We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lived up to its name!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Kiwengwa
Certificate of Excellence
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lived up to its name!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

After a hectic (but amazing) week's Safari Tour on mainland Tanzania, we were looking forward to relaxing on Zanzibar. As we didn't know anything about the island, we chose the Hotel because of its appealing name - and we weren't disappointed! It's on the north-east coast, about an hour from the airport, so you get a nice taste of the island as you drive across. Beautifully-designed Resort, with African bandas as your home. Lush vegetation and African decoration everywhere. The main restaurant was by the pool and the buffet food was delicious - and varied each night. There was also a special restaurant on the beach, which as we were celebrating both our Birthdays and our Wedding Anniversary (24th = Tanzanite!), we decided to try - and it was great! We told the Hotel it was our Birthdays and they presented us with a cake on each of our special nights - together with the staff singing & dancing around our table - and also decorated our room with lovely flowers :o)

Room Tip: We were in the top floor (of just two) in a Garden banda and it had beautiful views over the grounds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol_Ann2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Mrs. Carol

Thank you for your kind words and compliments.

It was our pleasure to be your host for a relaxing beach holiday and celebration of your special occasions.

Asante Sana (Thank you)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    191
    35
    20
    20
See reviews for
140
334
48
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bonn, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

I spent only four days at the Ocean Paradiese Resort to recharge after a stressful work project - it truly worked. Spacious grounds, beautiful and clean rooms, very friendly staff. Sporting activities and possibilities like windsurfing or volley ball keep from gaining weight from the great buffet style food options. Unfortunately weak WiFi.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sonja E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your review Sonja.

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us at Ocean Paradise Resort. It was our pleasure to host you for a well-deserved break.

We trust you will share your experience with family and friends and hope to see you soon again.

Asante Sana (Thank you)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We spent a few days here after a week of safari. It was the perfect break!

The resort is amazing. Gorgeous grounds, beach, rooms (oh my god I love the round rooms!!), and nice pool area. Great food. Excellent service - truly the nicest staff I have ever encountered.

My only wish is that the wifi was better. But that's it. Everything else was just perfect!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Mrs. Jeff

Thank you for your kind review.

It gives our team great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and take great pride in giving the hospitality to our guests that Zanzibar is known for.

Yes, the fact that our rooms are built in the African Roundhouse style do offer that African Island feel and experience surrounded by the great amount of coconut palm trees.

Due to the infrastructure on the Island the Wi-Fi connection may give poor signal through from time to time, however the issue is being addressed with our suppliers.

Thank you once again and trust you will share your great experience with friends and family.

Asante Sana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe Twp.,Nj
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

The grounds are lovely and the setting on the beach is beautiful. We enjoyed our room located close to the beach and the pool area. The room itself was very nice and spacious, but the bathroom left something to be desired. It was poorly designed (long and narrow) and the shower was painted an unappealing black. The towels were hung in a very inconvenient location. The staff was accommodating and friendly. My husband enjoyed the 3 massages he got at the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Mrs. Judy

Thank you for your review.

We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is our pleasure to announce that our bathrooms are undergoing a refurbishment this year, although the size won’t change. Due to the unit built as an African Roundhouse the bathroom might feel a bit narrow or long due to the rounding walls of the unit.

We are also happy to announce the opening of our brand new Spa and Fitness Centre this year. The Centre will offer 4 Treatment Rooms, Sauna, Steam room, Salon, Jacuzzis, Fitness Centre and locker rooms. This will offer our guests a wider variety of treatments.

Thank you again for staying at Ocean Paradise Resort. Asante Sana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holon, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Great rooms on a beautiful beach (only problem is that it's a coral beach so can't swim all day - only in high-tide)

Staff is very professional and kind, food is great and facilities are well maintained.

We had a great time! thank you!

Room Tip: Rooms down on the beach level are great if you don't want to climb the stairs every time you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Narilw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and compliments.

It gives us great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Ocean Paradise Resort.

The sea is tidal and this is the case for most areas of the Island, however , this is the perfect opportunity to take our reef tour which is organized by our Animation Team or relax by the pool with the view over the beach sipping on a nice cold cocktail or smoothie.

It is our pleasure to serve our guests with the warm hospitality that Zanzibar is known for and we will definitely convey your message to the entire team .

We trust that you will share your wonderful experience with friends and family.

Once again a heartfelt thank you. Asante Sana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

The name of this resort tells about what the exsperence is OCEAN PARADISE
I was for one week in this hotel and it has a friendly atmosphere , food was very nice,
entertainment I like very much in the evening . .

Water front most acttractive for me . Hotel has good watersport equipment
They have small sailling boats : byte / catamaran / windsurfing kano/
The guys from watersport are friendly and help me out on catamaran and windsurf .
Feeling about this hotel is very good
Hotel has african relaxed atmosphere

jeroen

.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeroen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your review and feedback Jeroen

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Ocean Paradise Resort.

We have recently refurbished all our water sport equipment and sailing boats with the friendly help of the Watersportcentrum Muiderberg in Holland and Loft Sails. With their help everyone can enjoy sailing proudly at Ocean Paradise Resort in the tropical waters.

Thank you once again. Asante Sana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed in this hotel in august 2012. Nice location, comfortable rooms, good food. Only setback, swimming in the sea only possible at high tide all other time, you will have to use the nice and tall swimming pool.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patfaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your review.

Yes high tide is the only time one can swim in the ocean, however this provides a perfect opportunity to take a walk to the reef or as you have mentioned there's the lovely swimming pool to cool down and enjoy a lovely cocktail.

May you have a lovely day and hope to see you again in the near future.

Asante Sana (Thank you)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiwengwa
1.2 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
15.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.2 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#4 of 173 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.3 mi away
Diamonds Mapenzi Beach
Diamonds Mapenzi Beach
#1 of 3 in Mahonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
15.0 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa

Property: Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa
Address: Pwani Mchangani | Pwani Mchangani, Kiwengwa 0000, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kiwengwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 Family Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kiwengwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Zanzibar’s picturesque North East coast overlooking the turquoise Indian Ocean, it is as the name suggests a little piece of paradise. From your arrival at Zanzibar Airport, the resort is a meandering 45 minute journey through un-spoilt scenery, passing typical African villages where the way of life has changed little for hundreds of years. At Ocean Paradise Resort Zanzibar, you will be greeted by a blaze of colour as you sweep down the imposing driveway, saluted by a Masai warrior as you pass through the entrance gate and be captivated as you arrive in reception and look out over the resort and the azure blue sea. Mature coconut palms swinging in the breeze, white sandy beach, beautiful landscaped gardens, traditional style round chalets with pitched makuti roof, a stunning waterfall feature and the largest swimming pool in Zanzibar are just some of the sights that await you. A big smile and the greeting of "Jambo" will be the first words you hear, as you begin to feel the warmth that the people of Zanzibar are famed for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Paradise Hotel Kiwengwa
Ocean Paradise Resort Zanzibar
Ocean Paradise Zanzibar
Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa Zanzibar Island/Kiwengwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing