We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable holiday after a bad start”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Kiwengwa
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Enjoyable holiday after a bad start”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We arrived at the Bluebay after a 7 night safari in the Serengeti, we had booked a club room but on arrival we were informed we were in a junior suite.The club rooms and the facilities were closed,after a consultation with the management we came to an amicable agreement and went on to thoroughly enjoy our stay.Staff were friendly and helpful, management were present and approachable, maybe the managers could have been a little less full on but this by no means a criticism. Food was based on theme nights, some good,some not to our taste but we never went hungry. The beach was ok,lots of people wanting you to buy something or visit their shops, some were very persistent! most accepted a polite no thank you.Evening entertainment was not great and repetative but all the entertainers tried their best.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and when we have been to all the places in the world we want to visit we would consider returning

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mazza08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    281
    84
    43
    27
See reviews for
221
380
41
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at the resort, we had a wonderful 2 weeks. The staff and management went out of their way to ensure that they accomodated us with a high level of service, even down to chilling glasses for our "cold" drinks!. The room staff were wonderful, we wondered what sculptures would greet us on our return to the room after a hard day's sunbathing. The dive centre staff were extremely professional, the boat crew were very helpful and the diving instructors went out of their way to point out interesting creatures and detail.The unsung heroes of the complex are the guys ensuring that the sunbeds had a comfortable mattress on which to put your towel before lying down for a hard day's rest!
The food was good with the choice of eating at the sister hotel next door. Themed evenings provided a variety of choice.
A note of caution, if you wish to book trips around the island, use the hotel service, the travel agency rep was only interested in selling tours,he gave no information about the island. the hotel or local area.We booked the spice tour and Stone Town excursion.We were informed that lunch was included only to arrive at the venue to be told that a fixed contribution of 20,000 shillings was included as part of the package and that anything over that amount we would have to pay for. This only afforded us the luxury of a burger and chips and did not cover the cost of a drink! Make sure you establish what is included before you book! All in all the hotel, staff and the diving exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Staff are not fully trained, rooms are dirty and they don't have bed sheets to change daily.Room floors are wiped once a week and the drinks are very pricey.For vegetarians the food is very limited. I don't think this is a child friendly hotel in terms of meals.Reception is not friendly once you complain about anything to them. I think there are much better hotels in Zanzibar to visit. Make sure before you choose the rooms see them first as there is no difference between superior and club rooms.

Room Tip: Junior suites are very nice and close to all areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mitul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We had some relaxing days under the palms after 8 days of safari in Tanzania. It was overall OK! Neither highlights or bad experiences :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mona E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antibes
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2012

After a safari in Kenya, we spent a week at Bluebay and were overwhelmed by the friendliness that the staff showed us and the high level of service of the hotel. And the food! We sampled all restaurants that Bluebay and its sister hotel has to offer and also tried a specially catered seafood dinner set up at a private table by the sea!

Bluebay is a great place for the family, right on the beach, lots of activities and with a good location for excursions to Stone Town, dolphin safaris and diving.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank circo19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Very expensive. People at the front desk don't know how to smile. Food is not so good! We don't go to Zanzibar to get Italian buffet! The only good thing is the beach restaurant. Select a Villa, they are very nice with outdoor showers.

Room Tip: Go for the suite they have nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ank1170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We had a lovely relax here after our safari in kenya which was amazing, only to be totally lied to at the airport by precision air! Arrived with 3 hours to spare. The flight was delayed and was the last one. Still had plenty of time if we went on the information given only when it did arrive they put on all other passengers with ealier connection times. we were told another plane was coming and we would still make it!! Well the plane did arrive- much later, sat on the runway for 20 mins the flight attendants said the captain was in touch with kenya airways their sister company and ww would still make the flight! We parked up on arrival right next door to our flight with last call showing on the board. got to the desk to be told we were too late! The check in girls told us to go to another gate...no one there...went back to our flight gate.secyrity were there to screen us but the two girls had gone! Needless to say we and 7 others missed the flight! Precision air are extremely incompetant and lie theough their teeth to tell you what they think you want to hear. Kenya airways are not far behind them. We will never use either company again and advise you to do the same!!! They totally spoilt a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HazelT2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiwengwa
1.7 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
1,571 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,591 reviews
18.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
619 reviews
12.8 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 169 in Zanzibar Island
489 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sultan Sands Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa

Property: Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa
Address: | North Coast, Kiwengwa 3276, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kiwengwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kiwengwa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kiwengwa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kiwengwa
#4 Family Hotel in Kiwengwa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kiwengwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury beachfront resort with traditional Swahili charm, Bluebay Beach Resort & Spa is situated on the finest white beach on the east coast of Zanzibar. The resort is one of the island’s most prestigious properties offering the ultimate in beach comfort: excellent accommodation; fine wining and dining; a host of sports and leisure facilities; the famous Oasis Spa; and our award-winning service. Bluebay’s rooms and suites are set within 30-acres of tropical gardens with over 1,000 palm trees, some right at the ocean’s edge. All rooms are spacious, bright and beautifully decorated in Zanzibari style. Dining at Bluebay showcases Zanzibar’s celebrated local ingredients with an emphasis on fresh seafood and contemporary cuisine. As well as being a magical destination for holidaymakers wishing to soak up the sun and absorb the enchanting culture of Zanzibar, the resort offers excellent facilities for meetings, conferences and group incentives. And our weddings and events team can help you plan a private party, a wedding and, of course, a honeymoon! Bluebay Beach Resort & Spa is Bluebay’s premier brand. The resort shares a 500m stretch of beach with its sister property – Sultan Sands Island Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebay Beach Hotel Kiwengwa
Bluebay Beach Resort And Spa Zanzibar Island/Kiwengwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing