We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must visit resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baraza Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Bwejuu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

This review is going to start right from my flight to Zanzibar as the hospitality of the people began. The pilot took us as close as possible to the Mount Kilimanjaro, and what a breathtaking view it was!
The transfer driver was so informative all the way to the resort.
Soon as I reached Baraza, they had lemon fresh towels and welcome drinks ready.
Daniel showed us through the beautiful resort, through the passages with keyhole arches and stunning ornaments. I fell in love with the Arabian decor. Took me to villa 10. It only gets better! The draped four poster bed, which was very comfortable, a window seat. Large, extremely spacious bathroom with a free standing bath and a big walk in closet which has more than enough hanging and shelving space. The lounge area has its own window daybed with another one outside in the patio. The best is your own private plunge pool with a view of the ocean! And it's all very clean.
The rest of the resort is just as beautiful. The keyhole shaped archess and drapes with the ever smiling staff available to fulfill your any possible needs! From the manager, assistant managers and chefs to the whole staff, i cannot say enough about your amazing hospitality.
I've been to many 5* star hotels but haven't experienced the kind, gentle staff as of the Baraza. They have truly pampered me.
The food, there's so much variety from breakfast, lunch and afternoon tea right up to dinner. I loved the fresh coconuts and fresh mixed juices that kept on flowing. You're asked your preference of the type of food you like and voila!, it's there. If you're not at the poolside for the sundowners, they're brought to your room with appetizers.
It was an awesome holiday that Baraza made possible.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mahomed12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (785)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 785 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2013

We had a short holdiay at Baraza and truly this is a magnificent resort. The rooms are beautiful, clean and really well attended. Staff is helpful and friendly. We travelled in April which is supposed to be the rainy season but we were lucky enough to have sunshine. No mosquitos (strange). The only drawback is the diving center which caters more for expert divers and not being on-site it is not very convenient. Congratulations to the chef who did a great job. A great SPA as well.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MLC064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The staff here could not do more to take care of your every need as soon as you step out of your car. The place itself is breathtaking and set right on a white sand beach.

We had a two bedroom villa for ourselves and son, aged 8 who visited the kids club twice in our eight day stay and gave it a big thumbs up, they also show kids movies some evenings which is very handy if you want to have dinner to yourself!

Great breakfast selection every morning with fruits, cereals, hot food all cooked to order. Lunch was a different buffet every day and dinner was similar to a tasting menu most evenings, usually six courses. We were all inclusive and found the wines perfectly drinkable but they also had an exclusive list to choose from also.

One of the owners is a female interior designer and you can see it in the attention to detail every where you look.

Having stayed at the Four Seasons Seychelles, I thought that would be a hard act to beat but Baraza comes a very close second.

The dive centre run by Ashley is a 5min walk down the amazing beach and she was a joy particularly teaching my son in his first ocean scuba experience.

We WILL definitely be back VERY soon.

Room Tip: Beach villas are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cooldudes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

From the minute we arrived till the time we left everything was perfect. The rooms were excellent and spacious the food was nice and fresh. The hotel has everything you need to relax you don't have to go out, its all there. me and my friends had great time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ammar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Arrived at Baraza after an eight day safari in Tanzania needing R&R and I was not disappointed.
The accommodations are all villas featuring luxury interiors, large bathrooms, spacious terrace and private plunge pool. The beach has a natural reef so no need to worry about waves. Lots of choices at the breakfast and lunch buffet. Food is good. Staff friendly. Met lots of people from all over the world - Dubai, Russia, France.

Room Tip: The lower numbers are closer to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank millie4t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Be advised that Baraza asks East African residents to pay in advance *in full* and will not confirm a booking until said payment in full is received (and, they have a draconian cancellation policy). And theres an egregious 5% surcharge for credit catd payments. Puts you off.
The place itself is delightful and the staff very attentive. What lets it down is:
- Poor English spoken by staff
- Very long waits for food to arrive if ordered by the pool (45 mins for fish skewers and rice)
- Food in restaurant is not quite 5 star
- Other guests. We had to endure American teenagers playing ball incessantly in the pool. Takes the edge off the luxury feeling.
All that said: I'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rem_Kula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

About an hour in the taxi from Zanzibar airport and you arrive at this great place. We came for 9 nights of relaxation after 4 nights on safari. We just wanted to chill and this was the place to do it. The are about 30 ish villas in total, 7 of which are right on the beach -we had one of these, no.5, and I'd recommend paying the extra for the pleasure. Villas were spacious and very comfortable. The enormous bed ensured I slept as well as I ever have. The bathroom - beautiful double ended bath - and lounge are both very large and comfortable too. Outside there is a plenty of bed space to relax and a nice plunge pool / jacuzzi (although we had to ask for this to be switched on as the control is not within the villa). Staff are great and you get allocated you own villa host who is your point of contact for anything. Food we thought was very good. Breakfast has lots of fruits, breads and other stuff so plenty of choice. Lunch is a buffet with the usual salad etc and the option of made to order pasta. Dinner alternates between themed buffets and what in London would be known as a 'tasting menu' of seven nouvelle cuisine type courses - we loved these. There is wine with food, mainly south african, and all very acceptable. Staff are all friendly and excellent - even the ones who are clearly still learning - and there is a drinks / food service available on the beach too. It was my birthday when we were there and they must have noticed this from my passport and arranged a special "private dining area" on the beach for lunch for my wife and I which made it all very special. There a few really minor things that really differentiate 5 star service that they need to polish up on but nothing that would warrant a complaint or anything near it. If you want to get away from it all in beautiful surroundings then you should consider the Baraza.

Room Tip: Villas 1-7 are right on the beach - pay the extra for this benefit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W52EX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwejuu
24.8 mi away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#5 of 173 in Zanzibar Island
506 reviews
20.1 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,634 reviews
36.2 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#3 of 19 in Nungwi
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
The Residence Zanzibar
The Residence Zanzibar
#1 of 5 in Kizimkazi
981 reviews
1.8 mi away
Zawadi Hotel Zanzibar
6.2 mi away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa (Relais & Chateaux)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baraza Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baraza Resort & Spa

Address: Bwejuu Beach, Bwejuu, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bwejuu
#2 Spa Hotel in Bwejuu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bwejuu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bwejuu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bwejuu
Price Range: $646 - $1,141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Baraza Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful resort evokes the heritage of Zanzibar dating back to the era of the Sultans. A fusion of Arabic, Swahili and Indian design, with beautiful arches, hand carved cement décor, beautiful antiques, hand made furniture and intricate brass lanterns, Baraza offers unparalleled standards of luxury on the Island of Zanzibar. Baraza has set a unique standard of luxury accommodation on the island ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Baraza Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baraza Hotel Bwejuu
Baraza Resort And Spa
Baraza Resort & Spa Zanzibar Island/Bwejuu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing