We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A blissful getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Echo Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Echo Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Bwejuu
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A blissful getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

A friend recommended Echo Beach to us and we had an amazing stay.
The bungalows are gorgeous, fully equipped (though lacking a fridge) with plenty of hot water. The service was top notch, from leaving the room in the morning to get breakfast (when we returned our room was cleaned, bed made) to 5 star food. Ask for the seared Tuna, it just melts in your mouth.
Andrew and Sue were very welcoming and always around to help or chat.
The location is stunning and we even have akframed canvass of the beach on our wall back home.
I would 100% recommend this place to all.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hobdens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    40
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
42
141
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Deutschland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Echo Beach is the ideal choice for the peace-seeking traveller. Complete relaxation at one of Zanzibar's most beautiful beaches with baby powder sand and shade provided by picturesque palm trees. Tides are prevalent, however, comfortable swimming guaranteed by meticulously cleaned swimming pool. Morning and afternoon one can swim at high tide, of course.

The owners, Sue and Andrew Page, are the most sympathetic and hospitable people. As the hotel is small, a very personal customer care aiming at perfect satisfaction is guaranteed.
Sue and Andrew, who obviously don't see their enterprise as a money-making business, but a development project aiming at most satisfying experience for everyone involved, employ more Zanzibaris that they have guests, and every staff member tries his best to completely satisfy the guest, always friendly and welcoming. Airport pickup and drop-off worked perfectly.

The food is constantly at high level, the fresh catch of the day and lovely desserts simply to die for. Bar is fully equipped, prices very fair, good wine selection, cocktails very good, too.
Rooms are spacious, all sea-view with large verandas and wet rooms with huge walk-in showers; no a/c or power problems occurred during my stay.

Echo Beach is not for the posh traveller seeking chic and entertainment (nor for people who hate dogs) but for a total escape from the daily hazzle. Come and unwind. I will surely be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kateholli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
267 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

We were a family of 4 who stayed for 4 nights.

the food was fantastic, particularly dinner, where I could have happily had every choice on the menu.

Good choice of drinks and the prices were very good.

Staff were very friendly, though communication can be a bit iffy. They really do try their best to help you.

It is a nice place to relax after a safari, but I wouldn't necessarily go there for a beach and snorkelling holiday. No reflection on the Hotel but there are better alternatives if this is what you are after.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterBarras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

My husband and I seem to have found our perfect holiday destination and we returned to Echo Beach Hotel for our Christmas break again this year. This place just keeps getting better and better, the gardens look like paradise, the beach is up there with the best in the world, totally unspoilt, the ocean is so warm and clear, the hotel decor is perfection as is the food and the pool is so pretty. We are already planning our return next year because it simply can't be beaten, this time we hired scooters and went to The Rock for lunch, well worth a visit for the view but the food not to the standard of Echo Beach. We also went snorkelling which Echo organised for us quite simply stunning. The staff are wonderful and if you want to unwind in Paradise this is the place for you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frenchfile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
potters ba
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

We were quite nervous about travelling to Zanzibar but can't praise Andrew and his amazing team enough for making us feel like a guest in their house. Amazing beach, totally remote location ( do be warned if this isn't for you) excellent food and the surroundings were blissful. Would have liked little bit of an update in the rooms but it really was total rest and relaxation -loved it!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank smallhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Echo Beach is stunning, a truly idyllic setting. My bungalow was beautiful, with a spacious room, comfortable bed and en-suite shower room, and very close to the pool and beach. The owners Sue & Andrew are lovely, attentive but not obtrusive, as were the staff, nothing was too much trouble. I felt like family instead of a visitor. And last but not least, the food, it was absolutely gorgeous, worthy of a Michelin star.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 3, but I think they were all very good and close to the pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dramakween1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Echo Beach was quite simply stunning, from the moment we arrived we felt right at home.
The room was incredible located right on the beach I did not even wear my flip flops most of the time. The food was fantastic and all of the staff went out of their way from the get go including Ben the new manager who we met on the plane on the way to Tanzania a week beforehand! Highly recommend this hotel to anybody looking to do absolutely nothing, strangely over a month later I am still fairly relaxed so Echo Beach did wonders for me! Thanks to Sue, Andrew and Team in a word Echo Beach is Perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rockinblues1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwejuu
14.5 mi away
Pongwe Beach Hotel
Pongwe Beach Hotel
#1 of 6 in Pongwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
1.0 mi away
Anna of Zanzibar
Anna of Zanzibar
#5 of 10 in Bwejuu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
25.1 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#4 of 167 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Palms
The Palms
#1 of 10 in Bwejuu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.6 mi away
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar
0.8 mi away
Baraza Resort & Spa
Baraza Resort & Spa
#2 of 10 in Bwejuu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Echo Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Echo Beach Hotel

Property: Echo Beach Hotel
Address: Bwejuu | East Coast, Bwejuu 3109, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bwejuu
#4 Spa Hotel in Bwejuu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bwejuu
#5 Family Hotel in Bwejuu
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Slice of ParadiseThe new Echo Beach Hotel resort offers visitors a slice of paradise on the dreamy tropical island of Zanzibar. The very name Zanzibar evokes a sense of mystique and adventure.Sue and Andrew Page, the owners of Echo Beach bought a 5 acre stretch of unspoilt beach to create a unique boutique hotel. There are now 10 individual villas combining unpretentious African architecture with state of the art technology, interior design, fixtures and fittings.Beach Villasin Unspoilt SurroundingsThe individually designed Bandas are constructed from local stone, capped with Makuti roofs .Each dwelling boasts exquisitely hand carved balconies and verandas where guests can enjoy a drink in the shade. The Bandas are completely private and not overlooked, allowing visitors to relish the unspoilt surroundings and uninterrupted views of the beautiful Indian Ocean.Beachside diningDining in the beachside restaurant, decorated with designers guild fabric, in the white and turquoise of the seashore is a highly pleasurable experience, with discreet and efficient service.With a refreshing breeze blowing in from the sea, guests can unwind and relax with a decadent cocktail in the stylish bar area, where designer fabrics are teamed with Zanzibar carved furnishings. Or wander down to the unique bar on the beach, and enjoy refreshments by the sea shore.Local Dishes & International FavouritesFor those who want to get the true taste of Zanzibar there is a wealth of fresh local food on the menu, not to mention some carefully selected International favourites.The ultimate in fresh fare, produce is purchased daily, including lobster, crab, prawns and squid straight from local fisherman who come to the beach.Relax at the Beauty SpaZanzibar is the perfect place for a complete break from the hectic life most people live nowadays. If you want professional, unobtrusive service, peace and privacy to relax, then why not try our professional beauty spa and treat yourself to a complete pampering.Tours and TransfersEcho Beach is happy to arrange transfers to and from the hotel.Whilst on your holiday why not let us arrange for you to explore the magical island taking in the legendary Spice Tour. While spices no longer dominate Zanzibar's economy as they once did, there are still numerous spice plantations in the centre of the island, which make an interesting visit.Friendly and informed guides will escort you on a walking tour of the spice farms, picking bunches of leaves, fruit and twigs from bushes and trees, inviting you to smell or taste them to guess what they are.Swimming with Dolphins is also a magical experience that will not be forgotten and can easily be arranged. The Jozani Forest Tour with the colobus monkeys that are unique to Zanzibar. These are just some of the adventures you can enjoy as well as diving, fishing and snorkelling in one of the most unspoilt areas of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Echo Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Echo Beach Bwejuu
Hotel Echo Beach
Echo Beach Hotel Zanzibar Island/Bwejuu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing