We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best holiday we have ever had” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Echo Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Echo Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Bwejuu
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“The best holiday we have ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

A big thank you to everyone at Echo Beach for the best holiday my husband and I have ever had. We stayed in room 3 which was decorated absolutely beautifully, I loved the paintings and antique furniture all very stylish. The location is idyllic pure white sand and turquoise ocean that is as warm as a bath tub, quite surreal. The pool is gorgeous as are the mature tropical gardens.

I can not fault anything from my treatments in the beauty spa to the delicious food and drink. Thank you to all the wonderful staff for attending to our every need this place makes you feel really indulged and relaxed. Will definitely be back again.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frenchfile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    40
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
41
140
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We loved the hotel, staff were excellent and food was fantastic as were the happy hour cocktails!! Definitely a must visit for Zanzibar! A very small hotel, so we received very personalised service which was great! The rooms were tastefully decorated and very well equipped!
And to top this off, this is where I got engaged!! A beautiful moonlit beach dinner with champagne was set up and everything was just perfect! I highly recommend this hotel, and particularly this part of Zanzibar is beautiful and quieter than the busy northern coast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxychandaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

The position of the echo beach is stunning and for most of the time you have the beach almost to yourselves.
The rooms are well decorated and each one with a personal design touch from Sue.
The Hosts Sue, Andrew and Zoe are exceptional - nothing is too much trouble and they are always ensuring you are making the most of your stay.
- we did have some issues with one of our showers working but this was dealt with quickly.
The best bit apart from the location was for us the food - it was innovative, using the local ingredients and changing day to day.
The only thing we would change was the mattress which was a bit lumpy but we coped.
A great few days in a little bit of paradise - hope we get to go back some day!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank talltrees888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in February 12 and it was excellent. Our Room was excellent complete with 4 Poster Bed great Shower Day Beds outside!! Fab Pool and Beach is how you see it in the pics. If your after total relaxation this is the place to be. The hardest thing you have to do in any given day is get up !!!! Resturant only steps away from our Room food was amazing and varied you could walk for miles on the Beach without encountering another Human Being!!! Forgot about the rest of the World here and chilled out reading and relaxing, work in a stressful environment and have to say after this holiday was ready to Bring It On !!!!! I will be back and thanks to Sue and Andrew for their wonderful hospitality !!!!

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MaureenBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We live in Dar es Salaam and went to Zanzibar for Christmas. After researching MANY hotels we chose Echo Beach. From the first enquiry Zoe (the manager) was incredibly helpful and answered any questions I had.
We were travelling with my father in law and his family and our teenage son and 20 month old toddler. Room 1 (and 1A) is ideal if you are with a baby as it is only steps away from the bar/restaurant and pool areas so we could have dinner while our toddler slept and could easily keep checking on him. They were also very accomodating about filling bottles for him and keeping them in the fridge.
The rooms are very nice with working AC and the bathrooms are excellent, with plenty of water (hot if you want). They do not turn off the electricity at any time, unlike many resorts.
The food was lovely but there was a buffet on the 26th which was mostly fish which my husband doesn't eat (note: the sides- chips, potatoes etc were not enough- one serving between 3 people and we did have to ask for more).
The pool is fantastic and deep at one end and there are plently of loungers at the pool and on the beach. The sea was a hot as a bath but the tides meant that you could only swim at certain times.
I would certainly recommend this hotel- especially to families but I imagine that some of the other rooms would be more private.

Room Tip: Room 1 is nearest the bar area so ideal if you have children to keep an eye on, but not the most pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vixky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
140 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

My partner and I had about 17 days in Unguja and Pemba (jointly called Zanzibar) and I think Echo Beach (stayed 3 nights) had to be our favourite beach resort. It was very quiet (November) but I think at any time, this resort would retain its very personal, intimate atmosphere. The individual bungalows were really lovely - clean, great bed, huge bathroom and walk-in shower with loads of hot water. Above all, the food was fantastic! Breakfasts were the best anywhere in Tanzania. It was very luxurious at a very good price. The tide goes out a long way here so swimming in the ocean is only possible twice a day but they also have a lovely pool so that you can enjoy a dip at other times.

I chose this place because it sounded good on TA but also because there were lots of other places that sounded good but didn't have pools and we were worried about the tides. It was a fantastic choice.

Thanks so much Sue, Zoe, Alan and all the staff at Echo Beach.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed great as they're single bungalows facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

This was a 4 day trip to Echo Beach, linked to a safari trip to Tanzania. We were both very happy with the excellent Echo Beach Hotel with an amazing location and wonderful laid back atmosphere. As the owners were away in UK, Zoe was our charming host who looked after us amazingly well. We feel that she really made the effort to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. For a young lady she has a great future in the hospitality business.

The whole Echo Beach experience was as we expected - good room, great beach, amazing diving and wonderful food where the chef spoke to us each day discussing our options and choices for lunch and the evening meal. Yes, this was low season, so we could expect some extra effort from the staff but it was clear that they really cared about our stay and tried to make it as special as possible.

A word about the dogs - yes the owners do have dogs but they are very friendly and well behaved and in no way detract from a wonderful experience. in my view, much better to have a couple of nice dogs than screaming kids!!

Overall top marks - highly recommended. Many thanks to Echo Beach for making my birthday so memorable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwejuu
25.1 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 171 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
1.0 mi away
Anna of Zanzibar
Anna of Zanzibar
#6 of 12 in Bwejuu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
1.4 mi away
Evergreen Bungalows
Evergreen Bungalows
#8 of 12 in Bwejuu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Palms
The Palms
#1 of 12 in Bwejuu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.5 mi away
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Echo Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Echo Beach Hotel

Property: Echo Beach Hotel
Address: Bwejuu | East Coast, Bwejuu 3109, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bwejuu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bwejuu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bwejuu
#6 Family Hotel in Bwejuu
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Slice of ParadiseThe new Echo Beach Hotel resort offers visitors a slice of paradise on the dreamy tropical island of Zanzibar. The very name Zanzibar evokes a sense of mystique and adventure.Sue and Andrew Page, the owners of Echo Beach bought a 5 acre stretch of unspoilt beach to create a unique boutique hotel. There are now 10 individual villas combining unpretentious African architecture with state of the art technology, interior design, fixtures and fittings.Beach Villasin Unspoilt SurroundingsThe individually designed Bandas are constructed from local stone, capped with Makuti roofs .Each dwelling boasts exquisitely hand carved balconies and verandas where guests can enjoy a drink in the shade. The Bandas are completely private and not overlooked, allowing visitors to relish the unspoilt surroundings and uninterrupted views of the beautiful Indian Ocean.Beachside diningDining in the beachside restaurant, decorated with designers guild fabric, in the white and turquoise of the seashore is a highly pleasurable experience, with discreet and efficient service.With a refreshing breeze blowing in from the sea, guests can unwind and relax with a decadent cocktail in the stylish bar area, where designer fabrics are teamed with Zanzibar carved furnishings. Or wander down to the unique bar on the beach, and enjoy refreshments by the sea shore.Local Dishes & International FavouritesFor those who want to get the true taste of Zanzibar there is a wealth of fresh local food on the menu, not to mention some carefully selected International favourites.The ultimate in fresh fare, produce is purchased daily, including lobster, crab, prawns and squid straight from local fisherman who come to the beach.Relax at the Beauty SpaZanzibar is the perfect place for a complete break from the hectic life most people live nowadays. If you want professional, unobtrusive service, peace and privacy to relax, then why not try our professional beauty spa and treat yourself to a complete pampering.Tours and TransfersEcho Beach is happy to arrange transfers to and from the hotel.Whilst on your holiday why not let us arrange for you to explore the magical island taking in the legendary Spice Tour. While spices no longer dominate Zanzibar's economy as they once did, there are still numerous spice plantations in the centre of the island, which make an interesting visit.Friendly and informed guides will escort you on a walking tour of the spice farms, picking bunches of leaves, fruit and twigs from bushes and trees, inviting you to smell or taste them to guess what they are.Swimming with Dolphins is also a magical experience that will not be forgotten and can easily be arranged. The Jozani Forest Tour with the colobus monkeys that are unique to Zanzibar. These are just some of the adventures you can enjoy as well as diving, fishing and snorkelling in one of the most unspoilt areas of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Echo Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Echo Beach Bwejuu
Hotel Echo Beach
Echo Beach Hotel Zanzibar Island/Bwejuu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing