We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“awesome hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mustapha's Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mustapha's Place
Ranked #4 of 13 Bwejuu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“awesome hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

We loved Mustapha's Place. To be sure, Bwejuu is not the place to go if you're looking for nightlife or want to meet lots of other foreigners, it's just a small village of local people with a few other hotels. It's not too far from Paje, which has more going on, but Bwejuu itself is a calm place for just relaxing at the beach. Maybe a bit pricey ($40 for the tree room), but it was the perfect beach hotel.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    30
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
12
35
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surin, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

Mustapha's place kicked out 5 girls at 9:00 at night because we changed our reservation that night (instead of changing it the next morning). We were there during the holiday week and no one else was there. it was boring with bad over priced food far away from any town and other backpackers and bars. I strongly encourage you not to stay here. Also (through no fault of mustapha's) the beach is bad and covered with seaweed during low tide.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sonya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

I stayed at Mustapha's place at the back end of a two month trip through Tanzania and Zambia. It was a good thing too as if I went there first, I might not have left. The place is beautifully relaxing, the staff are friendly and welcoming, the beach is a minute away and the prices are much better than I was expecting. I stayed in the tree house for fun and I'm glad I did. It was something a little different to experience. On the Saturday night there was some native drumming and dancing which was exciting to watching and fun to get involved in. If I head back to Zanzibar, I will definitely be stopping at Mustapha's place.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wien
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Great location with great service and great spirit for great price, after a short sightseeing of Zanzibar we arrived at Mustapha's with the idea of staying there just for 3 nights, but 3 magically became 10.
Rooms are made in local style, basically the whole complex looks like small idyllic village, with very nice service, really, best regards for the crew, great food and location is just perfect, ocean is 2 minutes away so you can fall a sleep with the sound of waves.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanja T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed at Mustapha's for 5 days. One of the best places on our 5 week trip through Africa. BEST breakfasts, each one served by the sweetest girl, Vanessa (if memory serves me right), especially with the fresh fruit and juice preceding the actual hot plate. SO amazingly relaxing! A minute walk from the beach, great rooms (we stayed in the round house), great guests, hammocks and lounges for some serious r & r. Bwejuu in general is a tiny beach village and is fantastic for off the beaten path stays. The shared bathrooms and showers are very clean, mosquito netting, clean, large beds, and the food and drink options are great. The music that plays throughout the day is fantastic and helps to add to the feel of the place. Experienced some great dancing, a birthday feast, and friendly travelers while there. Ann(e?) who is currently managing the place is very friendly and easy-going. Definitely recommend this place!

Room Tip: We had the round house and there were 4 of us. Two had their own large, full sized beds and I shared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dialafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

Whenever we visit Zanzibar, beautiful, magic island that it is, we head for the unspoilt east coast and Mustapha's Place in lovely Bwejuu. Avoiding the excesses of the evening ocean breeze, but still very close to the beach, private and cosy, with such welcoming staff, Mustapha's Place is a must stay for people looking a REAL experience of Zanzibar, rather than the more up-scale and detached variety which can be found, but are also a dime a dozen all over the world. Mustapha's personifies Zanzibar - super chill, rasta flavoured, welcoming, inexpensive, original, dream-like.... when I think of Mustapha's Place I think frangipani, hibiscus, soft white sand, azure blue sea, ambience to the max, friendly as can be. No one who knows Mustaphas wants it to change. Do I sound like a travel brochure writer...well, its hard not to when it comes to this very special Place!

Room Tip: Each room is very individual. We always stay in the hut pretty much in the middle (can't remembe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah007007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crete, Nebraska, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

I spent 2 and a half weeks on the East coast of Zanzibar and even though we only stayed at Mustaphas Place for a few days, we always found ourselves walking down the beach to visit. We originally arrived with a group of about 15 students on a tour of Africa and after the group left 3 of us stayed in Zanzibar for an extra 2 weeks. We quickly became friends with the staff and not only did they take care of us, they took us to the local night clubs, showed us around the island, and showed us the best time of our whole trip. The atmosphere at Mustaphas is totally chill and I loved hanging out on the hammocks and the swings. I loved it here and I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshleeRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwejuu
3.3 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#8 of 13 in Jambiani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
1.6 mi away
Evergreen Bungalows
Evergreen Bungalows
#8 of 12 in Bwejuu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
6.9 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#3 of 13 in Jambiani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sahari Zanzibar
Sahari Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Bwejuu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar
0.9 mi away
Indigo Beach Zanzibar
Indigo Beach Zanzibar
#2 of 13 in Bwejuu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mustapha's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mustapha's Place

Property: Mustapha's Place
Address: Paje | On Bwejuu Beach, Bwejuu, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Bwejuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If your idea of nirvana is to unwind totally in a friendly, unique and unpretentious guesthouse set in stunning gardens, minutes from one of the most gorgeous beaches anywhere, you’ve come to the right place...Our rooms, restaurant and bar are funky and original, and there’s always a good mix of travellers and locals. If you want to meet new people, exchange ideas and experience the real Zanzibar, Mustapha’s is the place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Mustapha's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mustapha's Place Zanzibar Island/Bwejuu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing