We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing- wish we stayed longer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Upepo Boutique Beach Bungalows
Ranked #7 of 13 Bwejuu B&B and Inns
Denver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing- wish we stayed longer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2011

This was a fantastic place to stay, secluded, romantic, authentic. There are only 2 rooms, both of which are right on a quiet, gorgeous white sand beach. The owner home cooks delicious meals three times a day. Since there are only 2 rooms, it is a very intimate atmosphere. We spent one night playing a Tanzanian game with the owner and his friends and another chatting with the 2 other guests and the owner. They offer fishing, cooking, ocean-life and other classes at the B&B that we didn't have enough time to take advantage of- wish we had the time for that! They sent a driver to pick up us from the ferry, which is highly recommended. We are now planning another beach vacation and can't find a beach bungalow that comes close to this one. The shower is cold water, but that didn't even matter because the rest of our experience was so wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LkyDucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    12
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
9
41
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2011

My wife and I did not expect to end up in paradise and we could not believe it is all real. Upepo Beach Hotel is paradise - period ! And we have seen lot of places in the world, so we have been really surprised by this lovely and charming place.
We stayed almost one month (12.12.2010-01.10.2011) there and we loved it from the first until the last day. Shareef and Fatma (Karen) are the most kindest hosts we ever met and we had a lot of fun together as well.
Food: We have tried some other restaurants at the beach, but found the food at Upepo Beach Hotel unbeatable. All the others have been classes away from this. My wife and me never have been big fish eaters, but now we have been converted by the art of cooking of Shareef. All these fresh Parrot-fishes with their blue bones, Red Snappers (my favorite), Tassis's and all these unknown species of the Indian Ocean let us drop all the meat, we are used from Europe. Everyday fishermen brought the frehest fishes we ever had in our life. Yes, Shareef made us to fish admires. Thank you for this great experience, Shareef !
If you are looking for a place to relax, to leave the stress of business and hectic life behind you - than you are at the right spot on Earth. If you look for discotheques, loud music and trouble go somewhere else - and stay away from this island with their kind and friendly people, where all kinds of religions live together in peace and with respect for each-other.
If you are looking for a luxury place with AC, swimming-pool and other fancy and useless accessories - this is not for you. Who needs AC, where a steady wind is always blowing from the sea - or swimming-pools where the ocean is 30 meters right in front of you? No mosquitos, no flies and no dangerous animals nowhere. This is paradise !
We shall come back to Upepo, no question about it !!!
C & H from Cologne/Germany

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lycs49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prestwick
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 18 nights from the end of Nov 2010 until mid December 2010 and loved it. Upepo is small with two bungalows one of which faces onto the beach only 10 steps away, the other looks into the garden. This is a very laid back and relaxing place to stay.
We stayed in the beach facing bungalow and were impressed from the moment we arrived; the bungalow is gorgeous, well maintained and with the mosquito net hanging from the ceiling it gives the impression of a four poster bed. We only had to ask and the bungalow was cleaned for us.
The food was amazing, fresh menu with range of choice you do not always find on Zanzibar (this is our fourth trip to the island). Nothing was too much trouble and we were given space to relax and chill which is what we look for. The owners Karen and Shareef arrived back during our second week and they are a lovely couple but we have to say we were also well looked after by Hassan prior to and after their arrival.
At times there may not have been anyone in the bar area but all you need to do is call out and someone appeared to get your drinks or snacks.
The beach is beautiful and yes when the tide is out through the day its hard work lying in the sun but that didn't spoil our stay and it just meant maybe nipping into the shower in our bungalow for a rinse and cool down. We did eat at one other place along the beach but it was nowhere near as good as Upepo so we ate there for the other 17 nights and were never disappointed. We sampled the fresh fish, pasta, salads and fresh lobster and it was all delicious. Remember where you are and that food is generally cooked to order which can take a while so relax, have a few drinks and enjoy the environment while your meals are prepared.
If you walk up and down the beach there are other bungalows which we did not think looked as nice as our accommodation or beach front. I can't rave about this place enough as it was a fantastic holiday. If unlike us you wish to do things and keep active that's not a problem either as there are lots to do on Zanzibar but if you like peace and quiet that's also available in spades.
Having been to Zanzibar a few times and never been disappointed it's important that people have an idea of what they are going to. If you like all inclusive luxury, air conditioning and that type of environment then stay somewhere like Breezes or such like. If you like something more personal without the faceless masses then Upepo is for you.
A big thank you to Shareef, Karen and Hassan who made our stay so fabby and to everyone else GO!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annod_725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slovenia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2010

Although that Upepo is probably not the worst decision in Bwejuu, I can not share the opinion of the previous reviewers.

First of all getting to the Upepo was an adventure since there is no sign for the place. Even local people who have been asked by our taxi driver had no idea where Upepo is. I am still not sure whether we were just lucky that we have met the owner of Upepo in the middle of the village or he was actually looking for us, so he then led us to the place. If you will go to Upepo look for the White Beach Hotel sigh at the main road.

In particular, I want to express my disappointment over the quality of services in Upepo (with the exception of the cook, who is excellent). Bungalow (the bigger one) in which my family spend the second half of holidays in Zanzibar is basic, but spacious and clean as mentioned in the previous posts. Mosquito nets are provided. We received only three pillows though our family has four members. Upon request we get one extra, but they took it away when they got guests in the other remaining bungalow.

Bathroom is large, but without proper light (one dim red light), only cold water is provided, which was not such a big problem after all. Upepo problem is quality of service. The first impression was indeed very positive, smiling faces, everything we asked (it was not much) seemed feasible without any problem.
But output and realization of agreed was another matter. My biggest displeasure goes to the fact that my son celebrated his fifth birthday at Upepo and the first question that I asked at the check-in has been, if they can provide a small chocolate cake on which we can put the candles and wish him a happy birthday. Everything was no problem to them, but in the end it turned out that this was a big problem. We finally got the cake, which was not the cake at all, after few urging. It would be easier and more pleasant for all it they would simply say at the beginning that it could not be done and we would find another solution.
Regarding to food, which was great, the main problem was that we had to wait at least one hour and a half for our meal and the prices (food and drinks) are 20% higher than in all the surrounding restaurants. Breakfast is very basic and the same every single day (even the fruit) and the normal milk was not provided till the third morning of our stay even that we asked for it the first morning. Only plain omelette is possible (we could not get a boiled or fried egg).

Bungalow was cleaned without asking only the first day, and not been touched till the third day, when we asked them if they can clean it. I guess that happened because we were unpleasantly surprised by the price of TZS 20.000 for four pancakes. Although the price was later reduced by half we could not get rid of the feeling of over-charged food especially for the food that was not on the daily menu and the price has not been written.

Overall, for the price of the room, we certainly expected more - and I felt like it is definitely overpriced for what you get. In a month travelling around Kenya and Tanzania, Upepu was definitely the worst choice of accommodation and we regret that we were not somewhere else, where we could definitely better conclude our African journey.

I would also like to mentioned that the general problem in Bwejuu is low tide every day for at least four hours so, if you are after beach holidays, that isn't the place or find the accommodation with swimming pool.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SloveniaVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debs1923, Owner at Upepo Boutique Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, December 13, 2010
We always appreciate comments from our guests, and it is obvious that this guest has had a less than spectacular experience which we take to heart. We are more than happy to address our shortcomings and give our thoughts on how things can be improved. We have yet to have any complaints of Upepo being difficult to find as there are two (bright yellow) signs on the main roads as well as the front and back of the hotel. We always offer transportation to our guests from Stonetown with a reliable driver as some unscrupulous taxi drivers will pretend a hotel does not exist in order to bring them somewhere else where they will receive a commission. Perhaps this was the case in this instance. We do apologize for not having an extra pillow on hand and have remedied this situation. As a small hotel we had one pillow for each bed so when two children were placed in one bed we came up lacking. A birthday is a very special occasion and we are very sorry the special day was less than wonderful because we could not a produce a proper birthday cake. We have hosted weddings here with much success as well as Christmas and New Year parties and birthdays. We do want to stress that Bwejuu is a very small fishing village and there are two ovens available in the community to bake a cake (generally used to make bread for the villagers). We had hoped that we could produce a cake locally with the village oven but in the end (we are after all in Africa) sometimes things do not go exactly as planned and we did out best to produce something for the special occasion although we understand it was not enough. Perhaps better communication about the POSSIBILITY of the cake would have been more appropriate and we apologize. I think perhaps much of the disappointment of this guest was the expectation of a class of service provided by a more expensive hotel in a less remote area. We pride ourselves on fresh, local, home cooked, made to order meals and waiting an hour for a meal to be prepared is de rigeur for any restaurant here that prepares it's meals from scratch. Precooking food is not a good practice in a hot country so we believe we do not even cut into potato until you order your chips ! I understand that this can be frustrating with children so we advise our guests to order in advance and let us know what time they would like to eat. This would have been a good solution in this instance. We generally provide condensed milk with breakfast to our guests as "normal milk" tends to go bad very quickly in the heat. It is also not a mainstay of the local diet here so is not readily stocked in the store - we can only apologize for the 3 days it took to access it. We have only had compliments on our chocolate pancakes but we do apologize that perhaps it was not mentioned that one order of pancakes feeds two people. At 5000 tzs a plate ($3 US) we don't feel that this is a particularly expensive dessert for two people. We respect our guests' privacy and do everything to keep them comfortable and clean in their bungalows. As a small hotel we do not have a daily housecleaning service but our guests can ask us to clean their rooms as often as they feel comfortable (or we will generally do it every three days). We must maintain that we have very competitive prices for our rooms and for our food in terms of the quality of the experience you get here. There are many restaurants to choose from on the beach, all within walking distance and so every guest is free to make his or her choice about where they eat and how much they pay. I am glad this guest enjoyed our food but unfortunately did not enjoy the price nor the time it took for it to be prepared. We can only say that for the quality of food and the ingredients used to prepare it we feel it is fair and we have a high volume of restaurant traffic from guests of other hotels so we feel confident that we are doing something right in this regard. I do think that this guest would have been happier (as he suggested) with accommodation that included a swimming pool, and various other services that more befit a higher priced, larger hotel complex and not a small boutique bungalow accommodation such as ours. We do hope that we can make whatever improvements we can so that future guests will have a positive, relaxing and enjoyable vacation. Thank you for your comments and we are sorry your stay did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2010

Just returned from my 5th trip to Zanzibar. This time around I stayed at the
Upepo Boutique Beach Bungalows in Bwejuu - right at the beach on the south-east coast of Zanzibar. Their Zanzibar style bungalows are spacious and have big, very comfortable beds with mosquito nets, bathrooms with shower and toilet, separate room with wash basin. Accommodation is prized amazingly low, great value for money. One pays double that prize 5 km south in Paje for similar accommodation. The owners, Shareef and Fatima, are lovely hosts. Shareef is one of the best cooks that I encountered in Zanzibar so far - I ate at their beach restaurant every day of my 10 day stay: all kinds of fish, octopus, prawns - straight from the sea. The beach goes on for kilometers, white, powdery sand, lined with coconut trees - paradise! I relaxed on a deck chair right at the beach, or on one of the typical Zanzibari sun beds or on a hammock. Swimming is amazing and safe (Zanzibar is surrounded by a coral reef) - I just lied on my back, being gently rocked by the sea. I'll stay there again, definitely!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bwejuu hotels
0.3 mi away
Evergreen Bungalows
Evergreen Bungalows
#6 of 10 in Bwejuu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
1.6 mi away
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar
1.1 mi away
Indigo Beach Zanzibar
Indigo Beach Zanzibar
#2 of 13 in Bwejuu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sahari Zanzibar
Sahari Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Bwejuu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Palms
The Palms
#1 of 10 in Bwejuu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.3 mi away
Twisted Palms Lodge & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Upepo Boutique Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upepo Boutique Beach Bungalows

Property: Upepo Boutique Beach Bungalows
Address: Bwejuu Village beach, Bwejuu, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Bwejuu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Bwejuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upepo Boutique Beach Bungalows offers the convenience of a hotel with private bungalows on the beach and a great breakfast included in the price. Set on a long white sand beach on the East Coast of Zanzibar, we offer a quiet safe environment to relax. Enjoy opportunities for snorkeling, diving, kite-surfing, or rent a bike and explore on your own. Our restaurant uses fresh local ingredients and serves Zanzibar dishes as well as International favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Jovago.com and Booking.com so you can book your Upepo Boutique Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Upepo Boutique Beach Bungalows Zanzibar Island/Bwejuu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing