We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Robinson Crusoe palm-roofed bungalows on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Evergreen Bungalows
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Bwejuu
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Robinson Crusoe palm-roofed bungalows on the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We did a lot of research before settling on this place. We came to Bwejuu back in 1991 when there was only the Dere Beach Guest House (now sadly a ruin) and the Twisted Palms, and we really wanted the return visit to be special. We were not disappointed! The bungalows are so tastefully designed: a real Robinson Crusoe palm-roofed hut on the beach. The restaurant and attached seating area were also very tastefully done. Waking at dawn for the sunrise over the Indian ocean is so beautiful, as is lying in the hammock to watch it rise. Great if all you want is a quiet beach in paradise. For those wanting to hear a throbbing bass amplified over the beach, better try somewhere else. Slightly more expensive an most bungalows but this is A VERY romantic spot to take a VERY romantic lady!

Room Tip: Ground floor bungalows are more expensive but cooler, have more headroom and fixed showers rather th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Indie-Brindie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    25
    6
    8
    1
See reviews for
16
47
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Evergreen really is in a great location, I don't think I have ever stayed somewhere so close to the sea and going to sleep and waking up to the sound of the sea was a real pleasure. The beach has nice white sand, but the tide is very strong and goes miles out before coming right up to your doorstep. Unfortunately, it does wash up a lot of stuff from the sea everyday which spoils the beach slightly, but the staff do make an effort to clear it in the mornings. When we were there it was also extremely windy (we found the whole east coast very windy) so we couldn't enjoy the beach much but I guess this is probably a seasonal thing. There are sunbeds and chairs but all make of wood and rope so not very comfortable to sit on.
This is a very chilled out, relaxing place to stay and if you want to do nothing for a few days then I would recommend it. There really isn't much to do though so make sure you take a good book! I guess you get what you pay for, but we thought the beach bungalows were pretty basic. The bungalow we stayed in had an ensuite bathroom but it was at the side of the room and just partitioned off with a wall that didn't go to the ceiling - so you get to know the person you are sharing with very well!! Not for couples that have just got together :)
We also thought the food wasn't great - it's OK but breakfast is fairly uninspiring and dinner average. Apparently this resort was foreign owned but is now being run by local people and I get the impression that standards have slipped slightly as previous reviews say the food here was amazing. Twisted Palm just up the beach have slightly better food, but the best we found was in the kite surfing resort up the hill which is run by dutch people.
Overall, a great place to chill out, great staff, free Wifi - but basic accommodation and food.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jzee033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here for 10 days and almost changed the rest of our long-term trip so that we could stay here longer! Falling asleep and waking up to the sound of waves crashing was a huge plus; the chef made AWESOME and very affordable food and, above all, the staff was so amazing and friendly. Our room was cleaned every day and the mosquito net was actually big enough so that we wouldn't get bites through the netting. We also got massages in our room for very cheap [we went during low season, not sure about high season prices].
Overall, a great experience- you're lucky if you get to stay here! Can't wait to go back, this is the only place I'd want to stay.

Room Tip: The bungalows in the back are bigger and better than the double ones closer to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acoacoaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

It has a really relaxed atmosphere and nice bungalows with expetionally white soft sand beach. The staff is friendly and the restaurant is pretty good.

A bit overpriced though. But what isn't at Zanzibar?

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank pwillen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

I also stayed at Evergreen very recently. It is completely idyllic, beautiful and peaceful. Please don’t let the bad review below put you off, I’m guessing that was a one off bad experience and totally wrong expectations. This place is not 5*, it is simple yet comfortable and very clean beach huts, on a beautiful Indian Ocean setting.

The food here is also extremely good. I would say that the longer you wait for the food the better and more flavoursome it is. I recommend the chili calamari and coconut octopus.
The staff here are awesome, friendly, helpful and not at all pushy. But they can help you out will all Islands trips, bike hire and also have their Diving centre onsite.
But don’t take my word for it, check it out yourselves!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

My fiancé and I just returned from 11 nights at Evergreen Bungalows (we had initially planned on staying for 3-4 nights) and I cannot recommend it more highly. We were initially concerned having read the previous, non-balanced and thoroughly unhelpful review but those concerns turned out to be unfounded. This is not luxury accommodation but if you're looking for a relaxing stay on a beautiful, quiet beach in quirky fun beach huts then look no further.

And then there are the people (I was going to write 'service' but these guys are so warm and helpful that they seemed like friends by the end): warm, welcoming, helpful, fantastic. There is quite a lot of seaweed during some parts of the year but the Evergreen guys rake it away every morning so you’re left with flawless white sand. A small difference which is indicative of the level of effort these guys put in. They also make the beds up every day and lay flowers next to the fresh towels.

I miss Zanzibar and Evergreen a great deal. Thanks guys

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebden Bridge
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

We couldn't believe the location when we arrived - perfect white sands, turquoise sea, hammocks - all yards from our bungalow door. Quirky fun accomodation - very comfortable. Booked only one bungalow (room) - but they gave us a second room (upstairs) for the children when we asked (no extra charge - but quiet season). Very helpful staff. Comfy bar area - open to beach. Good value.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwejuu
8.5 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#4 of 13 in Jambiani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
4.9 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#8 of 13 in Jambiani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
8.1 mi away
Chwaka Bay Resort
Chwaka Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Chwaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#5 of 13 in Jambiani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Palms
The Palms
#1 of 10 in Bwejuu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
1.9 mi away
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Bungalows

Property: Evergreen Bungalows
Address: Evergreen | Zanzibar, Bwejuu 483, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bwejuu
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bwejuu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bwejuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel has 14 rooms in 9 bungalows. 5 Double storey bungalows direct on the beach offer 9 self contained rooms, each with a different touch. Furthermore there are 3 garden bungalows. All the rooms have been decorated using local materials to give them a unique Zanzibari feel and come complete with mosquito nets and fresh running water. Coconut wood fixtures and fittings give an exotic feel to the suites. Each bungalow has its own balcony with chairs and a table and all rooms have their own en-suite bathroom hot water.We accept credit cards and we have free Wi-Fi for in house guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Evergreen Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Bungalows Zanzibar Island/Bwejuu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing