We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I want to go back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Kiwengwa
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“I want to go back!”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We spent a few days here after a week of safari. It was the perfect break!

The resort is amazing. Gorgeous grounds, beach, rooms (oh my god I love the round rooms!!), and nice pool area. Great food. Excellent service - truly the nicest staff I have ever encountered.

My only wish is that the wifi was better. But that's it. Everything else was just perfect!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Mrs. Jeff

Thank you for your kind review.

It gives our team great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and take great pride in giving the hospitality to our guests that Zanzibar is known for.

Yes, the fact that our rooms are built in the African Roundhouse style do offer that African Island feel and experience surrounded by the great amount of coconut palm trees.

Due to the infrastructure on the Island the Wi-Fi connection may give poor signal through from time to time, however the issue is being addressed with our suppliers.

Thank you once again and trust you will share your great experience with friends and family.

Asante Sana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    193
    35
    20
    21
See reviews for
143
340
50
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Monroe Twp.,Nj
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The grounds are lovely and the setting on the beach is beautiful. We enjoyed our room located close to the beach and the pool area. The room itself was very nice and spacious, but the bathroom left something to be desired. It was poorly designed (long and narrow) and the shower was painted an unappealing black. The towels were hung in a very inconvenient location. The staff was accommodating and friendly. My husband enjoyed the 3 massages he got at the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Mrs. Judy

Thank you for your review.

We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is our pleasure to announce that our bathrooms are undergoing a refurbishment this year, although the size won’t change. Due to the unit built as an African Roundhouse the bathroom might feel a bit narrow or long due to the rounding walls of the unit.

We are also happy to announce the opening of our brand new Spa and Fitness Centre this year. The Centre will offer 4 Treatment Rooms, Sauna, Steam room, Salon, Jacuzzis, Fitness Centre and locker rooms. This will offer our guests a wider variety of treatments.

Thank you again for staying at Ocean Paradise Resort. Asante Sana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holon, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Great rooms on a beautiful beach (only problem is that it's a coral beach so can't swim all day - only in high-tide)

Staff is very professional and kind, food is great and facilities are well maintained.

We had a great time! thank you!

Room Tip: Rooms down on the beach level are great if you don't want to climb the stairs every time you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Narilw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and compliments.

It gives us great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Ocean Paradise Resort.

The sea is tidal and this is the case for most areas of the Island, however , this is the perfect opportunity to take our reef tour which is organized by our Animation Team or relax by the pool with the view over the beach sipping on a nice cold cocktail or smoothie.

It is our pleasure to serve our guests with the warm hospitality that Zanzibar is known for and we will definitely convey your message to the entire team .

We trust that you will share your wonderful experience with friends and family.

Once again a heartfelt thank you. Asante Sana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The name of this resort tells about what the exsperence is OCEAN PARADISE
I was for one week in this hotel and it has a friendly atmosphere , food was very nice,
entertainment I like very much in the evening . .

Water front most acttractive for me . Hotel has good watersport equipment
They have small sailling boats : byte / catamaran / windsurfing kano/
The guys from watersport are friendly and help me out on catamaran and windsurf .
Feeling about this hotel is very good
Hotel has african relaxed atmosphere

jeroen

.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeroen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your review and feedback Jeroen

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Ocean Paradise Resort.

We have recently refurbished all our water sport equipment and sailing boats with the friendly help of the Watersportcentrum Muiderberg in Holland and Loft Sails. With their help everyone can enjoy sailing proudly at Ocean Paradise Resort in the tropical waters.

Thank you once again. Asante Sana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed in this hotel in august 2012. Nice location, comfortable rooms, good food. Only setback, swimming in the sea only possible at high tide all other time, you will have to use the nice and tall swimming pool.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patfaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your review.

Yes high tide is the only time one can swim in the ocean, however this provides a perfect opportunity to take a walk to the reef or as you have mentioned there's the lovely swimming pool to cool down and enjoy a lovely cocktail.

May you have a lovely day and hope to see you again in the near future.

Asante Sana (Thank you)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Overall I was very satisfied with my stay at Ocean Paradise. I stayed for 3 nights after climbing Kili, and it was just what I needed after a grueling 6 day hike. I was a single female traveler and felt 100% safe. I booked a garden room which offered plenty of space and it was conveniently located next to the pool and very close to the beach.
The food was a pleasant surprise; the pool bar had standard American options (sandwiches, pizza, etc) which were reasonably priced, and dinner was served buffet style and had tons of salad, entry, meat/seafood options. I'm usually a picky eater and could find something tasty.
One thing to note: don't book your tours directly through the hotel as they are SUPER expensive. There are a few guys who hang out on the beach right outside the hotel that offer good quality tours for less than half the price.
Make sure you bring plenty of bug spray; I would spot little ants around my room every now and then, which didn't bother me a ton but was definitely not expected (but I think comes with the territory). They offered a turn down service every night where they would open the mosquito nets and spray the room with what smelled like 100% deet bug spray.

Room Tip: The garden rooms were the only options available when I booked, it's a great option as it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are pleased to hear that we could offer you a most relaxing time after the six days hike. What way other than to relax next to the beach at a wonderful resort. As you have mentioned all our rooms are spacious to make one's stay comfortable from the Standard rooms to the Seafront rooms.

We use an outside supplier for our excursions and it's sometimes difficult to control their costing's, however we do give comments like yours through to them. Yes the beach boys might be more affordable, however most of the beach boys you refer to in your review do not have first aid training, emergency training or even life jackets. We take the safety of our guests seriously and therefore recommend using preferred suppliers.

We do spray our units on a regular basis for bug and pest control and sometimes given that we are in a natural environment they do appear.

Thank you once again for visiting us. - Asante Sana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

One of the best, if not the best hotel we have ever been to. We have visited approx 28 different countries. Excellent reception on arrival and management went out of their way to welcome us and make our stay over New Year really enjoyable. The food was just amazing and catered for every taste. The waiting staff seemed to thoroughly enjoy their job. The room was super, clean and private. The beach is one of the best we have seen, very natural and peaceful. We were very impressed by the Community project that the hotel is involved in with the village next door, so much so that we intend to help the village ourselves. This is the first hotel that we have ever recommended!

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be OK, but would recommend one away from restaurant/pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce186229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and compliments.

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Ocean Paradise Resort and will always welcome our guests with a friendly, welcoming smile.

We are delighted to announce that the Maternity Clinic in the Village that forms part of our Community Project is near completion and ready to open soon. We will continue to find ways to support the Village and community to make their lives more comfortable. Should you wish to get more info on the community project kindly send us an email.

Thank you for your support with our project and we appreciate your help dearly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiwengwa
1.3 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,492 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
15.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#3 of 167 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.3 mi away
Diamonds Mapenzi Beach
Diamonds Mapenzi Beach
#1 of 3 in Mahonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa

Property: Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa
Address: Pwani Mchangani | Pwani Mchangani, Kiwengwa 0000, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kiwengwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 Family Hotel in Kiwengwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Zanzibar’s picturesque North East coast overlooking the turquoise Indian Ocean, it is as the name suggests a little piece of paradise. From your arrival at Zanzibar Airport, the resort is a meandering 45 minute journey through un-spoilt scenery, passing typical African villages where the way of life has changed little for hundreds of years. At Ocean Paradise Resort Zanzibar, you will be greeted by a blaze of colour as you sweep down the imposing driveway, saluted by a Masai warrior as you pass through the entrance gate and be captivated as you arrive in reception and look out over the resort and the azure blue sea. Mature coconut palms swinging in the breeze, white sandy beach, beautiful landscaped gardens, traditional style round chalets with pitched makuti roof, a stunning waterfall feature and the largest swimming pool in Zanzibar are just some of the sights that await you. A big smile and the greeting of "Jambo" will be the first words you hear, as you begin to feel the warmth that the people of Zanzibar are famed for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Paradise Hotel Kiwengwa
Ocean Paradise Resort Zanzibar
Ocean Paradise Zanzibar
Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa Zanzibar Island/Kiwengwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing