We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The almost perfect Honeymoon destination”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Bwejuu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2006

Booked through UK operator (Real Africa) and was 2nd week of 2 week Honeymoon (first week was Safari in Tanzania).

Overall this place is fantastic and the perfect honeymoon destination. Saying that there were a few families enjoying themselves there as well!

The location, rooms, beach and general quality of food was excellent. The food is on a 7 day rota but they really make an effort and the restuarant manager should be congratulated. Each night the staff wore different outfits to match the theme for the evening along with the table settings. Food was always high quality and a nice mix between buffet and a la carte. We did half board but would suggest looking into full board prices as we ended up eating there most lunchtimes. The lobster at lunchtime was sensational !!

The loungers in the beach area did have umbrellas and whilst there are not enough to go around we never seemed to have a real problem getting one, without having to get up at the crack of dawn! No real shade or breeze by the pool. Hard core sun bathers only there!

The rooms were very good and the mini bar reasonably priced. Like everyone we asked for a sea view and whilst there are only 12 rooms that truly do get one (numbers 1-12 if you want to try and pre book) we could see the sea from our patio (room 34). Doesnt matter too much though. the gardens and grounds are very attractive and well kept, and we even saw a bush baby one night on the way to dinner.

I never found the reception service rude at all and even organised for friends of ours to join us for dinner one evening from another hotel.

Ive only given it 4 out of 5 for a few very minor reasons that in no way spoilt the overall holiday because the place is excellent:

1) because it is expensive to stay there and despite being able to get most drinks cheaply they still charge European prices for it. not a rip off but I imagine their margin is huge.

2) Unlike the Serena hotels we stayed in they only put one bottle of water in your room to brush your teeth with. Any 5 star hotel would supply more than that and rely on their clientele to spend the money elsewhere rather than almost force them to buy more expensive drinking water for their room.

3) the staff are excellent and overall their English is very good, but they are a little programmed in their training and if your answers to their questions deviate in any way from the norm then confusion reigns ! More effort should be made by the hotel to help the staff improve their English. its only fair to them. They do an excellent job.

To repeat as a honeymoon destination after a Safari it is a delight, the few negative points are very minor and we were gutted to leave! They have a lot of honeymooners there and do make the effort for you with little freebies throughout the week, which is a nice touch!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank SandAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,290)
There are newer reviews for Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

875 - 881 of 1,290 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2006

We stayed 5 nights at Breezes as part of a bigger trip, also taking in Stone Town (definitely work a couple of days, the Serena Inn is excellent), and safari in the Masai Mara (Kicheche Mara camp was very good).

Overall, my impression of Breezes was that it was generally good, and is probably one of the best resorts on Zanzibar. It is, however, definitely just "good" rather than "great". And while it may be the best in Zanzibar, at the end of the day it is a self-contained beach resort - you will be hard pushed to experience any Zanzibari culture - so it could be anywhere in the world. Look at it that way and there are plenty of other resorts (in the Maldives, for instance) that do this type of thing much better.

Previous reviews give a fairly balanced report of Breezes, so I will try to stick to anything that hasn't been covered before. But when reading back through the reviews you should discount both the overly positive reports as being a bit rose-tinted (and if it's your honeymoon who can blame you for being a bit sentimental), and the overly negative reports as being examples of some bad personal experiences.

First thing to mention is the location - Breezes is on the coast of the Indian Ocean - the next landfall is Asia, quite some way off. This means that it can be subject to some variable weather - "Breezes" isn't just a clever name. When we were there the E / SE wind was constant and strong. That in itself is a bit of a pain, but it also meant that plenty of cloud cover blew in from the ocean.

There are lots of references in previous reviews to the reef and the shallowness at low tide - pay attention. We were lucky, and high tide always fell towards the middle of the day - but if you are unlucky and it's low tide at midday then don't expect to be doing any swimming between 9am and 3pm. The change in tides also means strong currents and high waves, which can be offputting to weaker swimmers.

Activities were generally ok - but again good rather than great. If you're serious about diving then you're probably already looking elsewhere - the area is definitely better for snorkelling than scuba. That said there was plenty of good snorkelling to be had - but again it is limited by the tides. Sailing was cheap, but choice of boats limited, and you're very restricted in where you can go.

The food in the main restaurant was all very good, with plenty of options. Drinks are all cheap. We ate at the Tides (2 person private restaurant) one evening, and found it surprisingly disappointing. The menu was poorly conceived and trying too hard to look good - at the expense of actually tasting good. In my mind there is only one reason to pay the extra £70 to eat at the Tides: if you really like lobster, and are happy to pay extra to eat it. Any romance there is of being in our own private dining room is spoiled by the mediocre food, the fact that it's not actually all that separate from the rest of the resort, and (in our case) slightly indifferent and intrusive service.

I'll finish up by talking about the rooms themselves. Breezes is a relatively small resort - there are 70 rooms in total. Most are in villas scattered around the grounds (of which only two can genuinely be described as having sea-views). Each villa has 4 "deluxe" rooms on the ground floor, and 2 "suites" on the top floor. Unsurprisingly the suites are twice the size of the deluxe rooms - most of this space is taken up by a large outdoor balcony. There are 40 deluxe rooms and 20 suites. If your budget can stretch then the suites are probably worth it - we certainly made plenty of use of our balcony.

There are then 10 "standard" rooms - these are identical to the deluxe rooms, except that they are in a single block of 10, spread over 2 floors and located further away from the beach and the main body of the hotel. But the resort isn't that big - nothing is more than a 2 minute walk in Breezes.

The rooms themselves are comfortable, but showing their age in places. Some of the charm is wearing off from the "rustic charm" of the design - and the quality of the rooms simply doesn't compare to those at the Serena Inn in Stone Town.

Two last small things. First, they've now upgraded the road all the way to Breezes - so it's a quicker and much smoother journey from the airport. Second, Google Earth displays Breezes in high definition - worth a look :-)

So there you go - Breezes, probably the best beach resort on Zanzibar, but that's something of a backhanded compliment.

27  Thank gavmcginty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2006

Having just copmpleted a 9 day safari, in Kenya then Tanzania, we were in need of a well deserved bit of R &R and breezes provided the perfect tonic!!
Having taken the air taxi (!) from the Serengeti to Arusha to Zanzibar (an experience in itself!!), we were transferred to the resort (about 1 hour from the airport), where we were welcomed with champagne and canapes. A bottle of refreshing sparkling wine awaited us in our mini bar fridge- and we recieved some vouchers for treatments at the luscious spa, which my wife and I enjoyed thoroughly.
All the staff really worked hard to make our stay as comfortable and friendly as possible, and we did not experience any of the incompetences that have been mentioned in previous reviews- a big thank you "assante sana" to all involved.
There was a diverse choice of watersports to engage in, and although we were content to lie by the pool/ beach, other guests were quick to recommend the diving courses on offer, I did engage in some competitive mornings of beach volleyball, soccer and tennis, which were thoroughly engaging (although the tennis court may require a touch of paint and some TLC).
I would recommend going full board, because for the 6 days we were present we enjoyed some splendid, diverse choices of meals that we couldn't fault (I recommend the lobster and calamari).
The pool bar provided a lovely refuge from the heat of midday and the experience of wading through warm, shallow ocean with rays drifting serenely around our feet was one not easily forgotten, miles of souless white sandy beaches, we could not find fault with breezes.
THANKYOU FOR A MAGICAL END TO OUR HONEYMOON!!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank mewk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2006

We stayed in Breezes for 7 nights as part of our honeymoon. We spent 14 nights in Kenya prior to going to Zanzibar. Overall we were disappointed with Breezes, the reception staff and management staff were rude and not friendly however the staff who worked in the bars and restaurants were very friendly and courteous.
When we arrived no member of staff at reception acknowledged that we were on our honeymoon in fact they were just not bothered to make conversation at all. There was a note and a bottle of wine left in our room welcoming us for our honeymoon and little extras such as a complimentary lunch in breakers restaurant, sundowners, henna tatoo however these were left in our room while we were out on the beach and it just felt too impersonal, like as if it was just standard proceedure.
The spa was lovely, evening entertainment is very quite and stops very early, doesnt really cater for younger couples, dive center is very expensive, beach was lovely and food was excellent.
I just wish management would read some of these reviews and act upon them because the same comments are being repeated over and over again. Zanzibar needs tourism and Breezes cannot afford to be turning people away with their unfriendliness. Again I must stress the problems I felt with the staff were from the reception staff and the management staff only, everyone else were very polite and friendly.
Hopefully we will return some day.........

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Bridgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2006

I used to live in Uganda but never managed to visit Zanzibar so on a return trip my husband and I booked a 2 week stay at Breezes. We stopped off in Stone Town for the first night and god knows what the person who reviews about this as being ‘too Muslim for her liking’ is thinking about when she was visiting a predominantly Muslim city! Perhaps she would have been happier in Centre Parks? Stone Town is great fun; we stayed in The Tembo Hotel with a huge ornate room overlooking the sea. It was about £70 for the night for a room which resembled a suite with 2 balconies, a fabulous mosaic tiled bathroom and really courteous staff. We ate seafood at Blues Restaurant jutting into the harbour on stilts and watched the sunset. Had a great guided tour of the city with a local guide we met outside the front of the hotel. Then down to Breezes which we booked purely as a relaxing destination not wanting to sightsee or expecting to see much Tanzanian culture as we knew in advance that Breezes was a beach resort. It was stunning. Pink flower petals scattered across the immaculate stone floors, brightly coloured silk day beds, fantastic staff and really friendly locals who looked after the beautiful gardens. Our room was a small bungalow affair, big bedroom, sitting area, small terrace area outside and a lovely bathroom. It was all carefully furnished and very welcoming and pretty with fans which really cooled the room when you needed it. The beds were made up every day with ornate folding and origami styled towels, swans, flowers, you name it they folded it! The food at Breezes was excellent and the service was also very good. The odd nights of entertainment were good fun. The lads who ran the dive centre were brilliant, my husband passed his PADI diving course whilst there and had a lot of fun doing it. We met lots of other people and really enjoyed ourselves and ate lots of fresh lobster – we booked all inclusive so didn’t have to worry about extra costs. The general atmosphere of the whole place was very welcoming and everyone I met there (and it was almost fully booked) was having a great time. It is a hot spot for honeymooners but you never feel crowded as the bungalow rooms are well spaced out with lots of winding paths through lovely flowering gardens. The main reception and chill out rooms were great, all local dark woods and woven bamboo, grass roofs, totally authentic and no plastic in sight. If you want to chill out, relax in the sun, enjoy empty beautiful white beaches, a lovely pool, good diving and be well looked after – I highly recommend Breezes. If you want to visit Tanzania for its wonderful culture, warm, hospitable people and wild animals, go to Morogoro, Tabora, Dodoma, Dar es Salaam….. and don’t book a beach resort, it’s not what they cater for obviously.

  • Stayed: December 2002, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Leza H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2006

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Wickford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2006

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank CCAM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwejuu
20.2 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,599 reviews
24.9 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 170 in Zanzibar Island
501 reviews
21.3 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.4 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
631 reviews
36.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
6.0 mi away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa (Relais & Chateaux)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar

Address: Bwejuu Beach, Bwejuu, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bwejuu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bwejuu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bwejuu
#3 Spa Hotel in Bwejuu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bwejuu
Price Range: $196 - $1,052 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanzibar's most romantic hotel, featuring the Frangipani Spa, highest attention to detail, and personalized service second to none. This family owned and managed resort has set high standards for Zanzibar, and continues to lead the others in the right direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breezes Beach Club And Spa, Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar Hotel Bwejuu
Breezes Beach Hotel Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Resort Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Club Zanzibar
Breezes Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar Zanzibar Island/Bwejuu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing