We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time at Blue Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Kiwengwa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We were in Blue Bay from February 21 to February 26, for our wedding anniversary . It was absolutely brilliant throughout the holiday, on the actual day we had our dinner on the beach, with the best sea food platter ever. The staff was friendly and very helpful, nothing was too much, all smiles. We will most definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaapVL2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (949)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 949 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2014

We had an amazing time at Bluebay. The staff led by Julian went out of their way and well beyond to ensure a wonderful vacation. Highlights included an over the top full moon dinner on the beach and enough pool time and kids activities to get the kids going non-stop until bed time. We enjoyed the food, our room was nice, and the service was great by all we engaged with. The staff were also helpful when we arranged for a Spice Farm tour and trips into Stone Town and gave us different price-points in order to make them affordable.

Room Tip: obviously closer to the beach would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piners_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I went there last october 31,2013 with my husband and 2 friends. First I amazed the food specially dinner time it was amazing dinner in the beach!!first im about to complained because food is late but while we are sitting at the coffee bar waiting the signal, one of the manager explained and apologized that the food is late because they are waiting the low tide so that they can start doing the set.up the venue, i dont understand first but when i saw what they did "it was priceless!!absolutely amazing!!!!i really love it!! dinner in the beach with live band and masai dancing it was cool!!

Early in the morning we check.out by the time we are in the harbor thats the time i remember i forget my sun glasses and swimwear inside the shower room im so mad. when we arrived in dar es saalam i try to contact the hotel and explained to the receptionist what happened they promised me to callback after 30minutes. In short of my story they send my things here in dar es sallam nad take note "door to door delivery ". Im hoping i can comeback in that place before i go home in the philippines! God bless you Bluebay...

Room Tip: choose the room which is near the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chovysarto7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

This is a 5 star property with almost all the amenities you would expect of an all inclusive resort on the Northeast Coast of Zanzibar. Comfortable rooms, attentive staff, good food (mostly) a safe beach, Masai guards and the warm Indian Ocean. They had a reasonable range of activities but we only took advantage of snorkelling as we did the Stone City and Spice Island tours on the other two day. WhT needs improvement is free high speed WiFi, not only at the poolbar but in the rooms. A $10 per day charge for rooms is outmoded. The lunch and snack service was slow, up to 40 minutes, although thankfully the beer was quicker. No light snacks with a beer at the bar until 6PM, even peanuts were not available. The fruit for breakfast was good except the pineapples that were not ripe three days running. Small things that if/when corrected will raise this to a deserveda 5 star rating. Definitely should be considered.

Room Tip: All are well serviced and clean but some are a modest walk up from the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

I had an amazing time in zanzibar!! The weather was just perfect. The hotel is very accomodating the rooms are lovely the food excellent and the staff courteous n helpfull. The beach was clean and safe. Not to forget the very high speed wi-fi i was able to catch up with all my favourite movies n series!! I do hope to come again. It was a holiday well spent

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank VictorMungai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We have just returned from The Blue Bay Hotel after a stay of three weeks. It was an absolute delight to stay there. Everything, from the very friendly, helpful staff down to the excellent selection of food, to the wonderfully comfortable bedrooms made this holiday stand out for us. A special mention must go to Duncan Barati, the Front Office Manager. He was kindness itself to us. He went out of his way every day to greet us and make sure we had everything we needed. We have stayed in hotels all over the world and this was by far the best of them all. It was not the most luxurious hotel we have ever stayed in, but the atmosphere and attitude of everyone there made it the most comfortable for us.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were lovely, light and airy. The hotel itself is lovely and quiet and peaceful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

This resort has everything. Fro the golden sands of the private beach to the bright and airy rooms, from the amazing buffet at every meal to the watersports facilities (including a memorable scuba diving trip, makes this hotel special. The staff are really friendly and helpful, and the whole place is clean, which may seem simple but makes a lot of difference. This really is a classic island paradise.

Room Tip: Even the most basic are extremely nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lawrence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiwengwa
1.7 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,764 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,838 reviews
12.8 mi away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#4 of 175 in Zanzibar Island
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
3 mi away
Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Sultan Sands Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa

Address: Zanzibar | North Coast, Kiwengwa 3276, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kiwengwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kiwengwa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kiwengwa
#4 Family Hotel in Kiwengwa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kiwengwa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kiwengwa
Price Range: $166 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury beachfront resort with traditional Swahili charm, Bluebay Beach Resort & Spa is situated on the finest white beach on the east coast of Zanzibar. The resort is one of the island’s most prestigious properties offering the ultimate in beach comfort: excellent accommodation; fine wining and dining; a host of sports and leisure facilities; the famous Oasis Spa; and our award-winning service. Bluebay’s rooms and suites are set within 30-acres of tropical gardens with over 1,000 palm trees, some right at the ocean’s edge. All rooms are spacious, bright and beautifully decorated in Zanzibari style. Dining at Bluebay showcases Zanzibar’s celebrated local ingredients with an emphasis on fresh seafood and contemporary cuisine. As well as being a magical destination for holidaymakers wishing to soak up the sun and absorb the enchanting culture of Zanzibar, the resort offers excellent facilities for meetings, conferences and group incentives. And our weddings and events team can help you plan a private party, a wedding and, of course, a honeymoon! Bluebay Beach Resort & Spa is Bluebay’s premier brand. The resort shares a 500m stretch of beach with its sister property – Sultan Sands Island Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebay Beach Hotel Kiwengwa
Bluebay Beach Resort And Spa Zanzibar Island/Kiwengwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing