff are very friendly and welcoming and done their very best to make sure we enjoyed our stay. The whole experience was relaxing, quiet and very comfortable. Good food, good cocktails at a good price. Would recommend this hotel to those who want a comfortable place to relax, with friendly staff and great location.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EMCG212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

I stayed here for seven nights with three friends and we had a fantastic time. We were in the Tasi room (two bunkbeds) and were very happy. It was quiet and comfortable. Christian and Tina do a fantastic job of creating a relaxed and luxurious environment at the Inn - every detail is looked after. The included breakfast is fantastic - eggs, pancakes, toast, and more. For dinner staying at the inn is great and there is also a wonderful bar. The beach is just a few steps away and the dedicated area for Dhow Inn guests is very comfortable and has lots of chairs and umbrellas.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poppy510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed for 9 nights and wish it could have been 90. With only 5 rooms, you get to meet the other guests at meal times and the whole experience is friendly and relaxed. Food was very good and the staff were wonderful. The receptionist Tina was so helpful in organising excursions for us and gave us good local advice too. Christian the manager is a very approachable guy who made a point of spending time with each guest and also giving good information about Zanzibar, but it was his attention to detail that really impressed us. Every morning we looked forward to opening a ribbon wrapped greeting sheet on our breakfast table which told us about temps, wind(my husband is a kitesurfer), water temp, daily specials and ideas for excursions. The rooms were cleaned beautifully every day and in the evening our room was sprayed for mosquitoes and the bed turned back and mosquito net draped over the bed. The rooms are small but the bed is huge and really comfortable and there are so many seating areas in the hotel and around the pool that why would one want to be in the room except to sleep? We did not see anywhere on Paje that we would rather stay or eat.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UmJoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paje
1.2 mi away
Kisiwa On The Beach Resort
24.2 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,704 reviews
40.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#7 of 13 in Jambiani
570 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cristal Resort
Cristal Resort
#3 of 8 in Paje
48 reviews
1.3 mi away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa (Relais & Chateaux)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dhow Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dhow Inn

Address: Paje Beach, Paje, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Paje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Paje
Price Range: $100 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dhow Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at a 1-minute-walk from the Zanzibar's hotspot beach of Paje,Dhow Inn (4*)provides the perfect scenario for a chilled stay in one of our 28 new, comfortable and full equipped rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dhow Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paje Dhow Hotel Paje
Dhow Inn Zanzibar Island/Paje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing