We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and no fuss, not pristine but good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Twisted Palms Lodge & Restaurant
Reviewed April 28, 2011

Had three good days and nights here, great spot if you're focus is on being interesting places, its a bit worn down in some ways but at 30C and 95 humidity.
Be aware that the beach opens onto a lagoon so the sea visits the near beach only twice a day, at other times you may find the need to wade throught puddles of spiky urchins (don't, wait for mid-tide and snorkel out when its 1m deep)

Ideal for a lazy stay, be prepared for rats to scurry around the restaurant roof and visitations of bats after dark (its open-air living in the tropics, get over it)

Bed creaked badly in one direction but not at all in the other, so be flexible.

Visiting in the off-season was good enough for us, you take your chances with the weather and the sea is sooooo warm. Fantastic snorkelling someplaces nearby and adjoining there are other eating options, food was good and as everyone notes, freshly cooked, if thats too good for you, or you cant survive 50 minutes of hunger then stay in the lands of McDonalds, but the food was good and well priced say $5 for a substantial seafood main course.

If you need continual pampering to be happy then this may be just too off-line for you, try something aseptic and alien ;)

Bits of memorable 'chararcter' are more noteworthy in the months of reflection that follow a good holiday, this will leave you some of those, and 'if you is white' some flaky skin from the powerful sun too.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CPHLN2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 195 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2011

The hotel is basic yet clean and well located right on the beach. The restaurant is excellent as was the service. If you can, choose to go when the tide is NOT low during the heat of the day - there is no swimming when the tide is out. If you are adventurous take the dali-dali (local bus) to Stone Town (about 90 minutes) and spend the day wandering the streets of Stone Town - you don't need a tour guide! Not something I would recommend for a single woman to do, though, on her own. Pack good sun screen - the sun is very hot. The stars at night are also amazing. The rooms have very low wattage light bulbs - so if you want to read at night bring a battery powered light.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank solo50gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

I arrived just after New Years to spend 3 weeks solo at Twisted Palms.
I was picked up as booked, got a spacious bungalow on the beach and everyone welcomed me from the start.
Days was breakfast then reading in the shade, some snorkelling with local fishermen all in the name of relaxation.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ghostrajder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2011

Absolutely beautiful beachfront lodge. It has its normal island quirks, like fluctuating electricity, but this was absolutely no issue. The tide goes out far and makes it fairly impossible to swim in the 8 inches of water. The food was amazing, the staff friendly and helpful, and the location and value unbeatable. I would definitely recommend this to the traveller looking for a relaxing time.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoHoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2011

We visited Twisted Palms in December 2010, it was our second visit there, the first was in December 2009. We spend a week, but I would like to stay longer.
The owners Renato and Laura and all the staff are very helpful and friendly. The rooms are basic, but extremely clean, everything inside is made from ecological materials.
The food in the restaurant is fresh and the Chef Rashid is amazing, his dishes I will never forgot.
If you are looking for quite and relaxing place with amazing beach and friendly people,its name is Twisted Palms.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SofiaElina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

It is very calm and quiet place. There is no discos and parties. you can really enjoy the silence. Good to read, write, think etc. Has great restaurant full of sea food. Quite expensive, especially comparing to prices in other parts of Tanzania. The stuff was very friendly. Twisted Palms is located near Bwejuu village, but there is nothing to see in the village. And you cannot find a good shop there either.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krzysiek23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2010

We spent almost a week at Twisted Palms Lodge in October and we had a fantastic stay. If you are looking for peace and quiet and relaxing time- this is a perfect place to stay. We loved sitting on the swing on the beach in the evening and listening to the reef, or lying in a (double:-)) hammock and reading,going for walks on the beach, swimming...
The rooms and bathrooms are basic, but very clean and tidy - great value for money. The management- Laura and Renato (and in fact every single member of staff) are incredibly helpful. There is a great range of trips and activities to book from. Last but not least- the restaurant-yummmm- fantastic selection of fresh sea food prepared with local spices and some Italian 'twist' (and lobster which will not break the holiday bank! )- don't even try eating anywhere else!
If you need a spot of luxury after a few days you can do what we did. Go diving at the Breezes Resort. Stay for late lunch/early dinner at the bar, sip some cocktails, get amazed about the masses of people who are glued to their lounge chairs at the pool, instead going for a swim in the ocean. Walk back as the sun goes down to the most wonderful place on the beach. Have a game of bao at the bar with one of the waiters and gaze into the night sky.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yogeshwari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwejuu
0 mi away
Evergreen Bungalows
Evergreen Bungalows
#6 of 10 in Bwejuu
86 reviews
8.6 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#4 of 13 in Jambiani
269 reviews
1.3 mi away
African Sun Sand Sea Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sahari Zanzibar
Sahari Zanzibar
#1 of 14 in Bwejuu
277 reviews
1.9 mi away
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar
2.7 mi away
Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twisted Palms Lodge & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twisted Palms Lodge & Restaurant

Address: Bwejuu, Zanzibar, Bwejuu, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Bwejuu
Price Range: $56 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Twisted Palms Lodge & Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leave at home all things superfluous as at Twisted Palms you will find all you need to spend the holiday: the long beach of white sand for endless walks; a hot shower to cuddle yourself after a swim in the ocean. Also a meal that merges Zanzibar's materials with professional Italian-style service awaits on our stilt house beachside restaurant Find just one good reason not to catch up with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Twisted Palms Lodge & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twisted Palms Lodge & Restaurant Hotel Bwejuu
Twisted Palms Lodge And Restaurant
Twisted Palms Lodge & Restaurant Zanzibar Island/Bwejuu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing