We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“All in all recommendable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bellevue Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bellevue Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 13 Bwejuu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“All in all recommendable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We have had a very good time and stay in this guesthouse in March 2013. The staff is wonderful, very friendly and helpful. The place itself is beautiful, clean and serene. The food is quite good, although not very special and very much overpriced. The special rooms (e.g., jungle) are really very special and totally worth the extra price. I found the regular rooms quite dark and especially the bathroom a bit run down, which gives you the feeling it is not clean. If you want to have an unforgetable stay, book one of the special rooms!
All in all, the service, the surroundings and beautiness of the place will make you forgot its weaker points. I would recommend this place (and advice you to have dinner/lunch at one of the neighboring guesthouses/restaurants).

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank T_Koomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    41
    13
    2
    3
See reviews for
17
100
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norrkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is a perfect guesthouse, no matter what you're looking for this place will meet your needs. The staff here is incredible helpful and they really make you feel welcome (thanks for a great stay Jan and others). The rooms are big and clean, and the beach is perfect (except maybe for the tide, but It didn't bother me that much actually, and it also depends on when your'e visiting). I definitely recommend this place to everyone that just wants to "get away". If you're looking for a "partyplace" this maybe isn't for you, although it isn't that far away from Paje were you surely will find some good parties. Again, I definitely recommend this place and I'm sure I'll visit this place again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrik_Martinsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den haag
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Very nice management , friendly staff, excellent food! The rooms are very comfortabel and the lounge/restaurant is very cosy and inviting. Of the five places we visited on zanzibar this guesthouse was one of the best.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Babs v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We have stayed at Bellevue for 12 days during the last week of December and the first week of 2013! If you are looking for a quiet place to stay, next to the beach, with friendly staff and comfortable rooms, THIS IS IT!
Trips can be arranged anywhere you like to go. We enjoyed kite-surfing, diving, scooter trips, and a SUP-tour in the mangroves! The food is great and the menu changes every day!
We can recommend Bellevue to anyone! Asante!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeonHofman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dordrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We've been here for a week after 8 days safari in Kenya. It's a nice, charming guest-house with very nice rooms. We had a standard room in tropical style, with a nice place outside to sit with an amazing view on the sea. The restaurant serve very good meals, every day the menu changed. We rent a scooter for 3 days to day, walked along the beach and even there was time for kite-surfing. The local staff was always kind and smiling. We want to come back ! Rien & Jose Idema

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JIB_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights during NYE. Very relaxed, small size guesthouse with just a few rooms.
Stayed in a standard room which has a spacious bathroom, rooms are sprayed nightly and have 2 fans, so had no issues wiht the heat or mosquitos.
Enjoyed both lunch & dinner in the restuarant a few times, all freshly prepared, enough to choose from and very tasty! There are also a few bars/restaurants directly left and right on the beach if you want some change.

The local staff takes great care of all your needs/wants and does so with a smile.

The management offers a variety of tours, of which we did quite a few. All were delivered on time and as agreed, and were reasonably priced. Can highly recommend renting a scooter to go around the southern end of the island. Stand Up Paddling (SUP) in the Mangroves is fun as well.

The properry is away from the big resorts so you get to see a lot deserted beached :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick_Zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

We just came back from the Kilimanjaro and went straight from Moshi to Bellevue Guesthouse in Zanzibar. It is a charming guesthouse with cozy bungalows. The rooms are well furnished and clean! The restaurant serve good meals with a daily variation of the menu.

It is a really nice place to relax, but the guesthouse also offer a lot of trips and the staff is willing to help you with all your questions. The European staff is excellent. They really know the places to go to and they help you with even the smallest things. They even managed to send my lost watch back to the Netherlands! I would definitely recommend bellevue guesthouse!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irtj79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwejuu
0.0 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#10 of 12 in Jambiani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#2 of 12 in Jambiani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.0 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chwaka Bay Resort
Chwaka Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Chwaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.0 mi away
Evergreen Bungalows
Evergreen Bungalows
#8 of 12 in Bwejuu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sahari Zanzibar
Sahari Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Bwejuu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellevue Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue Guesthouse

Property: Bellevue Guesthouse
Address: Bwejuu Street | Stone Town, Bwejuu, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Bwejuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bellevue Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy the hospitality in our cosy Guesthouse, north of Bwejuu, on the southeast coast of Zanzibar! The area of our guesthouse is a great place to relax and just 50 meters away from the beach. Wake up every morning with the beautiful sunrise and a fresh fruit juice. Discover the delicate food from our restaurant. With local fresh sea food and other fresh ingredients we serve local and international orientated dishes on a daily changing menu!Enjoy our green garden, where you read your book in the lounge area, hammocks or on your own private terrace. Take a nice relaxing walk on the stretched white beaches, and enjoy the spectacular colors and tide changes of the ocean.After you done relaxing go for a kitecourse on the amazing beach and waters of Paje. If this is too hectic let our professional tour guide mr. Mussa reveals Zanzibar's secrets in a Spice Tour, Stone Town City tour or a Dolphin Tour. Go on a Safari Blue, Sea Safari or let our partners take you on their professional organised dive and snorkel trips.We support the local NGO, by organising the Sea Safari where this income directly benefits the local projects organised by the NGO.Bellevue is a small personal Guesthouse, we hope to give you a homy feeling...There is always staff around or one of our management to assist you with any question you may have!Karibu Sana!Melanie & the Bellevue staff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Jovago.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Bellevue Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellevue Hotel Bwejuu
Bellevue Guesthouse Zanzibar Island/Bwejuu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing