We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Absolutely PERFECT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Bwejuu
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Absolutely PERFECT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I can write a lengthy review about the wonders of this place but I'd rather just get straight to the point. This place could not have been more perfect for our trip. Gorgeous property, delicious food, outstanding service. We were treated to welcome champagne, a fruit platter, complimentary lunch, complimentary sun-downers and 15 minute massages. PERFECT! I have to take the time to recognize Ibrahim (receptionist) who was so wonderful to us from start to finish and to Earnest (our barman on numerous occasions) who had a delightful personality and was always so cheerful. If you have the chance to visit Breezes, do not pass on it! I do have to note that the bed was terrible hard to sleep on. On the first night, I actually moved to the day bed to sleep. The staff was kind enough to give me an extra blanket that I folded and laid on for the next 2 nights. For such a wonderful place, I would suggest investing in pillowtop mattress covers for your guests.

Room Tip: We stayed in 11 and WOW, perfect view and wonderful balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderlustjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    731
    228
    54
    21
    12
See reviews for
251
571
36
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

As return guests my husband and I could not have been more thrilled with our most recent stay at Breezes Beach Club and Spa.
From the moment you step out of the vehicle and see the billowing organza curtains lining the walkway as you enter a beautiful lobby area you just know that love and care has gone into every aspect of the hotel. Once you are seated they give you a lovely fresh juice cocktail and a cool towel to freshen up before being taken to your room.
The deluxe room was clean and tidy with fresh flowers on the bed along with a welcome note and ample written information to answer any questions you may have. The amenities are more than enough for a couple on a weeks holiday. The addition of a kettle with coffee and tea was a nice surprise although we rarely took advantage of it. We much preferred going to breakfast and the afternoon tea service by the beach with tasty treats.
The diving was excellent with some of the most beautiful coral and a myriad of fish and sea life to view. The dive operation is professional and knowledgeable. We are used to a more "do it yourself" way of diving so it was a lovely surprise to have everything waiting for you on the boat and to be assisted into your gear etc. such a nice touch!
The spa is heavenly, each time we left the spa we had another appointment card in our hands and a blissful smile. Unbelievably relaxing and the ladies are so professional and kind. They also offer Yoga which everyone said was fabulous.
There are not enough wonderful things we can say about Breezes, we had a fabulous time. A perfect way to recuperate after a 6 night safari!

The food was perfection. The restaurant decor and the uniforms the employees wear change nightly and have a theme. With great variety and extreme flexibility of menus you really cant go wrong here.
We highly recommend the beach lunch. The gardeners build a stunning palm leaf structure decorated with tropical flowers for you to sit under whilst the waiters bring you some of the freshest and tasty seafood you can imagine.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaPaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We spent one week there for our honeymoon and was it just terrific! Its a perfect place to unwind/relax after our safari. The rooms were large (with a powerful AC), pool area was great, restaurants/food was terrific! And above all, the staff was so friendly and always so helpful.

A couple of things that could have been better. There could have been free wifi. There was a charge for Wifi ($10/day or $5 for half/day after 4pm). We had the 2nd floor suites, which had a large balcony, but since our room was in the back, the balancy was very hot, and we barely used it. When we went in December, there was a lot of seaweed, so while the beach was beautiful, not great swimming conditions, apparently its like that a few months out of the year.

Room Tip: Get the rooms by the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_King058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We arrived at Breezes after 2 weeks of safari, it was a wonderful place to relax and recharge the batteries. The staff were wonderful from reception to cleaning staff. Lots of beautiful areas to rest and relax from under umbrellas on the beach, lounges by the pool and large day beds or chairs in the pavillions. All areas recieved the very welcome sea breeze.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonicad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We arrived at this gorgeous hotel complex after a fabulous safari. The hotel is family owned and we couldn't fault it. The venue is well maintained and we were lucky enough to have a fabulous suite. As honeymooners we also got a few freebies including a 'night under the stars' where housekeeping set up a bed and mozzie net outside on our terrace surrounded by candles. It was beautiful. The hotel has a lovely setting being right on the beach but there is also a pool is you don't like swimming in the sea. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. The only fault (but it's minor) are the staff a very quick to take your plate away after you finish eating. Sometimes you haven't finished chewing and your plate gets whipped away from you. They were just too effifcient. Other than that the staff couldn't do enough for you. We had a truely magical time.

Room Tip: A suite has it's own private terrace with sunbeds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KTucker2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is a Gorgeous place owned by the Raguz family, starting from the reception all the way through the staff are very friendly and seem keen to ensure you have the best time there. upon arrival we were greeted with fresh juice and cold towels which refreshed us since it was a very hot day.

In the room we found a complimentary bottle of champagne and a fruitplater. The rooms are large, decorated in ivory tones with huge beds, tea /coffee making facilities , hair dryer , lovely bathroom amenities and crisp towels.

The hotel was celebrating its 15th Anniversary the night we were there, all the guests were invited to a cocktail party followed by a gala dinner there after. Fifteen years ago, the Raguz family began transforming this remote corner of Bwejuu beach and today the resort is a sophisticated, magnificent tribute to Zanzibar's bygone era of luxury.

Extremely fresh & Fantastic food. They had also planned a surprise sundowner for us that day which was served in our room , it included bite size assorted bitings with a glass of wine.

They have a lovely pool where we spent most of our time, lunch served at the pool bar is extremely fresh and tasty as well, the portions are big enough for 2 people to share. Ashley & Alex of the Rising Sun Dive Centre were letting guests try FREE scuba diving in the pool so we enjoyed that as well.

the property also has an outstanding spa called the frangipani with therapists from Thailand & Bali .

The hotel has come a long way since it opened when it used to take 3 hours to get there from stonetown that means a round trip to the hotel in 1990s would be 6 hours drive....since then they have accomplished opening 2 more properties the Palms which is next door to Breezes and the Baraza which is next to the Palms, all 3 properties together are called the ZANZIBAR COLLECTION. Congratulations for the accomplishment & we wish you many many more anniversaries.

If you wish to be pampered in a fantastic setting & a beautiful beach than go to Breezes, you will be happy you did

We would like to thank the entire team of Breezes for making our stay a memorable one. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GABTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed at Breezes for four nights after a safari. It is a superb hotel where the staff do everything to make you comfortable. It is right next to the beach with views across the lagoon. It has a great swimming pool in the centre of the hotel. The rooms are large with huge double beds and good bathrooms. Our only complaint was that we found some mosquitos lingering in our bathroom and cloakroom. We would suggest that you spray these areas every evening. The food is excellent with superb barbecues and buffets. The hotel has a watersports centre with very friendly staff, and we went on snorkelling and catermeran trips. We would love to go back to this hotel again anoter year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Englishguy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwejuu
25.0 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#1 of 170 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 stars 369 reviews
20.2 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,274 reviews
36.1 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#3 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.2 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#2 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 921 reviews
35.6 mi away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 584 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baraza Resort & Spa
Baraza Resort & Spa
#2 of 12 in Bwejuu
5.0 of 5 stars 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar

Property: Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar
Address: Bwejuu Beach, Bwejuu, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bwejuu
#3 Spa Hotel in Bwejuu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bwejuu
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bwejuu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bwejuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanzibar's most romantic hotel, featuring the Frangipani Spa, highest attention to detail, and personalized service second to none. This family owned and managed resort has set high standards for Zanzibar, and continues to lead the others in the right direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breezes Beach Club And Spa, Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar Hotel Bwejuu
Breezes Beach Hotel Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Resort Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Club Zanzibar
Breezes Zanzibar
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar Zanzibar Island/Bwejuu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing