We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get away”
Review of Echo Beach Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bwejuu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Echo Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Bwejuu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2013

As part of my safari trip the second part was on Zanzibar at Echo beach, this hotel was just what I needed after the safari, getting to relax and unwind. The room, number 3 was great and to a very high standard, I had a lovely afternoon snooze on the veranda bed. The food was superb and as it was my 40th while there we had a lovely last night meal on the beach, with chocolate pudding cooked especially. The different cocktail each even was lovely and refreshing with the fresh fruit. The staff could not have done more when asked and was very polite. Sue & Andrew were great and there dogs were just like being at home. Echo beach is a great place to get away from it all, where you can be active if you want or you can while away your time on the beach or by the pool with a good book

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 305suzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
There are newer reviews for Echo Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 244 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

I would echoe (!) Everything that has been said: wonderful food, perfect setting and fabulous hosts. The sea is a private turquoise bath..the island was a welcome relief from Kenya loved Stone Town too. Taxi driver was so trustworthy you knew exactly what you were paying for. Prison Island great too.
The island vibe is so much more pleasant than Kenya. I have to go back, I have to!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank kezchiz4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a great hideout for couples or small families, but I'd like to make a couple of modifications to recent reviews: bathing in the sea is ok at high tide, but most of the time you must wear bathing shoes (used ones available). At low tide it is too shallow; stick to the pool. A previous review said the pool was unclean, we found it in good conditiom. Oddly, the water in the shower was salt, not as salt as sea water though, it worked for us. Finally, you ought to like dogs! There, all negative details on the table. But the main message remains: a beautiful beach hotel, excellent service from dedicated owners and staff, great.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OneNorwegian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed at Echo Beach Hotel in October and absolutely loved it. The property is beautiful - the grounds are well manicured, the rooms are spacious with lots of attention to detail, the bar/lounge overlooks the beach, and the beach and ocean are stunning. The food was delicious (we ate breakfast and dinner there everyday). The staff was incredibly attentive and could take care of just about anything - we had meals brought to our porch and the manager arranged for a moonlight boat ride with champagne and appetizers to celebrate our one year anniversary. What made this hotel really special though were the owners Andrew and Sue. They are incredibly warm and made us feel like family. We would recommend Echo Beach to anyone going to Zanzibar.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed here over New Year as part of our honeymoon to Tanzania. It really was a fantastic place and nothing was ever too much trouble for Sue, Andrew and Zoe.They even arranged champagne and canapés on our first night and a private dinner another night. The food is of a very high standard and uses the most of the fresh local produce. It is in a perfect location with views of the beach from your room and a white sandy beach to enjoy evening strolls along. It was like staying in paradise! We stayed there 7 nights and wished it could have been longer. This really was a perfect place to spend our honeymoon.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

This is an ideal spot for an affordable getaway in Zanzibar. The drive from the airport is only about an hour. The beach is exquisite and the service 5-star. With only 10 rooms you can be sure that you will not feel overrun by other guests. Sadly the pool water was not terribly inviting (murky and dirty) when we were there but with the ocean right there - no problem! The food was fabulous. My only complaint - I wanted to stay longer!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank India H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

A big thank you to everyone at Echo Beach for the best holiday my husband and I have ever had. We stayed in room 3 which was decorated absolutely beautifully, I loved the paintings and antique furniture all very stylish. The location is idyllic pure white sand and turquoise ocean that is as warm as a bath tub, quite surreal. The pool is gorgeous as are the mature tropical gardens.

I can not fault anything from my treatments in the beauty spa to the delicious food and drink. Thank you to all the wonderful staff for attending to our every need this place makes you feel really indulged and relaxed. Will definitely be back again.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frenchfile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwejuu
20.7 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,596 reviews
25.1 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#3 of 170 in Zanzibar Island
500 reviews
1.0 mi away
Anna of Zanzibar
Anna of Zanzibar
#4 of 10 in Bwejuu
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar
0.6 mi away
The Palms
The Palms
#1 of 10 in Bwejuu
298 reviews
0.8 mi away
Baraza Resort & Spa
Baraza Resort & Spa
#2 of 10 in Bwejuu
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Echo Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Echo Beach Hotel

Address: Bwejuu | East Coast, Bwejuu 3109, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Bwejuu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bwejuu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bwejuu
#5 Family Hotel in Bwejuu
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Slice of ParadiseThe new Echo Beach Hotel resort offers visitors a slice of paradise on the dreamy tropical island of Zanzibar. The very name Zanzibar evokes a sense of mystique and adventure.Sue and Andrew Page, the owners of Echo Beach bought a 5 acre stretch of unspoilt beach to create a unique boutique hotel. There are now 10 individual villas combining unpretentious African architecture with state of the art technology, interior design, fixtures and fittings.Beach Villasin Unspoilt SurroundingsThe individually designed Bandas are constructed from local stone, capped with Makuti roofs .Each dwelling boasts exquisitely hand carved balconies and verandas where guests can enjoy a drink in the shade. The Bandas are completely private and not overlooked, allowing visitors to relish the unspoilt surroundings and uninterrupted views of the beautiful Indian Ocean.Beachside diningDining in the beachside restaurant, decorated with designers guild fabric, in the white and turquoise of the seashore is a highly pleasurable experience, with discreet and efficient service.With a refreshing breeze blowing in from the sea, guests can unwind and relax with a decadent cocktail in the stylish bar area, where designer fabrics are teamed with Zanzibar carved furnishings. Or wander down to the unique bar on the beach, and enjoy refreshments by the sea shore.Local Dishes & International FavouritesFor those who want to get the true taste of Zanzibar there is a wealth of fresh local food on the menu, not to mention some carefully selected International favourites.The ultimate in fresh fare, produce is purchased daily, including lobster, crab, prawns and squid straight from local fisherman who come to the beach.Relax at the Beauty SpaZanzibar is the perfect place for a complete break from the hectic life most people live nowadays. If you want professional, unobtrusive service, peace and privacy to relax, then why not try our professional beauty spa and treat yourself to a complete pampering.Tours and TransfersEcho Beach is happy to arrange transfers to and from the hotel.Whilst on your holiday why not let us arrange for you to explore the magical island taking in the legendary Spice Tour. While spices no longer dominate Zanzibar's economy as they once did, there are still numerous spice plantations in the centre of the island, which make an interesting visit.Friendly and informed guides will escort you on a walking tour of the spice farms, picking bunches of leaves, fruit and twigs from bushes and trees, inviting you to smell or taste them to guess what they are.Swimming with Dolphins is also a magical experience that will not be forgotten and can easily be arranged. The Jozani Forest Tour with the colobus monkeys that are unique to Zanzibar. These are just some of the adventures you can enjoy as well as diving, fishing and snorkelling in one of the most unspoilt areas of the world. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Echo Beach Bwejuu
Hotel Echo Beach
Echo Beach Hotel Zanzibar Island/Bwejuu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing