We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$320
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/24/21
Booking.com
$299
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/23/21
Hotels.com
$320
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/24/21
Travelocity$320
eDreams$299
CheapTickets$320
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,602)
Filter reviews
2,605 results
Traveler rating
1,969
431
131
40
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,969
431
131
40
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gabi beach aqua restaurant jetty bar golf cart spice restaurant all inclusive package library bar huge bathroom guest experience private beach main restaurant indian ocean our honeymoon every night infinity pool ocean front garden room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
219 - 224 of 2,605 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2019

Very average level of service considering price paid for this villa Level. However, staff very very nice and helpful, with a special thank you to Alphonse. Overall, the so-called Level service is poor. The Gastronomique restaurant is especially a very bad experience.

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
Thank ld662018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevanco, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2019

Dear ld662018,

We would like to thank you for choosing Meliá Zanzibar and for reviewing your stay.

It is great to see that you found the staff very nice and helpful, as we always want to create memorable experiences for all our guests, and we inform you that we will forward your message to Alphonce.

We deeply regret that you did not find the food quality at our Aqua restaurant was up to your expectations, as we usually receive excellent feedback regarding to the menu and the products we serve there.

We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you in Zanzibar and to provide you with the best service.

Best Regards,

Stevan Cochennec
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2019

Very beautiful resort but apparently run by interns, without any management supervision...
On top of that I had the worst check-out experience!
Too bad because it has all the amenities to be a great place...

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
1  Thank andrel0uit
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevanco, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2019

Dear andrel0uit,

First of all, thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We are deeply sorry to hear that the hotel did not meet your expectations.

On regards to the check out process, you gave a credit card but unfortunately the payment was not possible. That is why our team kindly asked you for another credit card in order to process with the payment.

We do regret that you blamed our team in reception for this situation and we ensure you that the entire staff remains at your complete disposal for any further help.

Regards,

Stevan Cochennec
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2019

We stayed at Melia, Zanzibar for 4 nights in August. We were with a group of friends from different parts of the world.
The property itself was amazing, overlooking the Indian Ocean. In appearance at least it is ideal for a resort holiday. The rooms are nice and airy with good views (at least the one we had). The gym and sauna were good and so was the Jetty restaurant.
What, however, spoiled it for us was the level of house keeping and room service. Laundry was not picked up even though it was ready to be picked up first thing in the morning, tea trays were not properly cleaned, drawers in the wardrobe would not open, safe did not work. The response time from house keeping was too slow and not adequate.
Breakfast at the restaurant and meals at the Jetty and refreshments at the Pool Bar were good. However, dinner menus were virtually the same and somewhat unimaginative. Entertainment was boring (except for the waiters who sang and danced to wish a particular guest for an occasion such as birthday).
Our friends had two emergency situation and hotel's response was somewhat slow.
All staff were friendly as was the management to whom we complained. However, the management took no steps to address the issues and placate their guests (ie us).
In short, it was poor value for money - 3* service for 7* charges

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
1  Thank sumitgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevanco, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2019

Dear sumitgt,

Thank you for your opinion.

We are sincerely sorry if the hotel did not match with all your friends expectations.

Kindly be informed that our team is 24hrs available to attend all your request and we regret that you did not mention these situations earlier, this would have given us the opportunity to change it.

Also, we believe that our team went extra line with your group of friends, trying to adapt to your preferences and we regret if you did not feel the same way.

We remain at your disposal.

Regards,

Stevan Cochennec
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2019

The property was beautiful. But the service was pathetic. Most of the staff were extremely slow, often confused, not trained, bad at communicating, not proactive etc. Some of the managers and senior staff were good, but they were few and far between.

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
2  Thank Bhaskar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevanco, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2019

DearBhaskar ,

Thank you for your opinion.

We are deeply sorry if the hotel did not match with all your expectations.

Kindly be informed that we have circa 300 employees through the resort, well trained as per Meliá Hotels International standards and always willing to make your stay special with us.

We regret if you did not feel the same way and we hope to another opportunity to show you the real Meliá Zanzibar experience.

Regards,

Stevan Cochennec
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2019 via mobile

Huge hotel, plenty of services and, despite to be fully occupied, it seemed to be not. Ideal to rest after a week of safari. The attention by all the staff was at the level of the installation: a luxury. Excellent meals at any of the four restaurants we tried. The Jetty Lounge is one of my favorites places for eating, having a drink or even better swimming when the tide is up. Better to swim there than in the Gaby beach, which is very close to the village, a bit dirty and with too many locals trying to sell excursions and services. Nonetheless, the private security and level of services are at the same level as the main building, AWESOME

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank MarcosLopezHoyos
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevanco, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2019

Dear MarcosLopezHoyos,

First of all, thank you very much for sharing your review on TripAdvisor.

We are extremely pleased that you posted your excellent feedback regarding to quality of service. Our entire staff is always striving to deliver the best experience possible and it is our pleasure that you had that feeling.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kindest Regards

Stevan Cochennec
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews