We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Luxurious Resort on this Coast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dongwe Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bwejuu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dongwe Club
Save
You added Dongwe Club to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Bwejuu, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Bwejuu
Certificate of Excellence
Venice, Veneto, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Best Luxurious Resort on this Coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

My first experience in this Hotel was outstanding. The Staff plus the General Manager Mr. Giorgio Scudo are fantastic. They really know what customer care means. If you are looking for a place to go for your vacation, this is the place !!

Thanks and Complements also to the Kitchen Brigade

Regards
David Mwadime
GM - Bagamoyo

Room Tip: Rooms are of the best quality and well located
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    780
    156
    34
    2
    4
See reviews for
161
492
63
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zanzibar, Zanzibar Urban, Tanzania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

A great discovery during our last trip to Dongwe Club Vacanze in October 2011. Not far from Paje beach and easy access. The Dongwe Club Jetty which stretches 300 mt into the Ocean was a fantastic location for a pre-dinner cocktail. We had a special dinner as well. Seafood, of course, is a prominent feature at the resort’s restaurant. A great place to recommend ,advice you better book in advance.Doreen froM Arusha Tanzania

Room Tip: suite a more queity and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alexanderprince2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

Great beach resort attraction with excellent activity packages and service.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank serena_ke07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

We loved it. The location is fantastic and the staff is the kindest ever. One suugestion: if you don't care of the night entertainment, ask for a room far from the theatre.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lsoucek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

relax
ottima accoglienza
ottimo staff
otimo trattamento
cibo ottimo
manca struttura per sport acquatici: wind surf, canoa.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank giuseppe55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

I was in Zanzibar with my 6 year old daughter and my husband in the month of February of 2010 and we stayed at the Dongwe Club. The most striking feature of the resort are the grounds that are thoroughly well kept and decorated by a great number of beautifully blooming Bougainville and Hibiscus plants. The structure is very well conceived presenting a slowly descending slope toward the pool and the beach, which makes the view over the ocean from the reception area and main hall breathtaking. The structure is also very well integrated with the local architecture and is dominated by very tall straw roofs with a wooden supporting frame. Spaces are generously distributed, with a large and comfortably furnished main hall, and a very spacious and luminous dining area. The food was excellent, with a great variety and remarkable hygiene. Local people working at the resort are very kind, most of them speaking pretty good English and almost all of them speaking Italian. In spite of their great effort to optimize communication with the guest there may be some occasional difficulty in communication which is mostly well outweighed by their effort to understand your needs. The housekeeping lady that took care of our room once decorated the entire room with flowers from the grounds and folding the towels in the shape of a swan. The pool is situated right next to the beach avoiding a definite separation between spending time at the pool or at the beach and is filled with salted water. The beach is very well kept and made of soft, thin and white sand and is normally quite wide, although when approaching a full moon the high tide reaches a terraced beach area that guarantees a dry beach area to lay on. One of the nicest features of this resort is the long wooden dock, that provides access to deeper water when the tide is low and that also harbours a delightful and quaint restaurant (that you have to book for) that sits right over water with a beautiful breeze and great atmosphere at night. This is also the location for the dock party once a week at the resort. The animation is provided by an Italian team of animators and entertainers who are generally quite capable of speaking English as well. The animation is not invasive and intrusive as in many other resorts.
During the time we were there the island was still without electrical supply due to a damaged underwater cable coming from the continent, although Dongwe Club disposes of generators that provide full energy supply even in these conditions. I believe the electrical supply in the island has been re-established by now. We have had the opportunity to tour the island a fair amount during our stay and we have discovered an island inhabited by simple yet very welcoming people, and when observing a few simple rules dictated by common sense we have not encountered any crime or detectable danger. People are predominantly of Islamic religion but we have not detected any tendency to intolerance or extremism toward other cultures and religions.
The island is very green and colourful, villages are simple and relatively poor without any evidence of hunger and starvation problems. We visited a school which was a very fulfilling and deeply touching experience, with all the children spontaneously joining a welcome chant for our unexpected visit throughout the open air classrooms. We tend to recommend NOT to distribute gifts of any kind (candy, sweets, pencils etc.) because it will rapidly disrupt the balance and make your experience miserable. About visiting Stone Town, the main criticism you will hear from tourists concerns dirt and filth. You have to remember you are in Africa and have to have realistic expectations. It is pointless to compare it to a European or North American city. If you are able to look past this, and are able to explore enough you will be able to find some adorable terraces and places to enjoy a drink with beautiful views over the chaotic yet in some ways picturesque city.
The only coastline we were able to tour a little is the south eastern coastline, where Dongwe Club is situated, which still maintains a very undeveloped appearance, with few hotels and several fishermen villages. The only negative aspect is the sometimes abundant presence of algae, which is considerably reduced by regular raking on the beach of Dongwe Club, and for some unknown reason was contained at Paje beach as well. Tides are very strong on this coastline. For anybody seeking some nightlife, Paje (especially on Friday nights at Paje by Night), is the place to go, where parties include a surprising variety of people participating, from Europeans on vacation to local young men, from Masais to South Africans, Kenyans and Australians owning or running businesses down there.
Altogether we found Zanzibar to be a very fascinating island to visit although we have encountered some people that were very critical of it. Conversely, people that stayed at the Dongwe Club have all expressed a very positive opinion of the place.

Robin Thoreson, Chicago USA

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank RobinChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

If you think of comming to East Africa do not miss to plan visit the fabolous island of Zanzibar and Stay at Dongwe Club, it is real a world class of hospitality from the workers, foods services. The white sand strech of the beach is really fascinating one. I really recommend this hotel for you as we enjoyed

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bensafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwejuu
24.3 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#1 of 166 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 stars 344 reviews
19.4 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,199 reviews
4.4 mi away
KonoKono Beach Resort
KonoKono Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Michamvi
4.5 of 5 stars 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.3 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#3 of 19 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 879 reviews
34.7 mi away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 564 reviews
0.9 mi away
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dongwe Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dongwe Club

Property: Dongwe Club
Address: Bwejuu, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bwejuu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bwejuu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bwejuu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bwejuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dongwe Club 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Also Known As:
Dongwe Club Hotel Bwejuu
Dongwe Hotel Zanzibar
Dongwe Resort Zanzibar
Dongwe Club Zanzibar Island/Bwejuu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing