We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect end to a perfect trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Echo Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Echo Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Bwejuu
Certificate of Excellence
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect end to a perfect trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Choosing an hotel is very much a matter of personal taste. If you want lots of activities or service verging on the obsequious then Echo Beach is probably not for you. They can, and do, arrange trips to Stone Town, spice tours, swimming with dolphins and trips on Arab dhows etc, but the real name of the game is to unwind. Great location, your classic palm-fringed white sand beach; terrific accommodation, good size, great showers and the choice of ceiling fan over air con which we prefer; and excellent food, well balanced meals with very fresh ingredients, well prepared and presented. The English owners, Sue and Andrew, make sure they get to know all guests to ensure they are getting the most out of their holiday without being intrusive. For my wife and I it provided the perfect combination of an informal ambience, fine catering and wonderful staff. We loved the dogs too.

Room Tip: All have sea views so choose solely on size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    39
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
40
138
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northleach
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Having just spent 8 days on safari in Southern Tanzania we went to Echo Beach on Zanzibar for a rest. We could not have chosen better! Turquoise blue sea, miles of white sand, comfortable accommodation and excellent food. The perfect final destination on an unforgettable holiday.

Room Tip: All the rooms are in lodges around a pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here in June 2013 as part of our honeymoon having just come off the back of a 4 day safari on the mainland.

It was exactly what we needed and much more than we expected. The location is stunning, the rooms well sized and the staff could not have done more for us.

A special mention, too, for the food. Every night were it was of a fantastic standard with imaginative menus you'd pay very good money for in London.

A lovely place if you need to relax and switch off. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJMacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed at Echo beach for 7 nights on our honeymoon following a safari in August 2012. We have very much mixed feelings about it, positive and negative.

Positives: Fab location, relaxing, quiet, hotel area was beautiful and colourful. The tide came in twice per day and the water was lovely in the evening when warmed up from the day. The dogs are a delight (if you like dogs). Staff and Zoe, manager were friendly. Perfect for honeymooners. We had our first meal on the beach of lobster and champagne, a real treat. Also had champagne and canapés in our room after arrival (but had to ask for these). Breakfast was great. It gets dark early so everyone tends to go to leave the bar area early (approx 10 - 10.30pm) but this was fine with us and we were up early every day to catch the most of the day. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and have some great memories of Zanzibar.

Negatives: Sue and Andrew were out of the country during our stay and I think this may have impacted on the quality of the personal touch/service that we read about prior to booking. We were taken to the wrong room initially but this was rectified soon after. We booked Echo Beach mostly due to reports that the food was amazing, we love to eat and like good food. We were very disappointed the first 3 nights, the food was very salty and everything was covered in sauce, and bananas were the option for dessert 3 days in a row. The 3rd night the banana was completely unripe to the point of drying our mouths with one bite. The food did improve after this however and we had no complaints for the next 4 nights. The electrics were very dodgy in our room. We got electric shocks from the wall sockets, the tap in the bathroom and through the water from the tap and the shower head. We reported this to the manager and waited for about 2 hours for someone to come to check it out. We were unsure if someone had come (no-one knocked on our door) so we went for dinner. The next day we were assured someone did look at this but I got another electric shock from the shower head. I was terrified about having a shower and did not have one before flying back to Nairobi. When we were leaving in the taxi to go home a joke was made by management about getting a shock on the plane, this was meant as a joke but was in poor taste considering my fear of using the bathroom/shower and the fact that we both got multiple electric shocks. The air conditioning broke on the first day and it never quite worked properly after this despite being 'fixed'. We think it may have been linked to issues with the electrics. Lastly, the rug in our room was quite dirty/stained. Our room was the lower price granted, but we would still expect things to be clean. I left all the above comments in written form before I left therefore none of this should be a surprise for management. I advised Zoe verbally to get the electrics sorted before she let anyone else use this room as I was afraid someone could get seriously hurt. Despite the negatives we would stay at echo beach again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Grace206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I have mixed feelings about Echo Beach. First, the place looks absolutely nothing like its web page and is considerably more run down. The quality of the service was not all that good and requests for the rooms were not done unless I chased after it. Management was nowhere to be seen and probably accounts for the reasons requests were not followed up.

When requested, indeed day trips were arranged. However, I would never use their man again--he is not totally honest, confusing in his discussions over costs and certainly not used to residents who know what is going on and seems to believe that all foreigners accept being ripped off.

The food was outstanding and would be the only reason we return.

Other than that, I felt like my kids and I were more of a bother than welcome guests. On the day we left, we were the last guests (after a very quiet Easter weekend) and I would have put a bubble over everyone's head saying ''can't they just leave now?''

Beaches are abundant in Zanzibar. I think there are better places to stay comparable to the cost of Echo and will probably go somewhere else on my next visit to Zanzibar.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

As part of my safari trip the second part was on Zanzibar at Echo beach, this hotel was just what I needed after the safari, getting to relax and unwind. The room, number 3 was great and to a very high standard, I had a lovely afternoon snooze on the veranda bed. The food was superb and as it was my 40th while there we had a lovely last night meal on the beach, with chocolate pudding cooked especially. The different cocktail each even was lovely and refreshing with the fresh fruit. The staff could not have done more when asked and was very polite. Sue & Andrew were great and there dogs were just like being at home. Echo beach is a great place to get away from it all, where you can be active if you want or you can while away your time on the beach or by the pool with a good book

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 305suzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northants, england
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

I would echoe (!) Everything that has been said: wonderful food, perfect setting and fabulous hosts. The sea is a private turquoise bath..the island was a welcome relief from Kenya loved Stone Town too. Taxi driver was so trustworthy you knew exactly what you were paying for. Prison Island great too.
The island vibe is so much more pleasant than Kenya. I have to go back, I have to!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kezchiz4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwejuu
25.1 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#1 of 170 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 stars 369 reviews
14.4 mi away
Pongwe Beach Hotel
Pongwe Beach Hotel
#1 of 5 in Pongwe
4.5 of 5 stars 752 reviews
1.0 mi away
Anna of Zanzibar
Anna of Zanzibar
#6 of 12 in Bwejuu
5.0 of 5 stars 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Evergreen Bungalows
Evergreen Bungalows
#8 of 12 in Bwejuu
4.5 of 5 stars 73 reviews
20.6 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,271 reviews
0.5 mi away
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Echo Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Echo Beach Hotel

Property: Echo Beach Hotel
Address: Bwejuu | East Coast, Bwejuu 3109, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bwejuu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bwejuu
#6 Family Hotel in Bwejuu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bwejuu
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Slice of ParadiseThe new Echo Beach Hotel resort offers visitors a slice of paradise on the dreamy tropical island of Zanzibar. The very name Zanzibar evokes a sense of mystique and adventure.Sue and Andrew Page, the owners of Echo Beach bought a 5 acre stretch of unspoilt beach to create a unique boutique hotel. There are now 10 individual villas combining unpretentious African architecture with state of the art technology, interior design, fixtures and fittings.Beach Villasin Unspoilt SurroundingsThe individually designed Bandas are constructed from local stone, capped with Makuti roofs .Each dwelling boasts exquisitely hand carved balconies and verandas where guests can enjoy a drink in the shade. The Bandas are completely private and not overlooked, allowing visitors to relish the unspoilt surroundings and uninterrupted views of the beautiful Indian Ocean.Beachside diningDining in the beachside restaurant, decorated with designers guild fabric, in the white and turquoise of the seashore is a highly pleasurable experience, with discreet and efficient service.With a refreshing breeze blowing in from the sea, guests can unwind and relax with a decadent cocktail in the stylish bar area, where designer fabrics are teamed with Zanzibar carved furnishings. Or wander down to the unique bar on the beach, and enjoy refreshments by the sea shore.Local Dishes & International FavouritesFor those who want to get the true taste of Zanzibar there is a wealth of fresh local food on the menu, not to mention some carefully selected International favourites.The ultimate in fresh fare, produce is purchased daily, including lobster, crab, prawns and squid straight from local fisherman who come to the beach.Relax at the Beauty SpaZanzibar is the perfect place for a complete break from the hectic life most people live nowadays. If you want professional, unobtrusive service, peace and privacy to relax, then why not try our professional beauty spa and treat yourself to a complete pampering.Tours and TransfersEcho Beach is happy to arrange transfers to and from the hotel.Whilst on your holiday why not let us arrange for you to explore the magical island taking in the legendary Spice Tour. While spices no longer dominate Zanzibar's economy as they once did, there are still numerous spice plantations in the centre of the island, which make an interesting visit.Friendly and informed guides will escort you on a walking tour of the spice farms, picking bunches of leaves, fruit and twigs from bushes and trees, inviting you to smell or taste them to guess what they are.Swimming with Dolphins is also a magical experience that will not be forgotten and can easily be arranged. The Jozani Forest Tour with the colobus monkeys that are unique to Zanzibar. These are just some of the adventures you can enjoy as well as diving, fishing and snorkelling in one of the most unspoilt areas of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Echo Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Echo Beach Bwejuu
Hotel Echo Beach
Echo Beach Hotel Zanzibar Island/Bwejuu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing