We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$320
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/24/21
Booking.com
$299
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/23/21
Trip.com
$296
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/24/21
Hotels.com$320
Travelocity$320
eDreams$299
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,605)
Filter reviews
2,605 results
Traveler rating
1,969
431
131
40
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,969
431
131
40
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gabi beach aqua restaurant jetty bar golf cart spice restaurant all inclusive package library bar huge bathroom guest experience private beach main restaurant indian ocean our honeymoon every night infinity pool ocean front garden room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
241 - 246 of 2,605 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2019

We had the pleasure to stay in this wonderful resort. Our family had the best hospitality experience that one can expect from such wonderful resort and helpful staff. Our experience has been truly magical and the staff members made our stay truly memorable.
Hakuna Mata. Nothing was too much for them and my family and me thank you all from the bottom of our hearts.
Asante Sana Melia Zanzibar. We will miss you all.
Until next time. Tuta Onekana.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Manuj P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevanco, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2019

Dear Manuj,

First of all, thank you for taking the time to share your experience on this website, we value all our guests feedbacks!

It is our pleasure to know that you found Meliá Zanzibar wonderful and that your family had a great time with us. Most of all, we feel honored that you highlighted our team and that they all made you live an unforgettable experience on the Isle of Spices.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Asante Sana.

Stevan Cochennec
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2019

Just returned from the Melia Zanzibar on Tuesday, delighted with our choice of resort, it was quite fantastic. Stunning location on the north east coast with beautiful beaches. The customer service ethic in the hotel is second to none, nurtured by the General Manager, Nicolas, the willingness of his staff to go above and beyond was quite extraordinary. Choice of several dining locations, all of them were excellent, choice, quality and variety of food, fantastic. Rooms and facilities in general, excellent. A massive thank you to Hassan, Vikram, Abdul, Paul, Timini, Mariam, Authuman, Fredy, Mussa, Samson, Omar, Marjan and Ali who made our stay all the more memorable! Sorry if I missed anyone, if I did, you were great too! ;-) I would class the Melia Zanzibar as a luxury property with mid range prices, great value for money, wouldn't hesitate to recommend it!

Room tip: Room 39, ocean front bungalow, quite lovely!
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevanco, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2019

Dear Andrew,

Thank you very much for sharing with us your recent experience at Meliá Zanzibar.

Our entire team is proud to be part of this "Wow" african trip you had, and it was a pleasure sharing your comments with all our associates today.

If there is anything that we can do to make your next stay even more comfortable, please do let us know. We loved having you here and we all hope to welcome you back soon to our resort.

Kindest Regards

Stevan Cochennec
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2019

AMAZING!

Summary:
Modern & clean rooms
Quiet private beach
More than one option for lunch, lesser options for dinner
Cocktails and drinks a little of a disappointment

We booked our transfer through the hotel from the airport, this was done effortlessly.

On our arrival (50 mins from airport), we were offered cool clothes and a refreshing drink. Check-in was quick.

We were on an all-inclusive package (which I recommend) and had an ocean view bungalow.

The room was much more than we expected. All the ocean view bungalows are far from all other rooms (get your walking shoes on!) and evenly spaced. We never heard neighbours and the rooms had the best views. Also, because the rooms are nestled in the tropical bushes, we saw bush babies numerous times! There are two showers, one in the main bathroom and another close to the entrance - so that you can wash sand off before spreading it everywhere (great room design). Very spacious bathroom, great and soft towels. Closet space is a little tight. They turn down the bed every night, spray the room with mosquito repellent before closing the bed nets - and sometimes change the towels too. Outdoor swing on the patio - which is a nice touch.

There is a golf cart that travels every 20mins from the resort to the private beach area - it's quite a walk otherwise. The private beach had a little construction, but you could see the hotel was trying to minimise it. The hotel really tries to keep the beach clean and minimise pedlars. So as soon as you reach the water, you can be approached - but you won't be hassled. The beach restaurant has great food options! Drink sizes are a little small and cocktails lack flavour.

Breakfast buffet is sufficient in options - and is in a aircon building - so no flies or food that stands to long. The jetty is the best place for lunch, unfortunately it has the same tapas menu every evening. The hotel offers themed buffet dinners, the best is the Swahili evening!

Overall- would definitely return, but not on the full price. Would try and get a discount option.

Room tip: If you want the best sea-view room, go for the ocean bungalow.
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunnyTraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevanco, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2019

Dear SunnyTraveler12,

We would like to start thanking you for choosing one of our Ocean View Bungalow during your stay at Meliá Zanzibar.

It is our pleasure to know that you have had an amazing time with us and that the room you were allocated exceeded all your expectations.

Thank you again for your positive feedback and we hope to see you again soon in Zanzibar.

Kind Regards

Stevan Cochennec
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2019 via mobile

I stayed at your Beautiful hotel with my husband Mr.Saleh Khan.

1. Sameera from reception was helpful regarding my early check
in when I spoke with her over the Phone.
2. Salome from guest relations was great with confirming an
airport pick up/breakfast on arrival/early check in with a beautiful room centrally located
and thoughtful as she gave us a ground floor room keeping in mind my pregnancy state.

3. Sabry from guest experience helped us with a good package for
stone town and prison island.
4. Rohan assistant manager F and
B was very attentive and checked
on us for our food and hotel experience. When we wanted to have a dessert (cheesecake and
Tiramisu) he accommodated our request and was very polite and friendly.

5. The staff made a Great effort to manage to get the ICC cricket
world cup and a Boxing match to be played at the library T.V. my husband and I were so Happy to
watch it Live.
6. We tried the food from all your restaurants and they were
all fantastic.
7. The staff are very courteous and greet you everytime. The attitude your staff work with is Amazing cause they never say No we can't do it but they say let
me try and see if we can get it for you and they always came through.

8. Your hotel and staff left us with a Great Memorable Experience
and we would love to come again and visit and share our experience with our friends and
family too.
9. I would like to Thank Stevan the Guest Experience Manager for
accomodating our request for our check out.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank sierra d
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevanco, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2019

Dear sierra,

First of all, thank you for taking the time to write and share your feedback on TripAdvisor, we do appreciate it.

It is a great honor for all of our associates to read your comments and to see how fantastic your stay was. We have already shared your impressions with all the staff and we would like to thank you for mentioning them, and to highlight their efforts.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon and we remain at your entire disposal.

Kindest Regards

Stevan Cochennec
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2019 via mobile

The Melia Zanzibar is a slice of Paradise. The setting and amenities are fantastic, it will be a week we will treasure and remember. A special thumbs up to the staff, amazingly friendly, efficient and nothing is too much trouble. Just loved our time there.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank marycP3773UF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevanco, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2019

Dear marycP3773UF,

First of all thank you for your opinion.

We are extremely happy to know that your family holidays were fantastic and that you all enjoyed very much your time with us and all our staff.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kindest Regards

Stevan Cochennec
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews