We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb beach location - BUT!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Bwejuu
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Superb beach location - BUT!”
Reviewed March 11, 2007

Breezes boasts a divine prime location; a fantastic lagoon that you can easily discover walking at low tide (with reef shoes – to add to your suitcase or be prepared to pay rental). The virgin white sand beach changes colour with the tides, so it is very enjoyable indeed! Sea swimming is possible at high tide, otherwise the good size swimming pool offers a good alternative.

The food is excellent with alternative of set menus and buffet, although lunch time service is very slow and does not have a large amount of choices. The restaurant’s staff tries very hard to make every meal a special occasion and changes daily every detail of restaurant decoration. It is worth noting that everything is a matter of squeezing some dollars out of the customer: being booked on full board it surprised us that we still had to pay for our drinking water (like all other captive customers of the hotel; $2/bottle).

Tours can be organised (and are very interesting – but not cheap £30 average by person by tour), but again tourists are expected to “give” money to whoever they go on tour with. We visited the local village’s school and nursery as well as medical centre (tour called Swahili day). Our guide started the tour by “you are expected to give money to people because you are rich (sic!) and that’s what local people are waiting you to do”. The hotel told us that the money we paid for this tour ($10/person) will go to the local people directly, which does not seem to be enough.

The hotel has a clinic (nurse) that keeps a good stock of useful medicine which proved very helpful to me (I caught a nasty ear infection). A receipt for insurance purposes was promised to be given to me at the end of our stay. Unfortunately, when setting our bill (15 min before our airport transfer), I did not manage to convince the reception manager, (let alone the cashier!!) that a simple signed receipt with mention medical expenses will do. We had to leave the hotel without the document, as trying to get it done within minutes proved to be impossible. (Same unhelpful behaviour a few days earlier after losing a pair of glasses; the hotel refused to help by writing a letter on headed paper – we had to go to the local police at our own expense!)

In conclusion, we loved the hotel and the friendly staff (sometimes exaggerating their politeness!) – with the exception of the beach boys (and girl!) who are rude and unhelpful. Breezes is perfect for beach goer. Our view is Breezes’ standard should be rated 4 stars, not 5. The European concept of time and administration such as travel insurance is completely alien to the Zanzibaris, unfortunately it includes the management! So, be aware of it!

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
8 Thank corinne3b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    858
    261
    58
    21
    11
See reviews for
289
662
43
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2007

This hotel was a big disappointment. It is very dated. Almost feels 80s style. The rooms are advertised as being ocean front but only 4 actually are. The other 100 or so are set well back. You can't drink the water in Zanzibar but this hotel tries to charge you $2 for every small bottle you consume. Anyone with a half healthy diet will have to budget at least an additional $10 per person just for drinking and teeth brushing.

The gym is pretty small but since it is too bloody hot to even sit in the shade during the middle part of the day, I thought I would try to get a workout around 2pm in the little air conditioned gym. But then I found out that it is closed from 11am to 4 pm. Makes a lot of sense since 4 pm to 7pm is pretty much the only comfortable time of day to enjoy the beach. And then the beach towel guy goes off duty at 6pm and if you haven't returned your towel to him by then, you get charged $4 for the towel! There are no stores anywhere near the place so guests are completely captive to the overcharging for ordinary food and drink while at Breezes.

The mosquitos were worse here than any place we stayed during our 6 weeks in Africa. The clientele was mostly older, conservative Europeans looking for a beach to lay on after their Tanzania safari. The restaurant staff was very friendly but the management has created such a negative vibe that it was difficult even to bond with the restaurant crew. Internet access is charged at $20 an hour and painfully slow, while you can access the Internet in Stone Town for less than $1 per hour at several places. Another example of management trying to squeeze every dollar out of each guest leaving this guest, at least, with a strong desire to make sure others don't make the same mistake. Zanzibar can be missed altogether to be honest. The island has an incredible history that is well worth reading up on but the island seems to have lost its charm. Or maybe our perspective was just tainted by the disappointment of Breezes.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
12 Thank SabbaticalBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2007

We stayed here for 9 days, which was maybe 2 days to long since the activities aren't too many at this residence.
My review is based on a fact that this Beach Club offers you relaxation based on great beach, facilities, spa, service and no-tv policy (there's however a common tv-room).
Activities that are offered to you are as follow (those that I can remember):
- Diving near the reef - 10 min away from hotel
- Snorkeling near the reef 5/5 - 10 min away from hotel
- Guide tour in Stone Town 3/5 - nothing special here
- Spa 4/5
- Tennis (asphalt court) 3/5
- Bike rent 5/5 - nice tour along the beach (remember sun-lotion)
- Windsurfing 5/5
- Swimming - too shallow in the sea, the pool is of good standard

This is however a place for those that are in love, and like to look each other in the eyes for days. :) Which is not a bad think since management really put a great effort in decoration and the whole feeling of comfort through out whole residence.

A winner for honey mooners and others that enjoy a romantic trip.

  • Liked — Relaxing feeling, time went slowly like in old days
  • Disliked — Sea level was too shallow to take a swim
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Zegora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2007

If Zanzibar is Paradise - then Breezes Beach Club is Heaven!
We had an incredibly restful and memorable week!
Actually, I have never gotten a tan like this one in my life! Wonderful!

All the staff, from the maids to the waiters/waitresses and the front desk-staff were incredible!
The places where you get this good service are rare!
The food was superb and the Crab Cakes in particular were to die for! We actually got the recipe for those...
My husband managed to get stung by a jellyfish on our first day, but the staff at the Watersports Centre handled that like true professionals!

It was absolutely NOT our last trip to Zanzibar!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Thess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2007

I must say we were lucky to have been able to stay in so many diferent hotels and lodges during our safari and in two places in Zanzibar as well. We ended with our stay at The Palms, which I reviewed as well, but did stay for 4 nights at Breezes before moving to The Palms for the end of our trip.

Breezes was wonderful and the very peaceful, especially in the beginning of December...a hot, but great time to visit. The food was exquisite as was the service. A great experience in the accommodation and I relished in the comfort, style, and peace of the room that had no distractions.

Beach was incredible and private and the pool a great reprieve from the hot sun.

Food highlights were the Sultan's Table and the fantastic lunch menu that offered so much more than your typical resort fare. A touch of Indian and Thai, with of course a fantastic burger!

The Spa was incredible, unlike anything I have experienced in the States. You have to visit the shop as well....beautiful clothes, jewelry, typical African luxuries...I almost needed to buy another suitcase!

I can go on, but what a wonderful highlist to our stay in Zanzibar....loved it!

  • Liked — beautiful syle and design...very comfy beds!
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Olianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2007

My husband and I returned from 12 nights at Breezes a week ago. I am in mourning at having to leave, we loved it. I must admit before we left we had been alarmed by some of the reviews on here that are less than kind, however I would honestly say that a lot of the complaints I have read I would whole heartily disagree with.

Firstly we thought the service was second to none. ALL staff are very friendly and polite without coming accross as over bearing or patronising. Personally I hate all this 'yes maam' 'no maam' kind of thing but here you feel as though the staff are genuinely pleased to speak with you and are always very pleasant. A few special mentions, Mohammed our waiter is excellent. Such a lovely person. Also the staff at the Dive Centre are fantastic, it is expertly run by Paul and the staff, Vicky, Luke and Chad are total pro's. I was a nervous diver to begin with and Vicky really helped me so much. We were also lucky enough to go on a completely new dive site - it had only been discovered the day before and we were the first tourists to dive there!!

Secondly the rooms. Well I only saw ours but it was perfect!!! Here's a tip, there are only two blocks with sea views, ours was one of them. Email the hotel before you go and ask to be in block Coconut or Clove. These are right on the beach. We had room 7 which is a corner room on the ground floor - we could walk from our terrace right onto the beach!!! Inside was lovely too, airconditioned with ceiling fans also. Lovely big bed and plenty of space. Inroom safe is free to use (not the case at some hotels). The bathroom is basic but its clean and serviced daily. When we arrived we were greeted by complimentary wine and flowers as it was our Honeymoon. Also got vouchers for discounts at the spa. During our stay we were also surprised with canapes served in our room one evening (sundowners) and a free lunch in Breakers restaurant. All arranged by restaurant manager Jerome who is such a nice helpful guy.

The beach here is beautiful!!! Yes the tide can be an issue in terms of swimming, but when the tide is in its fantastic. The reef about half a mile out means that its as still as a pool. So warm and teaming with fish - the snorkelling is brilliant!!!

Yes the hotel is out of the way, but surely if you did your research before you booked you would know this?! We certainly did. You can however walk up or down the beach in either direction for miles and be perfectly safe. You could even hire a bike and do it, its really quite beautiful.

The Spa is lovely, we had the Sultan's Bath during our stay. Totally wonderful!! I was like a new woman afterwards. The staff are very professional and pleasant - everyone we spoke to who had been said they enjoyed their treatments very much.

Overall, as you can tell we loved this hotel. The public area's, food etc are superb. Yes you pay extra to go to the Sultans Table and Tides (which is amazing) but this is clearly stated in all the brochures I read before we booked so it shouldnt be a surprise when you arrive. To be honest the hotel restaurant is so good, and diverse you really wouldnt need to eat anywhere else. BBQ and Gala Evening were particular favorites of ours. We have never tried so many different kinds of fish too!!

Please please dont let the negative views put you off going!!! If you like the look of it then go for it. You wont be disappointed.

  • Liked — Everything!!!!
  • Disliked — Having to go home
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank lesleath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2007

We stayed in Breezes after a safari in South Africa. The resort itself is beautiful to look at, with really authentic furnishings and decor. The sea and the beach are gorgeous. The cottages and gardens are well maintained.The pool is really big and there are lots of loungers around it and bar and restaurants are close by too.
We were disappointed though because it is truly isolated. After leaving the airport the road got steadily worse, until it turned into a rocky dirt track. Eventually we reached the huge gates to the resort which were heavily guarded. The mere fact these guards were needed was off putting so it was a bad first impression.
Once inside, that's it. There is nowhere else to go unless you spend lots on a taxi to Stone Town. Also there is nothing to do inside unless you love to sunbathe or dive. If you want to do anything else then be prepared to pay ALOT for it. The Spa being the prime example. Also internet access costs lots too.
We went on the inclusive package, but you still have to pay for any extras including all drinks and even lobster or crab on the menu!
All prices within the resort are in US dollars, whereas outside they are all in Tanzanian Shillings. Only after going to Stone Town did we realise how expensive everything in the resort was.
Basically, the resort was lovely but we felt they were money grabbers trying to charge for every tiny thing!!

  • Liked — the sea
  • Disliked — spa prices
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank roundy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwejuu
20.3 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,490 reviews
24.9 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#3 of 166 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
36.4 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.2 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
5.3 mi away
KonoKono Beach Resort
KonoKono Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Michamvi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Palms
The Palms
#1 of 10 in Bwejuu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar

Property: Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar
Address: Bwejuu Beach, Bwejuu, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bwejuu
#3 Spa Hotel in Bwejuu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bwejuu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bwejuu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bwejuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanzibar's most romantic hotel, featuring the Frangipani Spa, highest attention to detail, and personalized service second to none. This family owned and managed resort has set high standards for Zanzibar, and continues to lead the others in the right direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar Hotel Bwejuu
Breezes Beach Club And Spa, Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Hotel Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Resort Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Club Zanzibar
Breezes Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar Zanzibar Island/Bwejuu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing