We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 49% below average rates

The price you found is 49% lower than this hotel's average rate of $142/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mustapha's Place(Bwejuu)(Great Value!)
$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$68
$36
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$627
$468
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $571/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$424
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Palms(Bwejuu)
$1,007
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (941)
Filter reviews
941 results
Traveler rating
844
70
18
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
844
70
18
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplunge poolocean frontvilla hostour honeymoonmain pooltwo bedroom villastone townpure luxurysultan's palacelow tidekids clubday bedout of this worldrestaurant managerspecial thanksindian oceanfour seasons
Filter
Updating list...
581 - 586 of 941 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed for a week, and didn't regret the decision for a moment. It's a new hotel, but the staff were well trained, professional and friendly. Even when full the resort doesn't feel like it is, and the quality of the inclusive food and drink was much better than I'd expected. Full marks!

Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank ADFezzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed at Baraza following a truly wonderful safari experience and were looking forward to a relaxing week on the beach... Our accommodation (a two bedroom garden view 'villa') was great - very comfortable and clean - the only slight downside was we had to strategically place a bin over a drain cover in one of the bathrooms to stop an unpleasant smell. oh, and there are plenty of power cuts on Zanzibar too but you get used to that! The staff at Baraza are very efficient and attentive and it is wonderful to lie by the pool and have fruit cocktails - or whatever you fancy - brought out to you. The beach is lovely but tidal so it goes out about a mile at low tide, once a day. You can take beach shoes from the watersports desk and walk out to the reef but beware of the many sea urchins on the way! It would have been nice to have had a guided walk out to the reef - we met locals who pointed out octopus and fish for us - but we enjoyed it all the same - it reminded us of rock pooling in Cornwall! The only serious downside to Baraza for us was the food. We seem to be alone in this assessment having read the other reviews but 'each to their own' as they say! As a family with teenagers we are not too fussy, have travelled a lot and are used to fine dining, both for work or leisure... However, we found the set menus at Baraza for dinner overly fussy, complicated and sometimes, sorry to say it, inedible. Having spoken to other guests, we were not alone in our assessment! It is as if the chefs are trying way too hard to be 'fancy'. For example, on our first night we had eight courses(!) consisting of crab terrine - which didn't taste that fresh, 'vegetable curry flavour' soup, artichoke salad followed by more fish (done up in some faux fancy way). Dinner on holiday is a big part of our overall experience so we found this really disappointing. Coupled with all that, the service for the a la carte nights is very 'full on'; there are so many staff at dinner someone is always watching over your shoulder as you finish (or try to finish!) each course. It is not very relaxing. They do offer a kids menu and our son - who is actually 13 - resorted to that later in the week... we all looked on enviously! On the plus side the set menus are only 3 or 4 nights a week and the other nights are buffet style which offer more choice and are more relaxed. Breakfast and lunch are fine, buffet style again, and we also discovered the pool-side menu - after watching lots of the other guests! - which offers a more simple food range (burgers/pizza included). We did the scuba-diving at the Dive Center at Breezes Hotel (about a 10 minute walk up the beach) which was fine, if a little disorganised, but friendly enough. Apart from the evening food, a lovely stay, although we found the week too long for us - four days would have been just fine.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suequ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We traveled to the Baraza on our honeymoon and we could not have asked for a more beautiful, picturesque, or romantic honeymoon! Each villa is assigned a villa host. The host is essentially personally responsible for the enjoyment and satisfaction of your stay at the resort. We also had our own spot reserved for our villa on the beach, as I assume all villas have. The food was out of this world (literally!). Ha! Every night was something new and adventurous, and they always provided a safety dish or two for the more hesitant appetites (pizza, pasta, sandwiches, etc.). We enjoyed inclusive sundowners before every meal. The resort is spread out just right - easy walk to beach/pool/food/spa, but just enough privacy and remote feeling to allow you to really feel like you were on vacation. The staff was beyond accommodating. They were kind, friendly, helpful, complimentary, and literally AT YOUR SERVICE!

Our villa host booked our massages as well as our day trip to Stonetown (a must see historic visit to a the local markets, museums, etc.). We felt like royalty the entire time we were there. Water is gorgeous. Pool is beautiful. (Private villa pool is just what we needed for some late night private dips)

This resort has so much to offer. We can't say enough about it:)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Baraza is one of those rare places that seems to do everything and to do it very very well. It is both romantic and family friendly and it manages to be luxurious as well as down-to-earth. We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa for 3 nights to rest up following our safari on the mainland. The accommodations were beautiful (and huge!). Nothing was forgotten. The service was out of this world, particularly from our personal attendant who was very helpful confirming our trip details after one of our flights was cancelled and we had to reroute. Also, everyone on staff was nothing short of amazing with our 3 year-old daughter. The food was also very high quality, though if I can make one small criticism I would say that it was not quite up to 5-star standards (though it is not at all bad by any stretch). We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rocky6767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Had 11 nights, got back today. Villa lovely, very well spaced so no privacy issues.Food was amazing, we have never done all-inclusive before as have always feared the higher quantity/lower quality issue. Absolutely not an issue here, top drawer food. Likewise, not normally a buffet fan, but nearly all the main courses offered could stand alone on a top restaurant menu. Staff are the best trained and kindest I have ever met, led by a very hard working and efficient manager. Communal areas stunning and spacious, very well laid out. We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank onthegolfcourseagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews