We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Class”
Review of Melia Zanzibar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Melia Zanzibar
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Kiwengwa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2014

The architecture, the ambiance, the style, the staff, the food, the rooms and the service, everything about this hotel is FABULOUS. The property is vast, the rooms well appointed and has a lovely jetty restaurant among other nice restaurants, an amphitheater, infinity pools among other attractive facilities and is on the sea front. The beach area is on one side of the property and you might want to take a golf cart to access it but once there, you will be glad you did; a private beach, beach volleyball and other sports, private cabanas, beach bar e.t.c.
I must mention how large their rooms are and the bathrooms as well and the outside shower is a must. We were on All Inclusive and I found that very helpful because the property is in a somehow secluded remote part of Zanzibar, there isn't much going on outside the hotel premises.
We enjoyed every bit of our stay and this hotel is a true 5 star with a touch of class.

Room Tip: Terrace rooms have great ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MsafiriTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophia O, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Meliá Hotel Zanzibar for your vacation, as well for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience.

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and you may rest assured that their comments have been forwarded to the various Departments of the Hotel and the staff, as it is due to their effort and dedication that we are able to accomplish our goal - the total satisfaction of our guests.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at your second home, the Meliá Hotel Zanzibar.


We are expecting you…

Sincerely,


Sophia Othman
Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,764)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

596 - 602 of 1,764 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2014

we had gone for a weekend party at the beach which was organised at the Beach which belongs to Melia Zanzibar Hotel and it was out of his world.. we dancing till morning at the party. The Hotel is very well designed with big Spacious rooms and the Bathrooms were like better then Maldives.. i was confused on to where to enjoy outdoor or indoor... the snorkelling in Zanzibar is one of the best I have ever done..

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jawahar74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophia O, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Meliá Hotel Zanzibar for your vacation, as well for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience.

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and you may rest assured that their comments have been forwarded to the various Departments of the Hotel and the staff, as it is due to their effort and dedication that we are able to accomplish our goal - the total satisfaction of our guests.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at your second home, the Meliá Hotel Zanzibar.


We are expecting you…

Sincerely,


Sophia Othman
Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed in Melia for 2 nights (Me, Wife and 1 yr Old) The Welcome was warm, the ambiance was excellent and the rooms were worth it. We had booked Garden Rooms but since the Terrace Rooms above us were empty the Management was kind enough to upgrade us. All three meals were good (I wouldn't say Awesome) however the deserts were always to die for. The management staff and supervisors were going out of their way to make our experience worthwhile, however, it was the support staff and waiters who pissed us off every now and then giving us a kind of an attitude which makes you feel they're doing us a favor by serving us, and they never smiled. All in all, the experience was good, would I go again to Melia? Of course Yes.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophia O, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Meliá Hotel Zanzibar for your vacation, as well for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience.

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and you may rest assured that their comments have been forwarded to the various Departments of the Hotel and the staff, as it is due to their effort and dedication that we are able to accomplish our goal - the total satisfaction of our guests.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at your second home, the Meliá Hotel Zanzibar.


We are expecting you…

Sincerely,


Sophia Othman
Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

After having climbed the Kilimanjaro during an 8-day arduous but thrilling climb, we were ready to rest and relax for a few days before heading back to reality. We flew directly from Kilimanjaro (JRO) to Zanzibar with Precision Air and in less than 90' arrived in paradise. Once arrived, the Melia driver picked us up and dropped us off at the hotel, 45' later. We had arrived in paradise!

The GM, Cesar and his head of F&B, Nicolas, waited for us and gave us such a royal welcome before being escorted to our villa, which was absolutely amazing. A massive living room, bedroom (with a gorgeous posted bed), bathroom with exterior jungle shower and an incredible pool in your own private yard with the ocean in the background. We could not have dreamt about this!! It was perfect.

The service was amazing (people are so friendly, they pick you up in a golf cart and take you anywhere you like to go); the food absolutely delicious in the several restaurants, and the atmosphere whether at the Gabi Beach or at the jetty bar was truly exceptional.

We cannot wait to get back, and would highly recommend it to all couples who are looking for some indulgence after climbing one of the seven peaks!!

Thank you SO much, Cesar and Nicolas!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dsquare2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophia O, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Meliá Hotel Zanzibar for your vacation, as well for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience.

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and you may rest assured that their comments have been forwarded to the various Departments of the Hotel and the staff, as it is due to their effort and dedication that we are able to accomplish our goal - the total satisfaction of our guests.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at your second home, the Meliá Hotel Zanzibar.


We are expecting you…

Sincerely,


Sophia Othman
Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Mélia with a friend for give nights but I wish I could have stayed for 50. This all inclusive met and surpassed all our expectations.


PROS

From the bat, we were told by airport drivers that Mélia is one of the top three resorts in Zanzibar.

We booked a garden view room with plans to upgrade until we realized we could see the ocean clearly from our patio. The rooms were clean and spacious and the bathroom was divine! Perfect for couples but we enjoyed it all the same.

We made the mistake of booking bed and breakfast only but front desk staff immediately offered us an upgrade to all inclusive for a reasonable rate! No haggling needed here!

The resort offers a few restaurant and meal options (poolside, evening buffets, room service, habit beach restaurant) so we did not run out or culinary options. Plus there was a lovely library bar which was beautifully furnished and perfect for winding down a long hot day.

The spa was a marvel. It has a wonderful private pool that we took advantage of, as well as wonderful Anantara services, a gym and sauna, and much much more. Wish we had taken advantage of it more.

The staff was amazing throughout, from the front desk managers to the pool staff. We did not have one complaint to proffer and that is a triumph as far as customer service and national standards are concerned.

CONS:

Not enough spa staff to cater to even double bookings at time. And they ran out of a lot of stock.

Room service stands to be improved. Its night menu is limited and the service is slow (an hour!) after midnight.

TIP

GO ALL INCLUSIVE ! Trust me. prices are exorbitant otherwise, but please note that spa services are not included. Neither is shisha/hookah (booooo!)

All in all, I will definitely be back! Can't wait.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank ClarisseBaleja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophia O, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Mrs Baleja,

We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Meliá Hotel Zanzibar for your vacation, as well for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience.

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and you may rest assured that their comments have been forwarded to the various Departments of the Hotel and the staff, as it is due to their effort and dedication that we are able to accomplish our goal - the total satisfaction of our guests.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at your second home, the Meliá Hotel Zanzibar.


We are expecting you…

Sincerely,


Sophia Othman
Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed at Melia Zanzibar for 9 nights in March. It was amazing. We are family with two small kids (1,5 and 4-years), and children loved it too. We had garden view room, it was spacious with the same sized bathroom with bath, shower, outside shower and toilet. We stayed in house 15, so it is next to reception and main restaurant Spices. We had garden balcony where you could see ocean as well.

The pool was great, view to the ocean and Jetty-bar. Chlidren's part of the pool was a little bit separated from the main pool so I hope the other visitors didn't mind the childrens burst of laughter and little bit louder voices time to time. There was Children's Club behind the main pool area.

Staff of the hotel were very good, always smiling and trying to do the best for you. Room was cleaned well, and bed was made in the evening as well and fresh towels twice a day.

Gabi beach - such a great place with white sand. There was tide every day while we stayed there, so you could see locals go fishing and collect the seaweed that time. Gabi Beach a la carte menu, we loved it. Grilled chicken, beef and catch of the day - delicious! We thought about walking to Gabi beach but it was way hot :D, so the golf-cars are at your disposal in every 20 minutes.

Internet is free in main house lobby and by the pool, I bought 7-days internet to use in room, I paid 50USD.

I recommend the hotel as it is clean, beautiful, great food - you have the choice what and where to eat, great service with friendly stuff.

Room Tip: house 15 is right next to the main house. I think all the rooms have some view to ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Merle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophia O, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Mrs Merle,

We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Meliá Hotel Zanzibar for your vacation, as well for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience.

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and you may rest assured that their comments have been forwarded to the various Departments of the Hotel and the staff, as it is due to their effort and dedication that we are able to accomplish our goal - the total satisfaction of our guests.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at your second home, the Meliá Hotel Zanzibar.


We are expecting you…

Sincerely,


Sophia Othman
Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I was given a suite and was amazed. Outdoor & indoor showers. Bathtub pristine enough to actually use. Perfect mattress. HUGE living room & dining room. Gourmet food. Awesome pool. Incredibly large property. It was perfect and I will 100% return, potentially for my honeymoon :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
1  Thank Asatu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophia O, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Mr. Asatu,

We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Meliá Hotel Zanzibar for your vacation, as well for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience.

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and you may rest assured that their comments have been forwarded to the various Departments of the Hotel and the staff, as it is due to their effort and dedication that we are able to accomplish our goal - the total satisfaction of our guests.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at your second home, the Meliá Hotel Zanzibar.


We are expecting you…

Sincerely,


Sophia Othman
Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiwengwa
1.1 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,838 reviews
13.1 mi away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#4 of 175 in Zanzibar Island
542 reviews
16.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.2 mi away
The Residence Zanzibar
The Residence Zanzibar
#1 of 5 in Kizimkazi
1,111 reviews
18.3 mi away
Zawadi Hotel Zanzibar
25.4 mi away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa (Relais & Chateaux)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Zanzibar

Address: Kiwengwa, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kiwengwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kiwengwa
#1 Spa Hotel in Kiwengwa
#1 Family Hotel in Kiwengwa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kiwengwa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kiwengwa
Price Range: $256 - $792 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Zanzibar 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia Hotel and Resort is Zanzibar's leading international resort, situated on the north-east coast of the island. Melia Zanzibar is built on a 40 acre estate with a beautiful beach of pearlescent white sand lapped by warm ocean waters, 300 meters long, situated at the very end of the property to procure the perfect combination with nature. The resort is ringed by a natural coral reef, making bathing a relaxing and safe experience. The hotel is the perfect destination for honeymoon or wedding vacations as well as meetings & incentives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Melia Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Zanzibar Hotel Kiwengwa
Zamani Zanzibar Kempinski Kiwengwa
Melia Zanzibar Zanzibar Island/Kiwengwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing