We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Luxurious Private Villa, fantastic staff, Delicious food”
Review of Melia Zanzibar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Melia Zanzibar
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Kiwengwa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Wow wow wow was my reaction to the Private Villa we stayed in overlooking the Indian Ocean.
Staff so very accomadating on arrival and during our stayafter flying back from a Selous safari.
The villa's 20m own infinity pool and terrace area is just so private! Ideal for a private party or function.
The villa's furnishing is luxurious with bedroom suites European standard & with bathrooms to have a ball in. The villa 'butler/driver' was very helpful and friendly as were all the staff.
Any problems were dealt with practically & immediately by a passionate, predominantly European management team, who also had a great sense of humour!
We took splendid breakfast's in the main restaurant and it was a veritable feast of fresh fruits, yoghurts, cheeses, fish, breads and cooked food. Dinner in the a' la carte restaurant was quietly intimate with good service, tasty fresh food & good range of wines.
Thank you very much for a thoroughly relaxing luxurious stay.

Room Tip: If you have the money book the Presidential Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michaelTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose_Carlos_Hidalgo, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

Dear michaelTW;

It is always a pleasure to receive good comments of our customers and even more when they come from guests of a Villa that could enjoy the private pool and butler service.

We are flattered with your words and proud that we could get you a “Wow moment” that happens when you see something so impressive as a Villa and the words “wow” slips from your mouth without even realising it. In Melia we work very much to get moments like this to all our clients.

We are looking forward to receive you again soon, meanwhile you can follow us on facebook.com/#!/Melia.Hotels

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,658)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

686 - 692 of 1,660 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2012

It's was my first time to Zanzibar , where i have stayed at the Melia Resorts and Spa. I have a very beautiful and unforgetabale memories. The hotel was amazing , specious rooms with a garden veiw ,where you can enjoy seating on your terrasa of your room and serving a cup of coffe early in the morning.The service at the hotel was exelent , and the staff were very helpfull and kind. I have realy enjoyed staiyng on the GABI Beach , and having cold local SAFARI Beer. Its was giving a pleasure listening to the local african band music and serving your dinner, where you could have a option to dance either if you would like, its was a nice entertaiment to the guest , where you can see the happines and smiles on each and everyones faces. For young couples they would have a very nice and romantinc time seating in the night at Jetty Bar and serving a glass of wine , and admire the sea view and feeling the fresh air . I realy like the hotel and i will strongly recomended to every one , specialy for cuples and honymooners.

Room Tip: I like the room wich i have - with the garden view closer to the suwimng pool , Its was very quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elena g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose_Carlos_Hidalgo, Public Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2012

Dear Elena G.

Thank you for choosing Melia Hotels international for your visit to Zanzibar. We are very happy to know that you really enjoy your stay with us and our facilities, rooms and spa. And also the entertainment, and friendliness of our staff. We really appreciate your comments, as they help many other guests to choose us

We wish to receive you again in our hotel soon

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

This superb hotel (ex-kempinski) can only be described in superlatives. In this hotel, where management manages, everything is organised in a perfect way. It is super clean, well located, the staff is perfectly drilled (one should however take into account that we are in Africa and not in a 5 star hotel in Monte Carlo) and of utmost kindness. The food is presented in a well balanced and not too large buffet of excellent quality rather than in large quantity. Some dishes can be called of gastronomic level. The buffet theme varies every day. The rooms are slendidly situated eiter with garden or sea-view. The fitness center is of most modern type.
It is a very quiet hotel where you are not permanently disturbed by yelling animation teams. The principal restaurants as well as the jetty bar and the beach restaurants are of excellent quality, charming surrounding and high comfort.
If some lesser comments could be made they might refer to the somewhat outdated furniture in the rooms (wearing some traces of former violent tourists) and the complicated all-in system on two levels. It might be better to slightly raise the price of the stay and provide for one all-in system.
Without those small comments, the hotel level could certainly go to 6 stars compared to other local resorts and hotels. We can really recommend this hotel which is not too typical, already seen, african style but more a fenshui type of resort.

Room Tip: ask a room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank albertbrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose_Carlos_Hidalgo, Public Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2012

Dear albertbrussels;

Thank you very much for your great review it is a pleasure for us to read that enjoyed so much in our Hotel, with the food , the entertainment activities and of course our facilities as our modern Gym.

We work very hard every day and we are glad to see the results in comments like yours, thank you very much for giving us 6 stars! 6 stars for you too!

We hope to welcome you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

My wife and me had lucky to pass the ours days in this fantastic place. The meals was really good, the rooms really comfortable, the swimming pool fantastic, and of course the sea and views amazing, truly lux. A part of all of that was great cause César and the managers Ramon and Jose Antonio were caring us all the time.
Recomendable 100% if that you want is quality, relax and friendly ambient.

Es un sitio donde nos encantaria volver y si tenemos la oportunidad lo haremos.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mikel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose_Carlos_Hidalgo, Public Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2012

Dear Mikel T,

We apprecitate very much your words make us feel proud of our Hotel and the service we offer to our clients. As you our style of management is based in being very close to the guest to quickly satisfy any need they may have.

Best regards from all the team, and we hope to see you again here

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

The hotel rooms and bathrooms are really great but communication with the staff from the housekeeping to receptionists to the conceirge was a real issue.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amelle_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose_Carlos_Hidalgo, Public Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2012

Dear Amelle83;

Thank you very much for your comments regarding our facilities such like rooms and bathrooms. I sincerely regret that you did find complicate to communicate to our staffm my apologies for that. I hope it did not mar your experience in our Hotel, and we wish to receive you again to show you the goods of our Hotel.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

I had the opportunity to stay at Melia during their soft opening, and was thoroughly impressed with the revamping of the hotel. The staff are the shining jewel of this lovely hotel, taking every opportunity to be sure that our stay was comfortable, seamless and relaxing. Staff seemed to be able to predict your needs even before you know them - I traveled with my 10 year old daughter who is a bit shy but was embraced by the staff and encouraged to play in the kid's club and with other children by lovely Aisha. After the first day she rushed to the club as soon as she woke up! Gabi Beach is the second amazing feature. I've been to many hotels in Zanzibar and I must say that the beach and the set up at Gabi are fabulous. I felt as though I was on a deserted tropical island, yet able to relax in the bandas and be taken care of by the staff. The beach itself is deserted and lovely. Finally the food is extraordinary...we loved the sushi at the jetty and the seafood lunches at Gabi. All in all I highly recommend a visit to Melia - we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the garden rooms near the main hotel and really enjoyed them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose_Carlos_Hidalgo, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2012

Dear Amy1967;

Thank you very much for your comments. We are very happy that you came for the first time when we had just opened and we caused you so good impression, also we are glad that your daughter had fun with the activities in the kids club and you could enjoy our culinaries delights in Jetty and Gabi.

I am sure we will see you soon.

Thanks for recommending us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

My family and I stayed at this resort for 3 nights this past winter break and we loved it, though we had some problems with the service. I'll start with the good- the location is outstanding. The pool is close by but the beach is a golf cart ride away (somewhat of a hassle) but worth it because the beach club is great! They have beautiful beach cabanas for no extra cost (just get there early because people reserve them), nice lounge chairs and a good selection of tropical drinks. The water is gorgeous and the whole scene is quite exotic. Beware though- you can only swim at high tide (during low tide the water is full of sea urchins and jellyfish)- so make sure to pick up a schedule of the tides in the morning if you care about swimming in the ocean.
As for the service, the Melia was a Kempinski Hotel up until recently, which was apparently a disaster. Now a Melia, the owners are working hard to bring the hotel back up from its low point, but this takes time. This is one of the reasons the service is not up to par. All the employees are undergoing intense training, but it is a work in progress and many employees are not yet up to speed on how to treat and accommodate guests. There is also a language barrier- most of the staff speaks English very poorly which makes it unlikely that you will get what you ask for, particularly in terms of food and drink. In short, the service does not yet match the aesthetics, but I have a feeling the service is on the rise so don't dismiss it as a place to stay!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eviek12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose_Carlos_Hidalgo, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2012

Dear eviek12,

Thank you very much for selecting us for your holidays with your family. I am very sorry the golf car to the Beach Club was a difficulty for you, but the property is 2.5 km so for the commodity of our guests we have a golf car service going continuously from Gabi to Reception and return in only a few minutes. Also there are others accesses to the beach.

I apologize you found the service not at the high of your expectances, as you well said we are working very hard, giving intense training and for your next visit we will be ready to impress you and reach your expectatives.

Thanking you again

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiwengwa
1.1 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,722 reviews
13.1 mi away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#6 of 172 in Zanzibar Island
511 reviews
16.6 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#4 of 19 in Nungwi
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
32.2 mi away
The Residence Zanzibar
The Residence Zanzibar
#1 of 5 in Kizimkazi
1,011 reviews
25.4 mi away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa (Relais & Chateaux)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Zanzibar

Address: Kiwengwa, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kiwengwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kiwengwa
#1 Spa Hotel in Kiwengwa
#1 Family Hotel in Kiwengwa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kiwengwa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kiwengwa
Price Range: $277 - $626 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Zanzibar 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia Hotel and Resort is Zanzibar's leading international resort, situated on the north-east coast of the island. Melia Zanzibar is built on a 40 acre estate with a beautiful beach of pearlescent white sand lapped by warm ocean waters, 300 meters long, situated at the very end of the property to procure the perfect combination with nature. The resort is ringed by a natural coral reef, making bathing a relaxing and safe experience. The hotel is the perfect destination for honeymoon or wedding vacations as well as meetings & incentives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Melia Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Zanzibar Hotel Kiwengwa
Zamani Zanzibar Kempinski Kiwengwa
Melia Zanzibar Zanzibar Island/Kiwengwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing