We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
22 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$333
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/31/21
Booking.com
$311
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/30/21
Trip.com
$301
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/31/21
Hotels.com$333
CheapTickets$333
Lol.travel$413
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,609)
Filter reviews
2,609 results
Traveler rating
1,972
431
132
40
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,972
431
132
40
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gabi beach aqua restaurant jetty bar golf cart spice restaurant all inclusive package library bar huge bathroom guest experience private beach main restaurant indian ocean our honeymoon every night infinity pool ocean front garden room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
210 - 215 of 2,609 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2019 via mobile

After a safari, we were for 7 days guests in the wonderful Melia Zanzibar.

It is nearly impossible to find the right words to capture our feelings for the amazing time at Melia.

Passion to perfection always with a smile is our experience in one sentence.

On all areas - from our room, to the cleanness, to the wonderful high quality, amazingly served meals, the hand made drinks & tasty cocktails, the very fast free wifi (leave your phone in the room - and enjoy your time there!), the pools & restaurants and the breathtaking beach - there can’t be any better place in Africa.

Very personally we like the thank the whole team at the Melia Zanzibar - they made every wish possible.

Especially we like to thank Alan, head of all amazing restaurants & food at Melia - who took his time to have a nice talk with us - and his team:

Chef Aggrey and Team, particularly Matiku are so one it and really know how to make you feel welcome giving us very special moments. Thanks for the BBQ and the outstanding meals at the Jetty restaurant! Thanks for the Apples - we will miss you!

Furthermore, we like to say a huge thank you to Chef Arabe Ghaleb Bwssad and his team at his restaurant/evenings. So much professionalism and an eye for every detail, this is what makes Malia what it is:
The place to be in Zanzibar.

And there are Said and Samson - you both rock!!! Thanks for your time and all the amazing drinks you served us!

See you all some day again.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
7  Thank supersonicbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevanco, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2019

Dear supersonicbird,

We would like to start thanking you for taking the time to share your experience and to mention your stay at Meliá Zanzibar.

It is a great pleasure to hear that you had an outstanding stay with us and we are extremely happy that you found the service and the food amazing.

We have forwarded all your comments to Chef Alan and all his team, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest Regards

Stevan Cochennec
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2019

Keep up the good service. The employees were very friendly and helpful. Namely; Ali and Ahmed from f&b and the guy who taught us how to play *bao by the pool. The rooms were spectacular and the atmosphere was very relaxing.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
Thank joylufuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevanco, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2019

Dear joylufuta,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion after your holiday at Meliá Zanzibar.

It is our pleasure to know that you had a very relaxing stay with us on Unguja island and we are grateful that you highlight our staff attitude and good service, as this is our first intention with all our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Thank you and Best Regards

Stevan Cochennec
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2019

Beautiful location. Very clean and the food is good. Breakfast had a variety of options including fresh juices. Environmentally conscious they use class bottles for water. An overall great experience.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
1  Thank Viola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevanco, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2019

Dear VRugege-Kamara,

We would like to start thanking you for choosing Meliá Zanzibar and for reviewing it.

It is great to hear that you had a wonderful time with us and we are proud that you mention the environmental consciousness as we work every day to maintain it.

Thank you and we hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards

Stevan Cochennec
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2019

Overall the resort is fantastic and the staff and servisse just perfect. However, the episodes with the ants was extremly off putting because it disturbed our sleep and peace in the bedroom.

Furthermore, we paid a significant ammount of Money for a bungalow and no valuable experience/activity wad included which was also a bit of a let down.

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
Thank Mayra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevanco, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2019

Dear Mayra,

First of all, thank you very much for choosing Meliá Zanzibar to spend your honeymoon.

We are very grateful that you mention the perfect staff attitude, as our daily commitment to all our guests is to deliver an excellent service.

We also regret if you found any inconvenience with your bungalow due to its specific structure and location and due to Zanzibar fauna, and please rest assured that our entire team is available 24hrs to make your stay special.

We remain at your disposal.

Best Regards

Stevan Cochennec
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2019

We spent a week at Melia Zanzibar in Jun 19.
I am sure I am gonna fall short of words while writing about my experience here.

Property:
We got lucky as we changed our booking last minute from another resort to Melia Zanzibar. Oh man very very Lucky I must say.
The resort is located at the North Eastern part of Zanzibar. It's an hour drive away from the airport. It is the perfect place to experience the most beautiful Sunrise.

The property in nestled in a super green patch amazingly close to nature. The moment you enter you can feel a certain freshness around.
The Main Lobby building houses a library, soveineir shop & one of the main restaurants - Spices, that serves a scrumptious breakfast and also dinner of varied cuisines. This area also hold a entertainment arena of sorts where they have live musicians / local entertainers perform.
The property is centrally located and Villas/rooms are located on both sides of it. The Gabi beach (main beach) is located a kilometre away, and golf carts run every 20 mins to take u there. The walk along the beach during low tide can also take u to the beach. The restaurant at the beach serves bev/food from 1200 hrs. Scrumptious local food here.
The property is super clean and very well maintained. The infinity pool just a few metres away from the main building also has a bar / restaurant attached( only for lunch).
The jetty restaurant opens for dinner & serves a set menu. Amazing sea food & an ambience to die for. Best dinner during our stay in Melia was here.

Our room was nice & clean, however a bit small after adding an extra kids bed. Not that you are gonna spend any time in the room. ;o)

Service:
The Manager Rohan & his staff are a very courteous & attentive lot. Taking care of all needs of the guests with their bright smiles all day long makes for a great experience service wise. The staff greetings in local dilect- " Jambo" " Hakuna Matata"- is sure to make anyone and everyone smile.
100% to the staff on all fronts.

Food:
The all inclusive stay here works best as it covers food & beverages throughout the day, less room service.
The breakfast served in Spices restaurant is a mix of international & local cuisine. The pool & beach restaurant cater to the lunch & the Spices / Jetty caters to dinner.
The food everywhere is scrumptious and the local dishes are a must try.
Drinks are served by the pool/beach/spices as well as the jetty restaurant.

Activities:

Although you'd want to spend a lot of time on the beach / poolside like we did, there are tonnes of other activities too.
For those travelling with kids, there is a Kids activity centre conducting beach walks/ cave excursions and a lot of fun activities.
There is also table tennis, pool table , football for those interested.
Finally the beach. I am in awe of the Gabi beach. The water is crystal clear and the perfect kind of blue...just the way most of us love it. Getting there early is a great idea to get some ideal place to lounge about once u are done with your dose of swimming water sports or whatever else you'd want to do there. There are tonnes of water sports activities for those interested.

At low tide the water recedes almost 2 kms and you can walk in the slushy sand, find sea urchins/ starfishes and all sorts of sea treasures there. Its a perfect family activity , for kids & adults alike.

All in all I must say Melia Zanzibar is a perfect getaway destination for the whole family. All of us had a ball there and came back with a wish to return soon.
Thank you Rohan & his entire team for their impeccable hospitality. Was nothing less than a Fabulous stay here at Melia zanzibar.
Thank you guys !

Date of stay: June 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anushrik5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevanco, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2019

Dear Anushrik5,

First of all, we would like to thank you for sharing your experience with such details and lovely words.

It is our pleasure to know that you have had a wonderful time with us at Meliá Zanzibar and that you have enjoyed that much the food quality as well as the staff attitude, always willing to make your stay memorable.

We have already shared all your comments with Mr Rohan and all our team, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon for another fabulous stay on Spice Island!

Kindest Regards

Stevan Cochennec
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews