We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A luxurious home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anna of Zanzibar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Anna of Zanzibar
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Bwejuu
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A luxurious home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

My family and I spent an amazing week here in Feb. With 2 small children (aged 3yrs and 9 months) I wanted something luxurious but also family friendly. Anna's was the perfect balance. Owner Michael and his manager Niccy were amazing hosts and made sure that our week with them was perfect. Our baby son was treated to a whole range of brand new baby equipment and the chefs made puréed food for him. We were also treated to a babysitter. The food was outstanding and the waiters and chefs went to great lengths. Our daughter loved the octopus and so she was treated to a plate at every meal! She was also brought little dishes of local food to try in addition to the food we had ordered. With just 5 bungalows, Anna's is small but perfectly formed. We came across other families, honeymooners and safari travellers - it suits all types of holiday. It was lovely to have private meals on our veranda but wonderful to eat with the other guests at the main lodge. We will be back soon!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rcocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    10
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
134
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

Zanzibar offers plenty of large resorts, but if wearing a plastic wristband is not your thing - Anna of Zanzibar is the answer! We travelled to Anna with our young family (kids aged 5 and 7) and although at the time there were no other kids there, Anna offered us a wonderful family friendly holiday that provided relaxation for my husband and I, and plenty to do for the kids. The food was absolutely amazing and nothing was too much trouble for the kitchen to prepare for us (smoothies for breakfast, sushi for dinner - you name it!) The staff were really so courteous and helpful, and the rooms were extremely comfortable. The family still talks about our time at Anna and we hope we can go back - we had a wonderful time!

Room Tip: a couple of the bungalows can accommodate families
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lucy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

A friend and I stayed here after a trip on the mainland which included a hike up Mount Kilimanjaro. This was the perfect place to rest, unwind and relax. We truly felt like royalty from the moment we arrived. I can't comment on whether there are better places on the island but Anna's was perfect for us. The staff were amazing, always helpful and did everything for you with a smile.

The beach was raked and maintained every day (be pre-warned the water here isn't overly great for swimming, although I don't think there are many places on the island that are). Instead of swimming we were tempted to go out at low tide and explore the water, however we couldn't get out of our beach chairs because we were so relaxed!

The food was superb. Three a la carte meals are served each day (no buffet here) and there was always a great selection whether you wanted vegetarian, meat or fish. (My favourites were a minced meat curry and a calamari dish with eggplant. Or maybe it was the barracuda... or maybe the tuna...?) Meals could be served wherever you wished, whether at the beach, by the pool, in the main lodge or even on your room's patio.

My thanks to everyone at Anna's for making our stay so wonderful. I would highly recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a quiet, peaceful spot to spend a few days.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2011

There are more luxurious hotels on the island, and certainly more expensive ones; what Anna's does is combine comfort, seclusion and high standards with great value for money. The management and owners are German, so the place runs with 'precision engineering' when compared with some of its competition. TIA (This is Africa) is never an excuse. We have stayed in many of the hotels on the island and this is always our default option.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pwaniazizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

My husband and I arrived at the Anna after a very adventurous and exhausting first week of our honeymoon (on our safari our jeep broke down, our tent flew away in a storm, our flight to Zanzibar was cancelled out of the blue,...), and we immediately entered heaven...
Everything you wanted was possible: meals were tailor-made and served on the spot where you wanted by the very friendly and well-educated staff, excursions were planned within half an hour, your bed was made sleep-ready during diner,...
We never had the feeling that we stayed in a hotel, we had the feeling that we stayed with friends, but with the comfort, style and luxury of a 5 star plus hotel.
We would like to thank the general manager, Niccy, she is like an angel in her little paradise called Anna!
Whenever we get the chance, we will return!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelLotje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

We are a family of 4 with 2 kids (aged 2 and 7) in October and had a great vacation. Anna of Zanzibar is entriely unlike the big resorts you could otherwise stay at. It has 5 roomy bungalows, an amazing location right on the beach, the best food (and seafood) and super friendly and always atentive staff. Michael and Niccy looked after us so well and catered to our every need including the kids. The food was excellent and Michael organised a sitter every night so we could enjoy adult only dinners - that is truly being on vacation! The garden, pool and beach environment is picture perfect and the bungalows which was converted into a 2 bedroom set up fitted us perfectly. It was pricey for us but worth every penny.

Room Tip: All bungalows are nice but some are more on the beach than others
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amw48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

We recently spent 5 days at Anna of Zanzibar. Our goal was to get over jetlag and relax in a beautiful beach environment after our long trip from California before setting off to game reserves on the mainland. And what a perfect spot Anna turned out to be! With only 5 villas, we never felt crowded and we were able to build relationships with the excellent staff and the two resort doggies, Mr. Bean and puppy Lilly. The manager, Niccy, was extremely helpful with anything we needed. As you can read from other posts, the food was great and the villas were large and comfortable. A big thumbs up in every way!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwejuu
19.8 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
24.7 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 171 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
35.7 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#3 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.1 mi away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Palms
The Palms
#1 of 12 in Bwejuu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baraza Resort & Spa
Baraza Resort & Spa
#2 of 12 in Bwejuu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anna of Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anna of Zanzibar

Property: Anna of Zanzibar
Address: South East Coast, Bwejuu 3185, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bwejuu
#4 Family Hotel in Bwejuu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bwejuu
#5 Spa Hotel in Bwejuu
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bwejuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anna of Zanzibar 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private and exclusive boutique hotel with 5 superb villas only. Situated on the east coast of Zanzibar with a beautiful beach. Swimming pool, spa, bar, restaurant with superb seafood. Activities include diving, fishing, boat trips and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Anna of Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anna Of Zanzibar Hotel Bwejuu
Anna Of Zanzibar Zanzibar Island/Bwejuu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing