We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lovely Guesthouse Bellevue !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bellevue Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bellevue Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 13 Bwejuu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dordrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
“Lovely Guesthouse Bellevue !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We've been here for a week after 8 days safari in Kenya. It's a nice, charming guest-house with very nice rooms. We had a standard room in tropical style, with a nice place outside to sit with an amazing view on the sea. The restaurant serve very good meals, every day the menu changed. We rent a scooter for 3 days to day, walked along the beach and even there was time for kite-surfing. The local staff was always kind and smiling. We want to come back ! Rien & Jose Idema

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JIB_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    41
    13
    2
    3
See reviews for
17
100
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights during NYE. Very relaxed, small size guesthouse with just a few rooms.
Stayed in a standard room which has a spacious bathroom, rooms are sprayed nightly and have 2 fans, so had no issues wiht the heat or mosquitos.
Enjoyed both lunch & dinner in the restuarant a few times, all freshly prepared, enough to choose from and very tasty! There are also a few bars/restaurants directly left and right on the beach if you want some change.

The local staff takes great care of all your needs/wants and does so with a smile.

The management offers a variety of tours, of which we did quite a few. All were delivered on time and as agreed, and were reasonably priced. Can highly recommend renting a scooter to go around the southern end of the island. Stand Up Paddling (SUP) in the Mangroves is fun as well.

The properry is away from the big resorts so you get to see a lot deserted beached :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick_Zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

We just came back from the Kilimanjaro and went straight from Moshi to Bellevue Guesthouse in Zanzibar. It is a charming guesthouse with cozy bungalows. The rooms are well furnished and clean! The restaurant serve good meals with a daily variation of the menu.

It is a really nice place to relax, but the guesthouse also offer a lot of trips and the staff is willing to help you with all your questions. The European staff is excellent. They really know the places to go to and they help you with even the smallest things. They even managed to send my lost watch back to the Netherlands! I would definitely recommend bellevue guesthouse!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irtj79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kandahar, Afghanistan
Level Contributor
218 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 493 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

After a disaster at a nearby place we found this charming little collection of neatly kept guest bungalows, with a cozy open air restaurant perched above the beach. The rooms are clean and basically bug-free; no easy fix in Zanzibar. Rooms are simple in keeping with tropical style but the European hosts make sure you have everything you could need.

When planning your Zanzibar trip, decide what part of the island you want to be on first, then select the hotel. If you are coming to the East Coast I heartily recommend Bellevue Guest House and restaurant.

- Christopher, USA

Room Tip: The "luxury" room which is only a little higher in price than standard has extra bed (good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank csundseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zanzibar4, Manager at Bellevue Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Christopher & Natalia,

Thank you very much for all your kind words! It was a pleasure to have you and to help you spend your last days of your holiday with a good feeling!

Warm regards,
Bernard, Nicoline & Bellevue Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

I have stayed in Bellevue Guesthouse last february (I forgot to post my review, sorry!). From the moment I arrived, I felt at home. The welcoming and beautiful decorated restaurant is a great and comfortable place to sit and read a book or use the wifi. You also get easy in touch with other travellers and before you know you share a big table at night having dinner together.

The rooms in Bellevue are spacious and all you see inside is made on Zanzibar, what a great thing to do. I am sure local crafts people are happy with the work they can do for Bellevue.
Food in Bellevue is great both fish and meat. Together with a cold beer every evening is a small party!

Trips around Zanzibar are quickly arranged by the employees of Bellevue. There is lots to do! Snorkling, visiting a spicegarden, going to Stonetown and so on. My best trip was the walk around the beach and in the sea, where local women are harvesting seaweet and working with coconuts. Part of the money for the excursion goes directly to the women.

Cycling on the beach was great to do and having a look at the kitecentre the belongs to Bellevue owner Dim as well. I am not a kitesurfer, but I met many people having a great time at the kitecentre and on the water.

I stayed 2 weeks at Bellevue Zanzibar and I enjoyed every minute of it. Melanie and Dim created a small paradise where you easily feel at home, they are doing a GREAT job together with all other staff.

Bye!
Debby

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebsterAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Our daughter and partner found this little paradise in January 2012. Time to check ourselves.

Though we don't kite surf, we experienced a lot of other possibilities to spend the day (5). Best place to relax and feel at ease. With good food for new energy, everyday a fresh, tasty, creative menu based on local ingredients provided by local staff guided by Dutch managers. Aim of this guest house as we experienced it: to please all guests in all possible ways, find solutions if there are 'knots', offer jobs to and develop the Zanzibari staff (15 pax) and let people of Bwejuu and the environment share in whatever profit.

The beach is nearby (after a 100 metres stroll around a posh villa). Things we found on the beach were: seaweed, couple of men on bikes (beach is wide and part of it used as bicycle track for local people to transport there goods), small wooden boats, fishermen, women looking for food (sea shells), children playing and 5-6 locally made beds for Bellevue to relax even more.

We used local taxis up and down to a.o. Jozani Natural Park, several villages and historic places on the east side of Zanzibar. All well and quickly arranged by Bellevue. Even if we only suggested a tour to X might be a good idea, the driver was arranged. Also after we expressed our interest in ordinary local life a nice tour into Bwejuu village was arranged for next day including a visit to a tiny little hospital/pharmacy and a primary school where we were offered the chance to teach the children some Dutch :-). Even if you're that relaxed you don't know what to do Melanie c.s. come up with ideas,

Our jungle room was great as was the bed, always a nice breeze during the night (September), no ants, no zzzzzzz malaria bearers, and most important: clean! Flowers on the bed to welcome us, a super shower. Rooms and outdoors received fresh paint and proper maintenance for the season to come.

One is not disconnected from the world: wifi is available all day for a little extra money. So don't be afraid you'll miss political developments in your home country or don't know what's going on in the world - far far away :-).

Nothing is cheap on Zanzibar, this place neither, but one gets rewarded! Thanks Bellevue and staff. We totally enjoyed it. Good luck and good business to you all and hope to come again, insjallah! Gerard & Ineke.

Room Tip: If you like the sound of the waves, like to feel the breeze during the night, to hear the birds and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ineke e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zanzibar4, Owner at Bellevue Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Hi,

Thank you so much for your stay and sharing your beautiful stories with us! What a energy we got from the two of you! We wish you a great time in Oman...

Melanie, Nicoline and the rest of the staff of Bellevue!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

After two weeks of safari and climbing a mountain, we enjoyed 8 days in the idyllic guest house bellevue. The sea view and the design of the rooms is beautiful and the staff very helpfull and nice. Normally we never stay longer than a few days at 1 location, but once arrived in bellevue we wish that we could stay forever.

The food is a delicious mix of local and international dishes, always fresh and for a good price.

In bellevue, you never get bored, learn to kite surf, rent a scooter and explore the island, try stand up paddling to the sunset , swim with dolphins, go on delightful water excursions, see brilliantly colored fish with snorkelling and diving, enjoy a day stone tonw and so on..
The staff knows exactly how they can help make your holiday as relaxing and enjoyable as possible. Beside, the Dutch management is very durable and sincere for their employees and the environment. All products and services are purchased locally and the employees receive beside salary all medical expenses and meals. For us one more reason to feel good about this most beautiful guesthouse in the world!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlies L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwejuu
0.0 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#10 of 12 in Jambiani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#2 of 12 in Jambiani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.0 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chwaka Bay Resort
Chwaka Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Chwaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.0 mi away
Evergreen Bungalows
Evergreen Bungalows
#8 of 12 in Bwejuu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sahari Zanzibar
Sahari Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Bwejuu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellevue Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue Guesthouse

Property: Bellevue Guesthouse
Address: Bwejuu Street | Stone Town, Bwejuu, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Bwejuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bellevue Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy the hospitality in our cosy Guesthouse, north of Bwejuu, on the southeast coast of Zanzibar! The area of our guesthouse is a great place to relax and just 50 meters away from the beach. Wake up every morning with the beautiful sunrise and a fresh fruit juice. Discover the delicate food from our restaurant. With local fresh sea food and other fresh ingredients we serve local and international orientated dishes on a daily changing menu!Enjoy our green garden, where you read your book in the lounge area, hammocks or on your own private terrace. Take a nice relaxing walk on the stretched white beaches, and enjoy the spectacular colors and tide changes of the ocean.After you done relaxing go for a kitecourse on the amazing beach and waters of Paje. If this is too hectic let our professional tour guide mr. Mussa reveals Zanzibar's secrets in a Spice Tour, Stone Town City tour or a Dolphin Tour. Go on a Safari Blue, Sea Safari or let our partners take you on their professional organised dive and snorkel trips.We support the local NGO, by organising the Sea Safari where this income directly benefits the local projects organised by the NGO.Bellevue is a small personal Guesthouse, we hope to give you a homy feeling...There is always staff around or one of our management to assist you with any question you may have!Karibu Sana!Melanie & the Bellevue staff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Bellevue Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellevue Hotel Bwejuu
Bellevue Guesthouse Zanzibar Island/Bwejuu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing