We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Kiwengwa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

I had an amazing time in zanzibar!! The weather was just perfect. The hotel is very accomodating the rooms are lovely the food excellent and the staff courteous n helpfull. The beach was clean and safe. Not to forget the very high speed wi-fi i was able to catch up with all my favourite movies n series!! I do hope to come again. It was a holiday well spent

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank VictorMungai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (885)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 885 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2014

We have just returned from The Blue Bay Hotel after a stay of three weeks. It was an absolute delight to stay there. Everything, from the very friendly, helpful staff down to the excellent selection of food, to the wonderfully comfortable bedrooms made this holiday stand out for us. A special mention must go to Duncan Barati, the Front Office Manager. He was kindness itself to us. He went out of his way every day to greet us and make sure we had everything we needed. We have stayed in hotels all over the world and this was by far the best of them all. It was not the most luxurious hotel we have ever stayed in, but the atmosphere and attitude of everyone there made it the most comfortable for us.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were lovely, light and airy. The hotel itself is lovely and quiet and peaceful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

This resort has everything. Fro the golden sands of the private beach to the bright and airy rooms, from the amazing buffet at every meal to the watersports facilities (including a memorable scuba diving trip, makes this hotel special. The staff are really friendly and helpful, and the whole place is clean, which may seem simple but makes a lot of difference. This really is a classic island paradise.

Room Tip: Even the most basic are extremely nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lawrence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

I vacationed here with my family and the following stood out for us:

a) Clean Pool.
b) Great service from the rooms, restaurants and pool - both from the staff at Blue bay and Sultan Sands.
c) Great buffet with very well prepared food- especially at the Sultan Sand.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I have just returned from seven days in Zanzibar, staying at the Sultan Sands (2 nights) and Blue Bay (5 nights) Resorts, which I thoroughly enjoyed. We chose this location for a small conference and I cannot say enough good things about this hotel (and I include Sultan Sands in these remarks). Every hotel in the world is made of rooms, beds, restaurants, reception desks, etc. But what makes a place special are the staff and the quality of service they provide. They showed exception friendliness, typified by the ever-present "Jambo" whenever we crossed one another in a hallway, walkway, bar or restaurant. The rooms were impeccably clean, the meals very good (including the best Seafood pizza I have ever had!), the drinks of exceptionally fresh quality, the responses to our endless Wazungu questions precise, friendly and helpful. We felt welcomed, accommodated, secure and cared for.

Blue Bay cannot take credit for the beauty of the ocean and the perfect weather. But they can take credit for the quality of training and devotion of the staff.

Room Tip: Definitely spend the money and go diving off Mnemba Island. The dive shop of the reort grounds was e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

My wife and myself stayed there for 4 nights in early October after 16 days of safari's. After that we really needed a break as after here we do another 10 days in South Africa. While we were there there were not a lot of people staying at our hotel but the sister hotel next door was quite busy. We were told that our section catered to more safari breakers and the other catered to more the 1 week all inclusive stays. That being said it was quiet, which we needed, the rooms were great, staff very pleasant. The drinks were a little expensive as were not all inclusive, but we are not huge drinkers, that's what Mexico is for. If you walk onto the beach during the day your hounded by the "beach boys", every 3rd world beach resort has them, so you just ignore them like always. The only complaint (all be it small" was that when we arrived we had been safariing for 16 days and all my tip money was depleted so went to the front desk to get smaller bills to tip and found it was like pulling teeth. They should keep some money for things like that, I am tipping their staff. But like I said great resort, weather was sunny and hot, enjoyed the rest.

Room Tip: we stayed in the beach front rooms , had great unobstructed views of ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deigo762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

The hotel is located 30kms away from the airport but they do have the option of an airport transfer. The staff are very friendly and the buffet has a few very well prepared items (one is not overwhelmed by too many average menu items)... Great spaces for relaxing and generally a lovely place to spend a quiet Island holiday

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wawira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiwengwa
1.7 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,634 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,683 reviews
18.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#5 of 173 in Zanzibar Island
506 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sultan Sands Island Resort
3.0 mi away
Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa

Address: Zanzibar | North Coast, Kiwengwa 3276, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kiwengwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kiwengwa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kiwengwa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kiwengwa
#4 Family Hotel in Kiwengwa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kiwengwa
Price Range: $196 - $523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury beachfront resort with traditional Swahili charm, Bluebay Beach Resort & Spa is situated on the finest white beach on the east coast of Zanzibar. The resort is one of the island’s most prestigious properties offering the ultimate in beach comfort: excellent accommodation; fine wining and dining; a host of sports and leisure facilities; the famous Oasis Spa; and our award-winning service. Bluebay’s rooms and suites are set within 30-acres of tropical gardens with over 1,000 palm trees, some right at the ocean’s edge. All rooms are spacious, bright and beautifully decorated in Zanzibari style. Dining at Bluebay showcases Zanzibar’s celebrated local ingredients with an emphasis on fresh seafood and contemporary cuisine. As well as being a magical destination for holidaymakers wishing to soak up the sun and absorb the enchanting culture of Zanzibar, the resort offers excellent facilities for meetings, conferences and group incentives. And our weddings and events team can help you plan a private party, a wedding and, of course, a honeymoon! Bluebay Beach Resort & Spa is Bluebay’s premier brand. The resort shares a 500m stretch of beach with its sister property – Sultan Sands Island Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebay Beach Hotel Kiwengwa
Bluebay Beach Resort And Spa Zanzibar Island/Kiwengwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing