We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“wonderful experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Kiwengwa
Certificate of Excellence
Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“wonderful experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed @ the Blue Bay Beach Resort earlier in November 2012.

It is a wonderful setting, with large comfortable rooms.

Food and beverages were very good, along with the service.

The pool and beach were just great.
My wife enjoyed the spa, and I got a great haircut there too.

I would highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mahm00dV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    237
    71
    40
    27
See reviews for
182
328
35
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed with my parents in the hotel in November 2012 and I just would like to say "THANK YOU" BLUEBAY Team for a perfect holiday. As I am also working in tourism I review this hotel from my business point of view and I can warmly recommend the hotel as well as the neighbouring Sultan Sands. The location of the hotel is on a stretch of white beach with crystal clear water (only be aware that you can not swim there all the time due to the tide) and within a tropical garden. The rooms are very nice and clean and the hotel in general well maintained. The food is excellent and changes every evening with different themes and a nice entertainment program. However the heart of the hotel is the very friendly and helpfull staff that is always smiling and shows real hospitality. Once again we can only recommend the hotel and we would return there any time. For all the people who wrote not so good reviews here I can only say - for some people it is better to stay at home if they wish to have 100% the same facilities like in their home country - travelling has different values.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marion M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Uppsala Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

wonderful garden, great white long sandy beach. we had a room with a view looking at the ocean
relaxing spa wih massage like deep tissue
pictures can be found at the homepage
snorkeling and diving only from boats. fishes were out at the reefs, a boat was needed
the Stone town (capital) and heritage was old and not in a good shape, but still interesting for the historic perspective; to have a guide is a must to explain the history from slaves to now

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

A perfect retreat after climbing Mt Meru and Mt Kili. Just hung by the pool, walked the beach (though 'beach boys' a bit of a hassle), drank cocktails, laid around on the canopied lounges, dined by the pool at night (every night a different theme and fare)...very, very relaxing. Service was excellent, rooms excellent and sleeping a dream. Would have liked a bathtub to make it complete!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taurus23_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

An excellent 3 days at bluebay. The beach is idyllic, the rooms are clean and spacious and well spaced out to give a feel of privacy. Staff were always friendly and helpful.

The only niggle I can come up with is the coffee at the Bahari Grill is disgusting instant stuff which surprised me because there is excellent coffee available at other places including the coffee bar!

I would also say that you will not get the most out of your visit if you stay in the hotel! There is a lot to do and see and the hotel can help you to do it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mwanafunzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

I've stayed at BB twice - 2010 and 2011 - with my wife and two young children, and I plan to return very soon. The hotel is great for families and perfect in every respect, though with one exception - the music was dire. The canned elevator music, Celine Dion and Marley covers are quite distressing and a horrendous distraction from everything else wonderful about this hotel. Please, please get some better tunes! There's tons of inoffensive, chill-out, lounge music out there to choose from.The current selection could only really please someone in their 80's.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JDAM-EA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Imagine sitting on a very comfortable sunbed under a thatched umbrella, the sky cloudless and the temperature around 30C, drinking fresh coconut water from a nut that has just been plucked from the palm, and looking out across pure white sand to the emerald green sea. That's what we had at the Bluebay in Zanzibar.
We've been to many fine hotels and beach resorts including superb ones on Mauritius and Barbados. This topped the lot. We had two suites: one was right on the beach front the other was set back in the gardens. The beach front suite had a beautiful covered patio with a day bed, a dining table and comfortable chairs. Down the path through the garden, there was the beach umbrella and our sunbeds, all supplied with cushions and towels. Just walk down the steps and we were on the beautifully clean beach and into the warm, crystal clear water.
The garden "junior" suite also had a wide covered patio and every morning we could sit with our cup of tea, watching the sun rise over the sea and listening to the gentle sound of the surf, while the staff shinned up the coconut palms to collect the nuts. Inside, both suites had huge beds, comfortable sitting areas and superb bathrooms. The garden suite even had a double shower outside in a totally private garden surrounded by bougonvilia.
Everything about Bluebay was first class. The food, the service at bars and restaurants, the housekeeping - the bed was beautifully decorated with towel sculptures and frangipani blossoms - and the general maintenance were all faultless. Lunch at the beach bar was superb and if we didn't fancy what was on offer at Bluebay in the evening, we could go to the buffet on offer at the sister hotel next door, Sultan Sands.
Seven nights of total pampering!

Room Tip: Sultan Suites 1 or 2 for beach front - 1 for honeymoon, 2 has a large dressing room that can house a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ColinRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiwengwa
1.7 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
18.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 171 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
18.1 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#2 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sultan Sands Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa

Property: Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa
Address: | North Coast, Kiwengwa 3276, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kiwengwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kiwengwa
#4 Family Hotel in Kiwengwa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kiwengwa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kiwengwa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kiwengwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury beachfront resort with traditional Swahili charm, Bluebay Beach Resort & Spa is situated on the finest white beach on the east coast of Zanzibar. The resort is one of the island’s most prestigious properties offering the ultimate in beach comfort: excellent accommodation; fine wining and dining; a host of sports and leisure facilities; the famous Oasis Spa; and our award-winning service. Bluebay’s rooms and suites are set within 30-acres of tropical gardens with over 1,000 palm trees, some right at the ocean’s edge. All rooms are spacious, bright and beautifully decorated in Zanzibari style. Dining at Bluebay showcases Zanzibar’s celebrated local ingredients with an emphasis on fresh seafood and contemporary cuisine. As well as being a magical destination for holidaymakers wishing to soak up the sun and absorb the enchanting culture of Zanzibar, the resort offers excellent facilities for meetings, conferences and group incentives. And our weddings and events team can help you plan a private party, a wedding and, of course, a honeymoon! Bluebay Beach Resort & Spa is Bluebay’s premier brand. The resort shares a 500m stretch of beach with its sister property – Sultan Sands Island Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Jovago.com and Agoda so you can book your Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebay Beach Hotel Kiwengwa
Bluebay Beach Resort And Spa Zanzibar Island/Kiwengwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing