We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food in Zanzibar”
Review of Pakacha Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pakacha Bungalows
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We didn't stay here but ate here almost every day. Ali was incredible, he got us hooked on the mancala-like game we would play before the food was ready. Food took about an hour to get ready, but thats on par with anywhere in Africa, and the wait was ALWAYS well worth it. there's a reason we came back every day! this is THE freshest seafood i.ve ever eaten. If we return to Bwejuu, we will definitely stay at Ali's!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Lonaldinhooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
There are newer reviews for Pakacha Bungalows
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 35 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2012

We discovered Pakacha Bungalows early in our stay in Zanzibar. Food, service, location are all excellent! Ali and his staff are great, and will do all they can to make your stay memorable.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rrayhbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Nice and clean rooms, friendly staff and great food. Few cottages situated in palm tree grove at the beach; quiet place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anonymous604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

This was a great little place to get away for a weekend and relax. Beautiful environment, great people, and great service. I'll definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

I'v been living in Zanzibar for the last two months and Bwejuu is my number one favorite beach village. Pakacha Bungalows is a wonderful little place with amazing food, very friendly staff, and of course, beautiful beaches. It's quite cheap and fun, they'll pull beds down to the beach for you to lay on all day and they'll make a bonfire at night for singing and dancing and drumming. It is the most relaxing place in the world.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

This is our favorite weekend getaway. We've returned to Pakacha time and again - and will continue to do so. It is a bit off the beaten path. Perfect for a quiet getaway. Complete with beachfront loungers, small restaurant (order in advance...like many places on the island, the team at Pakacha catches your meals daily and needs a 2 hour warning), and clean, well-kept bungalows. You will never forget your getaway at Pakacha Bungalows and will return again and again! We are always welcomed as family and you will be, too!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rlw1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwejuu
1.0 mi away
Evergreen Bungalows
Evergreen Bungalows
#6 of 10 in Bwejuu
86 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#8 of 13 in Jambiani
260 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Rose Beach Hotel
White Rose Beach Hotel
#10 of 10 in Bwejuu
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Indigo Beach Zanzibar
Indigo Beach Zanzibar
#2 of 14 in Bwejuu
185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sahari Zanzibar
Sahari Zanzibar
#1 of 14 in Bwejuu
253 reviews
0.6 mi away
Makuti Beach Hotel
Makuti Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bwejuu
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pakacha Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pakacha Bungalows

Address: P.O. Box 1609 | South East Coast Zanzibar, Bwejuu, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Bwejuu
Price Range: $38 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pakacha Bungalows is a small locally owned hotel situated in Bwejuu on the south east coast of Zanzibar. Stay at Pakacha Bungalows and enjoy the great atmosphere here. In a tranquil setting of Bwejuu fishing village located about ten minutes' drive from the busy Paje lies the locally owned Pakacha Bungalows. Ali Chamnda, the owner, general manager, head chef and gardener of the little hotel is an extremely sweet and passionate person, who enjoys nothing more than meeting new people and showing them his wonderful Zanzibar. The five bungalows with its nine rooms are spaced out over the property surrounded by scattered palm trees and local fauna straight on the beach. Pakacha's nine rooms, spread over five bungalows, are built in Swahili-style with traditional 'makuti' thatched roofs. Single-, double-, or triple rooms are available, as well as two self-contained bungalows each with its own kitchen. All our rooms are close to the sea and you will enjoy the nice cool breeze from the ocean every day. Each room is equipped with an en-suite bathroom, fan, and a mosquito net. Its local-styled restaurant is renowned for its quality in food and is often visited by expat managers of five star resorts from all around the island. A great relaxing vibe with very friendly people make this place a safe haven from the rest of the world. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pakacha Bungalows Zanzibar Island/Bwejuu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing