We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Spice Island Calming, Tranquil” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Bwejuu
Certificate of Excellence
Ardsley on Hudson, NY
Level Contributor
227 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Spice Island Calming, Tranquil”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Wonderful place right on the beach with a PADI Dive facility right there for you fellow scuba buffs. Accomodations great (albeit we had a problem with our toilet which was fixed promptly) good food, friendly staff good food. Tours to Stoene Town etc can be arranged directly with Hotle pickup and drop-off

Room Tip: All seem nice but obviously if you go all the way there from states you might as well go for the ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanONYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    730
    228
    54
    21
    11
See reviews for
249
571
36
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed here for one week following a 2 week safari. It was a most beautiful place. The rooms were very tastefully decorated, in fact I thought it was one of the nicest rooms I have ever been in. The bed was enormous and very comfortable. The gardens were beautiful and sitting on our terrace overlooking the sea was very relaxing. The food and service were excellent. We had a massage and I had a pedicure at the spa and it was a lovely place with excellent staff. There were always enough sunbeds by the beach and swimming pool. All in all it was a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We spent eight nights at Breezes in a Standard room at half board after a two-night stay in Stonetown. The resort is very nice, so we are not giving it a bad review, but overall it was not the best match for us
.
We liked the room – there is a very comfortable king bed, couch, coffee table, chair, and side table with beautiful fresh flowers. The room also has a mini bar, coffee/tea pot, and safe, and there is ample space for luggage and clothes. The staff brings a large bottle of water each day. The bathroom is small, but functional. There is a cute little covered patio outside with chairs and a rack to hang wet clothes. We stayed in #70 at the very end and there was a nice, secluded garden view. The Standard rooms are very far from the main areas and beach, so be ready for a walk. There is no TV or internet in the rooms. There is a TV room (not air con) and computer room (air con) near the lobby and wi-fi in the public areas, but it costs $10 per day for wi-fi (half price after 4:00 PM).

The breakfast buffet was huge with a wide range of options. There was tons of fresh fruit and the waffles were yummy. Dinner alternated each night between sit down with set menu and buffet. The food was ok; some things were really good and some were average. Most nights there was live entertainment. The staff goes to a lot of effort to create different themes and table décor. If you like formal dinners with a lot of bells and whistles, you will enjoy the atmosphere. (For us, the ideal dinner is casual snacks in our shorts and bare feet at the beach bar.) One night there was a cocktail party (for Good Friday) with live music and complimentary appetizers and bellinis – it was very nice. Another night, the hotel treated us to in-room sundowners (wine and hors d’oeuvres), which was a pleasant surprise.

The gym is small and has cardio equipment, weight machines, and free weights that are a bit outdated. There are towels and a water cooler. We didn’t try the tennis court, yoga, or spa. The pool was refreshing, but did not have a view of the beach and was usually crowded. My husband did some scuba dives at the PADI center and had a really good time. There is a very nice large, air con shop that sells a wide range of items.

The beach is one of the main reasons we came to Zanzibar and it was a disappointment. The sand is pure white and the water is warm. But the beach is very narrow and has a lot of seaweed to step around as you walk. When the tide is high, there is no beach at all. But at low tide, there is more beach area, and you can rent shoes and walk out on the reef (beach boys will approach and try to sell things.) The hotel does have a nice area on the sandy bluff overlooking the beach with lounge chairs and umbrellas.

Breezes is a nice resort and there were some things that we liked, but overall, it was not the best choice for us. Things we liked: the room (especially the bed), staff (everyone is very friendly and helpful), PADI dive center, and surprise extras like the cocktail party and in-room sundowners. Things we didn’t like: crowded pool, no TV and internet in the room, extra charge for wi-fi in public areas, dinner dress code for men that requires pants (the restaurant is outside and there are no ceiling fans - it is very hot), and the beach.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LoriBarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Awesome hotel with quality service. Friendly staff all over who were ready to help us out . We got upgraded from the standard rooms to deluxe. Definitely coming back to breezes beach club. The major problem we faced was the mosquitoes around the hotels. One cant just lounge outside at night.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mwari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My Husband and I went to Breezes after a 8 day safari and it was the perfect location to relax. The rooms were great (we were in a Standard room-very spacious although located further away from the beach). I enjoyed the spa (3 times!) and my husband went diving at the dive center located on the property (very convenient). The food was good-although the breakfast was the same every day and after the 7th day we would have appreciated some variety. They rotate between buffet dinner and plated dinners so that was a nice change of pace. They had a pretty good wine list and alcohol was reasonably priced. I am a vegetarian and I had plenty of options every night. The pool was great and they had a variety of activities at the Beach Club (kite surfing, hobbie cat, etc.).
The staff was wonderful and always helpful when we had questions/requests.
FYI: The resort is located about an hour away from the airport/ferry dock. The Rock Restaurant is located close to the resort-HIGHLY recommend going for lunch or dinner--it was the best meal we had in Tanzania!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickiamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed at the Breezes for 4 days at the end of our holiday in Tanzania. After having climb mount Kilimanjaro and spent 2 days on a safari, the Breezes hotel was just want we needed to relax and enjoy the sun by the beach.

The hotel is an hour drive from Stone town so if you are looking for somewhere central, with loads of things around the hotel this is not for you. However, if you are looking for a quiet and relaxed place then you will enjoy the Breezes. It has all you would expect from a resort, several bars, swimming pool, beach, gym, tennis court, spa, water sports centre, a couple of restaurants etc.

The rooms are great size and really clean.The spa had a good range of massages and other services, so did the water sports centre, we rented all kite surfing equipment from the centre as well as going in one of their organised snorkling outings.

The staff was super friendly and helpful, extremely well trained and accomodating, even for the large group of 19 people that we were. The food was great and you could even order lobster for a bit extra on top of the dinner buffet (well worthy!).

Definitely a place I would recommend and would go back to.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carlota B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The superlatives given in previous reviews are largely accurate so I will not repeat these and it is difficult to fault the facilities, quality of food and attention of the staff. Yes it can be hot and humid, no there is no TV nor internet access in the rooms (available in TV Room and computer room) - but this is East Africa and not downtown London or NYC, the tourist industry on Zanzibar is still in development, the airport is a good example of this.....
The resort is some 1hr from the airport and somewhat isolated and so not for everyone.
If looking for a complete chill after safari on the mainland or as a honeymoon destination, you cannot go far wrong. Personally, unless into water sport and/or scuba, a week is probably more than enough time here, but this is simply due to the location and certainly not the resort itself, which deserves all the plaudits received.

Room Tip: Higher number rooms are furthest away from the beach and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gmcc57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwejuu
25.0 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#1 of 170 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 stars 369 reviews
20.2 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,271 reviews
36.1 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#3 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.2 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#2 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 918 reviews
35.6 mi away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 584 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baraza Resort & Spa
Baraza Resort & Spa
#2 of 12 in Bwejuu
5.0 of 5 stars 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar

Property: Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar
Address: Bwejuu Beach, Bwejuu, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bwejuu
#3 Family Hotel in Bwejuu
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bwejuu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bwejuu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bwejuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanzibar's most romantic hotel, featuring the Frangipani Spa, highest attention to detail, and personalized service second to none. This family owned and managed resort has set high standards for Zanzibar, and continues to lead the others in the right direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breezes Beach Club And Spa, Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar Hotel Bwejuu
Breezes Beach Hotel Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Resort Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Club Zanzibar
Breezes Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar Zanzibar Island/Bwejuu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing