We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, relaxing place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sun and Seaview Bungalows
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Bwejuu
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful, relaxing place”
Reviewed November 16, 2011

We stayed at Sun & Sea View for 5 nights and this was just wonderful! The beach is really paradise and it is really relaxing! We stayed in the family house directly at the beach, with our 2 kids, and it was really nice and clean. They had some surfing boards and canoes which was fun to play with. The restaurant was cheap and the food good. The staff was very nice, friendly and helpful. The only negative thing is that it is quite a way to walk into Paje (especially w 2 small kids) and not many other alternatives close by to choose from regarding restaurants and other shops. It might be difficult to sleap because of the waves!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    16
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
38
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2011

If you're looking for a quiet relaxing spot on a wonderful beach then this is the place for you.

Rooms are good and clean, food is well priced and tastes good. We ate lunch and dinner there 3 days in a row and it cost 80 dollars (for 6 meals in all).

The beach is amazing and the snorkling up the beach beach is excellent fun.

The staff are all great and Susan is always happy to give you advice/help. The guys at the bar are also excellent.

All in all a great spot, great value and lovely hosts. Highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

This is a wonderful place. It has a very laid back feel whilst being clean and well appointed. It is very peaceful but it is just a half hour walk down the gorgeous beach if you do want to head into paje.

Susan is 'front of house' always with a smile on her face, always willing to help, whilst Federico was normally around but takes more of a back seat. They are both charming. They have only been running it a couple of years but it is turning into a gem.

Throughout our trip in Tanzania, we were often surprised at how expensive things were - prices in the tourism industry seem very high - so it was great to find a place that wasn't trying to overcharge you at every turn. Not only were the rooms good value, but it is right on the beach and with a lovely bar/restaurant that is good value, and they don't try to rip you off for things like water or anything. Pricing is fair.

The food is good, whilst not spectacular, but is good value like we said. You can wander up and down the beach in search of a change if you want, meaning you don't have to eat all of your meals in the same place if you don't want to.

It didn't surprise us that while many places on the island were virtually empty, given that it was low season, there were lots of people staying here at Sun & Seaview.

We had a week in Zanzibar, and wanted to see a few different bits of the island, so after three nights we went off to explore. We quickly realised how good we had had it at Sun & Sea View so came back & spent the rest of the week there!

We'd definitely recommend it and would love to go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rtw123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

found this place on the Buccaneer divers website (Buccaneer is the best diving group in Z'bar) and it turned out to be a great find. Rooms were extremely clean, staff very helpful and welcoming, and food was delicious and well-priced e.g. penne with lobster sauce was about $8. Breakfast was included in the price and included eggs and toast (they even made poached eggs just the way I like them) fruit, fresh juice (made to order) and nescafe, or else you can order a cappucino for a small price. when you order a fresh fruit juice they make it right then which means it's really fresh and good. We ordered our dinners ahead of time and they were ready just when we had asked for them.

The bathrooms have a sort of Zanzibari bathtub which has a ledge to sit on and a deep tub so you can rinse your dive gear easily or shave your legs. Good beds with mosquito nets, ceiling and floor fan, clean towels that smelled fresh, always a challenge in the tropics. and astonishingly enough, enough outlets that you can sit at your desk and use your computer, or use it while in bed, and there's an adapter.

You can walk down to the kite surfing or diving place about 30 minutes, although Susan the manager offered to drive us down there the first day when we had our heavy dive bags to carry.

the hotel will meet you at the ferry and bring you to the hotel for $40. You drive through the Jozani forest on the way- we saw a red colobus monkey by the side of the road! All in all, this has become my new favorite place to get away in Z'bar from Dar where we live.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wimbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stayed in Sun and Sea almost 2 weeks and it was the most wonderful weeks. The owners and staff were so friendly and helpful especially in dicovering Zanzibar. Bungalows are in beautiful garden just in front of the ocean. You can find there spectacular large and quiet beach, excellent resturant with fresh prepared food and most of all zanzibarian hospitality. If you are looking a place for relax and you are in need of recharging your batteries it's right choice!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IzaPoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We only stayed here 2 nights, but a longer stay would've been welcomed with open arms. The staff was incredibly friendly & helpful (especially Susan!), and the grounds were kept spotless. The menu offerings were extensive, and the drinks were delicious. The rooms were clean & comfortable, and the hot water available was such a gift after camping for 9 nights on the mainland. We had a great time snorkeling, riding rented bikes, taking walks, and more!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allenej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2011

We had 5 wonderful days here. It is not fancy but this place really has an excellent rustic charm and a very special atmosphere . Excellent food, nice clean rooms and bathrooms, fresch garden and you are 5 steps from the empty beach perfect for loooong walks. Everything is well taken care of by the wonderful, hardworking and very sweet staff. We would love to come back for a retreat in paradise. Thank you and good luck with business to Susan and Frederico

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carpediem1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bwejuu hotels
0.0 mi away
Evergreen Bungalows
Evergreen Bungalows
#6 of 10 in Bwejuu
86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anna of Zanzibar
Anna of Zanzibar
#4 of 10 in Bwejuu
209 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Palms
The Palms
#1 of 10 in Bwejuu
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar
0.0 mi away
Baraza Resort & Spa
Baraza Resort & Spa
#2 of 10 in Bwejuu
756 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sahari Zanzibar
Sahari Zanzibar
#1 of 14 in Bwejuu
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun and Seaview Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun and Seaview Bungalows

Property: Sun and Seaview Bungalows
Address: Paje-Bwejuu | P.O. Box 3881, Bwejuu, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Bwejuu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bwejuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun and sea view is a small bungalow of ten rooms all seaview with restaurant with italian & local foods,tongether with lots of activities like tennis, volley ball and kayaksfor free you will apreciate the helpful stall in a quite atmosphere. it is a place where many nations meet with one spirit enjoying holidays ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sun And Seaview Bungalows Hotel Bwejuu
Sun And Seaview Bungalows Zanzibar Island/Bwejuu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing