We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful paradise”
Review of Robinson's Place

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bwejuu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Robinson's Place
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Bwejuu
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We spent there a week and it was the best accommodation throughout the visit Africa. It is simple, but really peaceful and quiet. Edie and Ann are friendly and welcoming. Edie is a great cook. Ann can speakes swiss, english, italian, french and swahili.

Room Tip: Robinson house, the upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 49 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

I can't imagine a more relaxing beach-front place anywhere. A very special place. Our family of 5 (incl. three adult children) stayed only a couple of days prior to hiking in the Usambara Mountains and doing a week-long game-viewing safari. Should have stayed longer, or at least relaxed there at the end of our trip. Comfortable thatched rooms nestled among swaying trees; eating communally (excellent food) in an open-air banda; sandy walkways with inviting hammocks and chairs where you can muse upon the beach, the azure Indian Ocean, the cows and local folks on their bikes passing up and down the beach; and no flies or mosquitoes when we were there. Ann and Eddie are delightful, interesting hosts, as are the locals who help them out. Even a red colobus monkey to greet us in the morning. Soooo relaxing . . . .

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frostyhal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I spent one week at the Robinson's place hotel.
It was an amazing moment for me and I enjoyed a lot being there due to the Hospitality and super cool services that was provided to me by Ann and Eddie.
I had very nice sea food and others also fresh fruits direct from their farm.
They offered me a bike that i did some rides and get to know and visit other places on my time being there.
I miss the place so much and I wish and hope to be there any time I am in Zanzibar.

Room Tip: Any room is awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

As the name implies, Robinson's is a tropical low-tech/no-tech paradise. I stayed here with my (Dutch) parents, brother, sister in law and my teenage niece and nephew for two weeks and would have stayed forever if we could have. I was worried that the teenagers (avid facebookers & twitterers) would hate it because there is no electricity, but they loved it. I felt more relaxed than I had in years. The proprietors, Ann and Eddie, are truly committed to their vision for an enterprise that has a positive impact on both the environment as well as on the local community. They are also just lovely, lovely people! Eddie cooked a delicious dinner most nights and let us know in the morning if he wasn't planning to cook that day so that we could make other plans (there are many good restaurants nearby). We were able to rent bicycles for trips to Paje and beyond, and Eddie & Ann also helped to organise doplphin watching, snorkeling, and spice tours. After finishing three months of work in Tanzania last week I was hopinng to spend some R&R time at Robinson's but found the place closed for a sabattical. I hope Eddie & Ann enjoy their well-deserved time off and come back refreshed and ready to open up again soon!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuyMrefu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

We stayed here for two nights at the end of our trip and really liked this place. We had the 'tree house' which was right next to the beach and looked out at sea. The bungalows have a thatched roof and are open at the front, so it's a real treat to fall asleep to the sound of the sea. There is no electricity which added charm to the stay- lighting was provided through lamps and a solar powered light. The location of this place is also good- there were some nice hammocks and loungers on the beach located in front of our bungalow.

The owner Eddie was really welcoming and cooked a delicious dinner which we had with the other guests on the first night of our stay, sitting on the floor to candle light.

Bwejuu itself is beautiful. It felt much less touristed than some of the other places we visited, like Kendwa and Nungwi. But this also means it is very quiet with a much smaller selection of places to eat or have drinks at- although we really enjoyed this at the end of our trip but it might not be to everyone's taste.

The only drawback is the beach which is tidal- like most of the beaches on the east coast. There is a very short 'window' of time when the tide is in. We found that at the time of our visit at high tide the water was still only up to our waist. You would have to go quite a distance out in order for it to get any deeper, so I would recommend bringing reef shoes so as to avoid stepping on sea urchins (which we were warned about - but never saw any).

This was a great place to stay in for a few nights, the back-to-nature feel of this place was really special.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJ_1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2010

Have just visited Robinson's Place over the New Year with three visitors from Scotland (first time in Africa for them), my husband who has been in Africa for over 10 years, and I've lived here for 4 (Uganda). We were all blown away by how amazing this hotel was... we couldn't have asked for anything more.

It's plainly adverstised as simple on the website, ie: no power and communal, family style meals. We were incredibly impressed with Eddie's cooking (the owner) and loved the way we were served and also the overall atmosphere of each evening meal. We chose to eat there every night even though there were plenty of restaurants along the beach to go to. The rooms were beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and incredible value... our Scottish visitors could not BELIEVE how cheap it was. We had the main house for 5 of us... it was huge, and perfect. Ann and Eddie were entirely professional, organized, and amazing fun... they made our New Year's Eve and also the rest of our week! Our visitors truly believed they had landed in paradise, and having visited the island numerous times before myself and having never returned to the same place because each one disappointed, I will forever stay at Robinsons from here on in. Paradise indeed!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heetha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2010

I've been coming to Zanzibar for 17 years and this was a great experience. Eddie and Ann were awesome in providing a great stay.

Check it out!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtundu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwejuu
0.0 mi away
Evergreen Bungalows
Evergreen Bungalows
#6 of 10 in Bwejuu
86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anna of Zanzibar
Anna of Zanzibar
#4 of 10 in Bwejuu
215 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#7 of 13 in Jambiani
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Kiva Resort and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Reef & Beach Resort Zanzibar
0.0 mi away
The Palms
The Palms
#1 of 10 in Bwejuu
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robinson's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robinson's Place

Address: Bwejuu, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Bwejuu
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Bwejuu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bwejuu
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Robinsons Place Tanzania
Robinson's Place Zanzibar Island/Bwejuu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing