We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baraza Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Bwejuu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed here for seven nights after safari and Stone Town. We opted for an ocean view suite which had a great view but offered a little more privacy than the ocean front suites. The suites here are really amazing being very spacious and lavishly furnished, the outdoor plunge pool being a great touch.
All the staff here are very helpful and attentive, food and drinks being of a high standard.
Pre dinner cocktails and nibbles were all very good with dinner often a four /five course affair sometimes alternating with buffet dinners. A good choice of wine was also available with dinner
Overall the hotel was very hard to fault with the only thing we noticed was lack of maintenance on our plunge pool with approx 100 small tiles missing and a few missing in the main pool, however this did'nt spoil our stay in any way. Not a cheap place to stay but if you want somewhere special then we'll worth paying a visit!

Room Tip: Ocean view suites have more privacy than ocean front
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marksutton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (769)
There are newer reviews for Baraza Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

357 - 363 of 771 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2014

This was our second time in Zanzibar and this hotel is very impressive. From the service to the decor we felt that we were at a first class hotel. The staff make you feel welcomed and are very attentive. The setting is truly stunning with a sultan inspired design in the midst of a flush tropical landscape. The food was very good both in presentation and taste. The only suggestion I would make would be to somehow conceal the air conditions. Overall a beautiful hotel in a beautiful setting with a high level of service. We definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dimitra202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed at the Baraza Resort in April for a few days break between Safaris in Kenya/Tanzania and our trip to So. Africa/Zimbabwe/Botswana.

Immediately we were impressed. The design is like a sultan's palace with arched doorways/passthroughs and well manicured garden areal Our son joined us during the first safari so had a two bedroom Villa. Nice furniture, and even your own private dipping pool in addition to a nice sitting room with a pillow filled nook for a good read.

What was most impressive was the outstanding service at this all inclusive resort. They were always available for anything you desire. The food was awesome as well.

Well donel

Room Tip: All of the rooms face in the direction of the ocean, but the ones closest to the beach allow the vie...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilliamJordan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I've been in many good Hotels in my life, but to be honest, this goes beyond everything i could possibly think. the place is amazing, the construction is taken from a ferry tale... The people that works here makes you feel like a real King ... the attention of Mr Kalei and the wonderful Chef Mr Mayaven Alankalee will make your stay as you were in haven. I've also dive every day, and it was fantastic ...... Thaks to Sun Rise Dive Center .....

Room Tip: all rooms are amazing ....
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MatiasKappes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed here after a busy two weeks touring Cape Town and on Safari so it was a much needed rest. The hotel is beautiful, staff excellent and the food amazing. They have a buffet on two evenings a week, but it is nothing like the buffets I have had before! All main dishes cooked fresh to order and the choices were so extensive you couldn't try them all!
The rooms are beautiful and huge - we worked out that inclucing all the day beds they would sleep 10. Spent our days lounging on our beds by the beach (they are reserved for your villa) and kayaking out to the reef and snorkelling back in - heaven!
Cannot reccommend this hotel enough, already planning to go back!

Room Tip: Although the Ocean front villas are very handy if you need to pop back to your room for something, t...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caz8096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Wow, wow, wow. Every detail attended to. Stupendous facilities.. Extraordinary spa. Loved the palm weaving experience and bike ride along the beach. Incredible beach BBQ. Wonder dinner beside the pool. Loved the cocktails on the roof top as the sunset. Stunning rooms. A total wow. Dream hotel.

Room Tip: A real bonus to have a sea view beach front villa.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LucyGarbutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This review is a long time coming, it being 2 years since we last stayed at Baraza. The first time, in 2010, we cancelled our flights home and stayed an extra 3 nights - what more can I say? We then returned 2 years ago and tried to go back again last summer but the dates didn't work out.
This review is prompted by our just having stayed at 6 Senses in Vietnam, another hotel that claims to be 5 star. It missed the mark terribly and we found ourselves longing for Baraza.
And we realised yet again that Baraza really is the benchmark by which we judge all other so- called luxury hotels. So many claim to offer that which only Baraza delivers: beautiful accommodation, the most attentive staff in the world (they anticipate your needs) and divine (and varied) food. And the management have a presence without in any way feeling over dominant.
I see from recent reviews that standards remain - and we have promised our children that we will return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jano21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwejuu
24.8 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#4 of 170 in Zanzibar Island
501 reviews
20.1 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,600 reviews
36.2 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
The Residence Zanzibar
The Residence Zanzibar
#1 of 5 in Kizimkazi
955 reviews
1.8 mi away
Zawadi Hotel Zanzibar
6.2 mi away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa (Relais & Chateaux)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baraza Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baraza Resort & Spa

Address: Bwejuu Beach, Bwejuu, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bwejuu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bwejuu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bwejuu
#2 Spa Hotel in Bwejuu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bwejuu
Price Range: $655 - $1,142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Baraza Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful resort evokes the heritage of Zanzibar dating back to the era of the Sultans. A fusion of Arabic, Swahili and Indian design, with beautiful arches, hand carved cement décor, beautiful antiques, hand made furniture and intricate brass lanterns, Baraza offers unparalleled standards of luxury on the Island of Zanzibar. Baraza has set a unique standard of luxury accommodation on the island ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Baraza Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baraza Hotel Bwejuu
Baraza Resort And Spa
Baraza Resort & Spa Zanzibar Island/Bwejuu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing