We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy, upmarket boutique beach hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Echo Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Echo Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Bwejuu
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cozy, upmarket boutique beach hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

We explored several hotels on Zanzibar and Echo is a true gem. Upmarket yet cozy family-run feeling, boutique interior design blends lovely with beautiful nature.

Excellent food makes you wanna stay longer, no desire or need to go to any other restaurant during your stay.

Echo has made our Zanzibar stay so memorable as you'd hope, thank you.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JuergenNagler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    40
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
42
140
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bremen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was our second big family journey (we are from Germany) and we felt like a part of a big family in Zanzibar. The two rooms were so beautiful and you can see how the staff loves the detail in everything. I have loved it that there is sand on the path that leads to our rooms and not only on the beach, that was a big plus point for us.
We sometimes spotted the two little dogs in front of our rooms and it was so sweet to see they played so much during our vacation. The whole family loves dogs and it added to the family feeling we had at Echo Beach.
We have booked a half board vacation and wanted to go to other places in Zanzibar on the coast during lunch but then we tasted the food and we threw the planes overboard because it was so amazing. I don't think anywhere in Africa you taste better food (we were in South Africa earlier). The food is like a taste explosion and different everyday with different menus and innovative cusine ideas. This alone should receive a extra star in your traveller choice.
My mother is allergic to certain things and the South Africa chef asked us about our food taste and she afterwards only prepared delicious meals that my mother could eat with her allergy. She also came out after dinner and lunch and asked us about our stay, that normally doesn't happen everywhere else we have travelled. We were so well cared for.
The other staff members did not really speak English well that we could have a chat but there is a German speaking girl who conversed with us and cared for us during our whole vacation. She knew everything about the hotel and trips and how we can travel in Zanzibar. We could chat to her every night but we also wanted to chat to the Zanzibar staff.
Our rooms were so clean every day and the beach was clean too. We were in Australia before and thought this was the best beach but Echo Beach and its white sandy beach is topping it by far. We felt so relaxed that it was so hard to think about home and work.
We want to come back next year again. Thank you for this amazing time, Echo Beach!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neugeb_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Just returned from a fantastic holiday at Echo Beach Hotel, Sue and Andrew ( and the dogs )could not have been more hospitable. Without prior warning they produced a surprise birthday cake and Happy Birthday sung in Swahili by the friendly staff for my wife. All the meals were varied, beautifully presented and tasted even better.
The relaxed atmosphere and lovely setting makes you very reluctant to leave. We're now planning our next trip there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

I spend a lot of time travelling and staying in hotels with work and I can definitely say that this was the perfect antidote. It is an intimate hotel full of charm and character with superb hospitality. It is somewhere where you feel at the end you have been so well looked after by Sue and Andrew, you have to remind yourself this is a hotel and not someone's home (especially with the friendly dogs). The food was fantastic (the chef was kind enough to share some recipes with me) and one night for our anniversary they made a special meal just for the two of us which was served in the boat next to the beach.If you want a piece of paradise where you can really get away from it all this is the place for you.

Room Tip: All rooms have good locations and being honest the only difference appears to be your taste in furni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewjones2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Paradise or what? We stayed for a week early September 2013 and loved the place. Very, very friendly and Sue and Andrew who run the place could not do enough for us. The food was simply to die for being fresh, well cooked and well presented. There was always a great choice and I did not stray from fish all week. Even saw the fish arriving each morning courtesy of local fishermen.

So it's about an hour from Stone Town/airport and is smack on the beach. Really smack on. It was about 15 seconds down from the room to the beach. And the beach is one of those empty, white sand things we all dream of. There are some bigger places a few hundred yards up the beach which frankly looked totally OTT compared with Echo Beach which is so laid back. Take your choice over laid back v holiday camp. I know which I prefer. A nice pool with beds around it, by the beach and some nice shady areas when required. Given the hotel only sleeps about 20 folk, it is never going to get overly busy. It's nice not to have to be amongst too many people sometimes.

The rooms are lovely and all look similar. There are some that have an upper and a lower and ours was an upper with a patio bed outside which was great for afternoon snoozing. Rooms are nicely done and comfortable rather than plush and sumptuous. Just right for me.

The staff are all lovely and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. And Sue (Mama Sue) sorted a load of things out like taxis, trips etc for us. It was nice to have this done easily and the guy who took us to Stone Town waited all day until we were ready too come back. Although there were lots of things to do on the island, we chose to chill out and do minimalist. Walking along the beach, snorkelling and eating did it for me.

All told, this is a great place to stay and enjoy. I would say chose between lots of fellow travellers and loads of "motivator" staff or a smaller, laid back with great food. Latter is the obvious answer in case you need help. Thanks to all for a great break.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed here for five nights on the back of a tiring safari trip and we were so looking forward to having the excuse of just lazing around. Echo Beach is the perfect place for doing just that! The hotel was very quiet when we stayed, even having two nights with it all to ourselves! On those occasions the friendly and kind owners Sue and Andrew made us feel spoiled by asking us what we wanted to eat that evening and even giving us a special evening meal and complimentary bottle of wine in the Zanzibari style converted dhow boat right on the water front. Needless to say the food was always delicious- from breakfast through to dinner. If you enjoy fresh seafood with a Zanzibar feel- this is your place!

The room was very clean and the day bed on our porch was the perfect place to relax after a long hard day lying on the perfect white sandy beach! The staff- mostly all local- were very friendly and always endeavouring to make our stay better. Sue and Andrew were always checking up on us to make sure we were happy with everything, and always offering great advice on alternative trips to the usual commercial ones available on the island.

We loved our stay on Echo Beach and were truly upset when we had to leave our little patch of paradise! Would most definitely recommend to other couples and will hopefully get the opportunity to visit again!

Ruth & Wayne

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthP133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic eight night stay at Echo Beach Hotel as part of our honeymoon. This was a very welcome retreat following four days intensive safari in the Selous Game Reserve.

We were immediately made to feel very welcome at this hotel by Sue, the owner, and throughout our stay we really enjoyed the intimate and personal feel of the place. The accommodation was fantastic and very nicely decorated: the room was an excellent size with a good air conditioning and fan system; the shower was wonderful and the terrace outside provided a great relaxation area. The gardens are beautifully manicured every day and we never put shoes on whilst staying there as you are constantly on white sand once you leave your room! The bed was very comfortable and the room provided a small safe for valuables. The doors of the wardrobe never shut properly, but this wasn't an issue for us. We really appreciated how the room looked on our arrival and it was always spotlessly cleaned every day. Beach towels are provided, which is also a bonus.

The beach area is phenomenal and a mini paradise. It is very peaceful and relaxing and sometimes staff come to check if you need drinks. However if the staff are not around it is very easy to walk to the bar to order and these drinks can be bought out to you easily. We particularly enjoyed the suggestion of having lunch on a boat positioned on the beach on our first day. They converted this during our stay to an area for people to enjoy dinner at night. The pool area is also very comfortable and the pool is very clean and a pleasure to swim in. The only negative of the beach front was that it was very breezy at times during our stay, which meant sometimes we had to leave the beach front slightly earlier than we would have liked in the afternoon. I think this was because the time we visited the tide was largely out during the day and of course it is winter in Africa! However it may be worth having some kind of wind breaker to use if this happens regularly.

However the biggest selling point of this hotel is its food. The lunch and dinner menus were changed every day we were there and it was very varied and extensive. We did not have one bad meal there and the chocolate cookie dessert was one of the best I have eaten. The kitchen clearly uses a range of local products and as fish lovers, we enjoyed the variety of fish dishes. Breakfast is delicious and the fresh fruit and juice to start is yummy. The portions are a very good size and we would like to know when Andrew is opening a restaurant in England so we can go in between our visits to Zanzibar! Sue also organised a wonderful meal on our terrace for one night as it was our honeymoon. We received champagne and canapes, which was a lovely treat. There is also a great variety of drinks and we would recommend trying the cocktails. The service of the waiting staff is impeccable. They are incredibly friendly and work very hard.

Andrew is able to organise most activities if asked. He sorted our Blue Safari trip and day out to Stone Town, Spice Farm and Prison Island at a good rate. Also we would definitely recommend having a treatment in the Spa; Lucia's massages are fantastic!!!

We also really liked the dogs, who do play a big part at this hotel; they are real characters and very entertaining.Twice we were woken up with their barking in the early hours, but we forgive them as they are so cute!

We would definitely recommend this hotel for a honeymoon. I don't think this a resort for young families but there seemed to be groups with older teenagers enjoying themselves. This is a place to relax, eat and drink. There is not much in the way of activities in close proximity to the hotel, but if you do feel that you want to see some of the island's culture it would appear this can be easily organised. The hotel has a wonderful personal feeling about it and we were very sad to leave. We would like to thank all the staff at Echo Beach for making our honeymoon so special.

We would also definitely recommend booking your holiday with Safari and Beach as their expertise in the area definitely helped with our choice and trip. They organised all flights and transfers and Charlie in particular was very accommodating in meeting what we wanted. We had a misconnection on our international flight with Qatar Airline and Charlie was wonderful in rearranging our connecting flights in the middle of the night. We felt very supported by Charlie and all at Safari and Beach.

Room Tip: Room 4 is an excellent single storey room in a central location overlooking the pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraJane_H_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwejuu
1.0 mi away
Anna of Zanzibar
Anna of Zanzibar
#5 of 12 in Bwejuu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
14.4 mi away
Pongwe Beach Hotel
Pongwe Beach Hotel
#1 of 6 in Pongwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
25.1 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#4 of 173 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar
0.6 mi away
The Palms
The Palms
#1 of 12 in Bwejuu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.7 mi away
Baraza Resort & Spa
Baraza Resort & Spa
#2 of 12 in Bwejuu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Echo Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Echo Beach Hotel

Property: Echo Beach Hotel
Address: Bwejuu | East Coast, Bwejuu 3109, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bwejuu
#4 Spa Hotel in Bwejuu
#5 Family Hotel in Bwejuu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bwejuu
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Slice of ParadiseThe new Echo Beach Hotel resort offers visitors a slice of paradise on the dreamy tropical island of Zanzibar. The very name Zanzibar evokes a sense of mystique and adventure.Sue and Andrew Page, the owners of Echo Beach bought a 5 acre stretch of unspoilt beach to create a unique boutique hotel. There are now 10 individual villas combining unpretentious African architecture with state of the art technology, interior design, fixtures and fittings.Beach Villasin Unspoilt SurroundingsThe individually designed Bandas are constructed from local stone, capped with Makuti roofs .Each dwelling boasts exquisitely hand carved balconies and verandas where guests can enjoy a drink in the shade. The Bandas are completely private and not overlooked, allowing visitors to relish the unspoilt surroundings and uninterrupted views of the beautiful Indian Ocean.Beachside diningDining in the beachside restaurant, decorated with designers guild fabric, in the white and turquoise of the seashore is a highly pleasurable experience, with discreet and efficient service.With a refreshing breeze blowing in from the sea, guests can unwind and relax with a decadent cocktail in the stylish bar area, where designer fabrics are teamed with Zanzibar carved furnishings. Or wander down to the unique bar on the beach, and enjoy refreshments by the sea shore.Local Dishes & International FavouritesFor those who want to get the true taste of Zanzibar there is a wealth of fresh local food on the menu, not to mention some carefully selected International favourites.The ultimate in fresh fare, produce is purchased daily, including lobster, crab, prawns and squid straight from local fisherman who come to the beach.Relax at the Beauty SpaZanzibar is the perfect place for a complete break from the hectic life most people live nowadays. If you want professional, unobtrusive service, peace and privacy to relax, then why not try our professional beauty spa and treat yourself to a complete pampering.Tours and TransfersEcho Beach is happy to arrange transfers to and from the hotel.Whilst on your holiday why not let us arrange for you to explore the magical island taking in the legendary Spice Tour. While spices no longer dominate Zanzibar's economy as they once did, there are still numerous spice plantations in the centre of the island, which make an interesting visit.Friendly and informed guides will escort you on a walking tour of the spice farms, picking bunches of leaves, fruit and twigs from bushes and trees, inviting you to smell or taste them to guess what they are.Swimming with Dolphins is also a magical experience that will not be forgotten and can easily be arranged. The Jozani Forest Tour with the colobus monkeys that are unique to Zanzibar. These are just some of the adventures you can enjoy as well as diving, fishing and snorkelling in one of the most unspoilt areas of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Echo Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Echo Beach Bwejuu
Hotel Echo Beach
Echo Beach Hotel Zanzibar Island/Bwejuu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing