We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Kiwengwa
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Honeymoon”
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

The general manager Samuel Bond and his team run an excellent, friendly, efficient service for all guests ensuring that particular attention to individual customer service needs are met throughout. The staff- too many too name all; but particularly Mwini, Anthony, the Chef and Sous Chefs, guest relations managers from South Africa and Bahrain - Yaqoob, bar staff, waiters and waitresses, gardeners and cleaners went out of their way to make this the most enjoyable stay. As it was our honeymoon we also got some free extras, however, all guests were treated as VIPs. Excellent food, entertainment nightly and plenty of watersports and free activities including free Swahili lessons by the Animator, an excellent PADI dive centre happy to hire gear for the odd snorkel or proper diving lessons, free sea kayaking, windsurfing lessons, a brand new Africology Spa, and daily evening themed buffets with fresh cooked food and subtle live bands and shows every evening. The beach and sea were perfect, and safe. The hotel employs good physical security but the locals are most friendly and the Masi warriors are very polite and speak excellent English, and are a mine of local information. The manager also recommended an excellent private restaurant for our ventures during a trip round historic Stonetown. A true Ocean Paradise. We are strongly considering going again, but also would consider going to the new Double Tree Hilton in Stonetown once completed, which will be a much easier journey once the new Zanzibar Airport is completed/ upgraded and direct flights from Europe are available. Our holiday was so relaxing we actually lost track of time. A very big thankyou to all the staff. It is just a pity we are now in England and it is two degrees centigrade !!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Richard

Thank you for taking time to write a detailed review providing us with your feedback.

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed a relaxing and entertaining stay at Ocean Paradise Resort. We will convey your feedback to the team and former Food & Beverage Manager, Mr. Bond.

Thank you once again for your detailed review and choosing Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa for your holiday.

Trust you are well rested and ready for new ventures in 2014.

Warmest regards
The Ocean Paradise Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    193
    35
    20
    20
See reviews for
143
340
49
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aix-en-Provence, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We went at the Ocean Paradise in Zanzibar in mid january for 10 days on our honeymoon. The hotel service was EXCELLENT, the surroundings were beautiful, and we had the best time.
The staff was very nice, available, and always ready to help.
Since it was our honeymoon, the hotel not only upgraded us to an individual bungalow on the beach, but they also offered us a private lobster dinner on the beach, with a bottle of sparkling wine. It was also my husband's birthday during our stay, and the chef made a chocolate cake with his name on it that was brought in room service, AGAIN OFFERED BY THE HOTEL.
They know how to care for their customers!
We are very satisfied with our choice of destination, and are definitively recommending this hotel for a romantic getaway!!

Thank you Ocean Paradise Resort for the great memories !!

Room Tip: Definitively worth getting the upgrade to the private bungalows on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AaaaIice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Aaaalice

Thank you for taking the time writing a review and giving us your feedback.

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and trust that you will share the great memories with your family and friends.

Thank you once again for choosing Ocean Paradise Resort for your Honeymoon.

Warmest regards
The Ocean Paradise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2014

As soon as you arrived in reception a wonderful backdrop of the ocean awaits you.
Acconadation in lovely surroundings,very helpful and freindley staff,good food good service.
I would like to give a special mention to mr Samuel bond GM who worked tiresley over our stay
To make sure everything was ok. Also a big thankful to Anthony head waiter for making my wife smile everyday

Ian & sally

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Ian & Sally

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and provide us with your feedback.

We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and it has been a pleasure to be your host.

We will convey your message to Mr. Bond, our Food & Beverage Manager, Anthony and the rest of the team.

We trust you will share your experience here in paradise with you family and friends. Thank you once again for choosing Ocean Paradise Resort for your stay.

Warmest regards
The Ocean Paradise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasteras, Sweden
Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The hotel have a nice level of service in everything from food to accommodation and surroundings. The week was one constant positive variation of meals, there is always something for everyone in the group to eat.
Seashore can only be used during high tide, but it did nothing when the pool area was enough, also with it´s bar and free towels. A very nice place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Thomas

Thank you for taking time to write your review and giving us feedback.

We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and it has been a pleasure to host you for your holiday.

Thank you once again for choosing Ocean Paradise.

Warmest regards
The Ocean Paradise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Exceeded expectations, stunning setting, luxurious rooms, delicious food. Above all, exceptional service w/ the tone being set by Samuel Bond, the energetic, hard working GM whose attention to detail and our needs was second-to-none.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Cori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Cori

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and giving us your feedback.

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and it has been a pleasure to be your host.

We will convey your compliments to Mr. Bond, our Food & Beverage manager and the rest of the team.

Thank you once again for choosing Ocean Paradise for your holiday.

Warmest regards
The Ocean Paradise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I loved the grounds, the peace and quiet. The food was great for adults not for children under 4, my child kept saying pilipili ( pepper) mama as the food was spicy. I arrived at 1 in the afternoon tired and hungry with a 3 year old in tow and had to wait an hour for my booking to be sorted. Great rooms and views from the room though through out my stay the balcony was never cleaned.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mghoi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Mghoi M

Thank you for the time to write a review and provide us with your feedback.

We regret to hear that some of dishes were a bit spicy for your 3 year old and this has been brought to the attention of our Executive Chef for recommend dishes that is more suitable for children on our buffet.

The hotel’s check in time is 2pm , our apology again that you had to wait an hour upon your arrival at 1pm to ensure our rooms are well prepared for our guests check-in at 2pm. We try our very best to accommodate our guests who arrive early especially during the high December season period. Therefore we invite our guests to make use of our luggage storage facilities while enjoying the Resorts facilities and lunch down at our pool side.

Thank you for bringing your room’s balcony to our attention which our Executive Housekeeper investigated with your assigned room attendant and the needful actions were taken.

Thank you once again for choosing Ocean Paradise Resort for your stay.

Warmest regards
The Ocean Paradise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

This was a gorgeous resort. Best food at an all inclusive I have ever had and really beautiful surroundings. We stayed in a beach bungalo and it was very peaceful and just steps from the beach. Perhaps the best thing about this resort is the staff, one and all they were amazing. We must particularly thank Elizalea and Samuel. They made our stay really lovely and are just great people to chat with (when they have time!). Also Patricia, Francis and Said along with many others. One lovely young man who was a gardener climbed a tree and brought us fresh coconuts every day, delicious! We can't thank you all enough for a wonderful stay. Tracy & Wendy

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Tracy & Wendy

Thank you for taking time to write your review and providing us with your feedback.

We take pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and will convey your compliments to the team.

Thank you once again for choosing Ocean Paradise Resort as your holiday destination.

Kindest regards,
The Ocean Paradise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiwengwa
1.2 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,474 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,439 reviews
15.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#3 of 167 in Zanzibar Island
447 reviews
0.3 mi away
Diamonds Mapenzi Beach
Diamonds Mapenzi Beach
#1 of 3 in Mahonda
739 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa

Property: Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa
Address: Pwani Mchangani | Pwani Mchangani, Kiwengwa 0000, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kiwengwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 Family Hotel in Kiwengwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Zanzibar’s picturesque North East coast overlooking the turquoise Indian Ocean, it is as the name suggests a little piece of paradise. From your arrival at Zanzibar Airport, the resort is a meandering 45 minute journey through un-spoilt scenery, passing typical African villages where the way of life has changed little for hundreds of years. At Ocean Paradise Resort Zanzibar, you will be greeted by a blaze of colour as you sweep down the imposing driveway, saluted by a Masai warrior as you pass through the entrance gate and be captivated as you arrive in reception and look out over the resort and the azure blue sea. Mature coconut palms swinging in the breeze, white sandy beach, beautiful landscaped gardens, traditional style round chalets with pitched makuti roof, a stunning waterfall feature and the largest swimming pool in Zanzibar are just some of the sights that await you. A big smile and the greeting of "Jambo" will be the first words you hear, as you begin to feel the warmth that the people of Zanzibar are famed for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Paradise Hotel Kiwengwa
Ocean Paradise Resort Zanzibar
Ocean Paradise Zanzibar
Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa Zanzibar Island/Kiwengwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing