We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Village life, Kiwengwa”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of villa stefy

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Kiwengwa, Zanzibar Island, Zanzibar Archipelago

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
SandyS404...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Village life, Kiwengwa”
Reviewed July 22, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

In the Kairo Village part of Kiwengwa, Villa Stefy is a peaceful oasis on the edge of a village where ordinary people go about their daily business - and this is one of the things that makes it so special. You’re alone, with the sound of the waves, crows, chickens, goats and the muezzin calling the faithful to prayer. The villa is comfortable and cool, with DSTv and WiFi, gas hob and fridge - and a Bialetti MokaCrema for endless espressos. You can laze like a crocodile on the porch, looking out at outriggers floating on the tide going out and coming in, waiting for a local to bring you fresh coconuts to drink from or a fisherman to bring a freshly caught fish. Or you can walk for about 4km along the beach in either direction, or swim in the warm waters. Stefania and Salom welcome you and look after all your needs, including organizing excursions. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 7, 2018
Dear Sandy,i really appreciated what you wrote and i thank you for the time you have dedicated to do it.You were really kind!!
You are welcome at any time you want to come back.Enjoy your life thinking occasionally to your Indian Ocean home in Zanzibar!
A dear greeting
Stefania
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley S
1 review
“Amazing location with the beach practically at your doorstep!”
Reviewed April 10, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

The pictures don't do this accommodation justice. Behind the house gates lies an absolutely breathtaking view of the ocean. With the beach practically at your doorstep. The beach sand feels like velvet under your feet. It's the perfect place to sit back and relax while watching the fishing boats slowly sail by. Due to it's less touristic location, contact with the locals is easily made. The stunning beach makes up for the many vendors trying to sell you their ware.

The apartment is a bit basic, but includes all the necessary amenities. An AC would've been nice. The local stalls along the road sell the basics as does the supermarket. There are enough restaurants walking distance to indulge your taste buds.

The beach of Kiwengwa is definitely one of the most beautiful places I've visited.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 16, 2018
Thank you Shirley for your good report!
May be one day i could say to you and your fantastic family " Thank you to be here with us again"
I really hope it!!!
Best regards
Stefania
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandTour...
1 review
“A beautiful place to stay!”
Reviewed January 21, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We have stayed on Zansibar and in Stefanias beautiful house for three weeks and we have had the most wonderful vacation!
The booking of villa stefy was easy and without any complications. Whenever we had questions before our trip, Stefania was answering very quickly and friendly. When we arrived on the island, Stefania picked us up, brought us to villa stefy and showed us everything - she really made us feel that she would help whenever needed and she has proofed to be the nicest host ever :).

The house itself is just amazing: located directly at the beach of Kiwengwa, from the terrace of villa stefy you are looking at the turquoise lagune, white beach, little fisher-boats - absolutely beautiful.
Everything is very clean and comfortable and the house is accomodated with everything that is needed to have a comfortable stay. On top, villa stefy is so pretty and furnished with a lot of taste and care and we were feeling at home right away. Most of the time of our stay we were dining at home instead of going out and there was nothing pending for cooking.
Both bedrooms of the house are very nice and cozy, the beds comfortable. Especially the master-bedroom downstairs is just beautiful (it looks a little bit different from the pictures at trip advisor now, as instead of a simple moscito-net there are posts now around the bed holding moscito-curtains and the bed looks like a princess-bed :)).

On the terrace there is a nice place for dining and a lounging area where we spent most of our evenings.
Alltogether - everything really was perfect and I am already looking forward to comming back to Zansibar and to Villa Stefy.
Thank you, Stefania, for having us in your beautiful house, for a great vacation and for being such a nice host!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 29, 2018
Thank you my dear for all you write and also for let me know you spent your holidays so good!!
Welcome back again
Thanks a lot again and again
Stefania
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseSwe...
Eslov, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The loveliest house right on the beach!”
Reviewed March 9, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

My family and I had a wonderful stay at Stefanias lovely house right on the beach. We bought fresh tuna fish from the local fishermen, food in the village and lived low key and very relaxing. Remember to bring cash, or else you have to go back to Stonetown to get it (more than an hour drive).
The house is very cosy and calm. You have your own local guide, who is very helpful and a lovely woman who cleans it every other day.
Right around the corner is a great little hotell Zanwing, where you can eat and have a dip in the pool, when the tide is there. I warmly recommend it.
Remember to dress properly in the village. Long dresses and tshirts for the women and shorts and tshirt for the men. It is a muslim village and one need to respect that. The local people are friendly and kind!

We had a very relaxing week in Stefanias house!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 9, 2017
Hello Louise!
Thank you very much for your lovely report!!I am very happy to know that your stay was so good and also i hope one day to see you and your beautifull family come back again ...
Say hello to everybody
Have a good life (maisha mazuri!)
Stefania
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catherine...
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back”
Reviewed May 24, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The first impression when I arrived was that I was the first person staying there - that is how immaculately clean the place is. There is everything one could wish for from a well-equipped kitchen to spacious accommodation and the most gorgeous-smelling fluffy towels! The private compound is unobtrusively swept on a daily basis, the water tank is kept full so that one need do nothing but lie on the outdoor built-in lounger, gazing at the most perfect view whilst sipping on the local Konyagi! Salum and Stefania are the most gracious hosts for whom nothing was too much trouble. On my 8th visit to the island, this will be my destination!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and privacy
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Solo
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 26, 2016
Dear Catherine,
thank you for all !We are waiting for you as soon as you can!
Best regards
Stefania and Salum
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Алёна А
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best place in Zanzibar!”
Reviewed August 3, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

If someone chooses a different destination on Zanzibar-he is seriously mistaken. This is the best house we ever rented, and there were many such houses. The house is big enough, very comfortable, very clean.The whole house is decorated in African style. Large bedroom with a king size bed, living room and kitchen with ocean views! The second room is small, located on the second floor, nice and cosy. Our daughter liked it very much. The kitchen has everything you need-stove, toaster, kettle, coffee maker, dishes, all necessary Cutlery. Two bathrooms with toilet, one with a lovely shower. There is constant hot water. Towels for the shower, beach towels and bed linen is changed once a week. There is a small patio outside where you can escape from the sun.The location is great! The house is a continuation of the beach with a small garden. You take two steps through the gate and you're already clean, white sand, great beach! You can feel at one with nature and away from people, no worries! Superb views and gorgeous sunrises and sunsets-what more could you ask for?.. Near the house there are several local shops, very close-lots of souvenir shops. Mistress Stefania beautiful - before our arrival she bought groceries for us for the first time, as well as fruit and a bottle of good wine, it was so cute, thank you! We constantly felt the care and warmth! Her husband, Salum, helped us a lot on all issues, as well as island tours, thank you very much! It was a lovely memorable stay in a great place, come and you will not regret it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, owners, service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 7, 2015
Hi!Thank you for your great comment!!We are very happy to know that your stay was so good.We hope to have you back in the future..MAISHA MEMA!Have a good life!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ciammiii
Rome, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in August 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 28, 2018
Grazie!
E' stato un vero piacere per me poter godere della vostra compagnia.
A presto!
Stefania
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing