We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid option for a Zanzibar getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Kiwengwa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Overall I was very satisfied with my stay at Ocean Paradise. I stayed for 3 nights after climbing Kili, and it was just what I needed after a grueling 6 day hike. I was a single female traveler and felt 100% safe. I booked a garden room which offered plenty of space and it was conveniently located next to the pool and very close to the beach.
The food was a pleasant surprise; the pool bar had standard American options (sandwiches, pizza, etc) which were reasonably priced, and dinner was served buffet style and had tons of salad, entry, meat/seafood options. I'm usually a picky eater and could find something tasty.
One thing to note: don't book your tours directly through the hotel as they are SUPER expensive. There are a few guys who hang out on the beach right outside the hotel that offer good quality tours for less than half the price.
Make sure you bring plenty of bug spray; I would spot little ants around my room every now and then, which didn't bother me a ton but was definitely not expected (but I think comes with the territory). They offered a turn down service every night where they would open the mosquito nets and spray the room with what smelled like 100% deet bug spray.

Room Tip: The garden rooms were the only options available when I booked, it's a great option as it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ddaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for your review.

We are pleased to hear that we could offer you a most relaxing time after the six days hike. What way other than to relax next to the beach at a wonderful resort. As you have mentioned all our rooms are spacious to make one's stay comfortable from the Standard rooms to the Seafront rooms.

We use an outside supplier for our excursions and it's sometimes difficult to control their costing's, however we do give comments like yours through to them. Yes the beach boys might be more affordable, however most of the beach boys you refer to in your review do not have first aid training, emergency training or even life jackets. We take the safety of our guests seriously and therefore recommend using preferred suppliers.

We do spray our units on a regular basis for bug and pest control and sometimes given that we are in a natural environment they do appear.

Thank you once again for visiting us. - Asante Sana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (828)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 828 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2013

One of the best, if not the best hotel we have ever been to. We have visited approx 28 different countries. Excellent reception on arrival and management went out of their way to welcome us and make our stay over New Year really enjoyable. The food was just amazing and catered for every taste. The waiting staff seemed to thoroughly enjoy their job. The room was super, clean and private. The beach is one of the best we have seen, very natural and peaceful. We were very impressed by the Community project that the hotel is involved in with the village next door, so much so that we intend to help the village ourselves. This is the first hotel that we have ever recommended!

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be OK, but would recommend one away from restaurant/pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce186229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you so much for your review and compliments.

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Ocean Paradise Resort and will always welcome our guests with a friendly, welcoming smile.

We are delighted to announce that the Maternity Clinic in the Village that forms part of our Community Project is near completion and ready to open soon. We will continue to find ways to support the Village and community to make their lives more comfortable. Should you wish to get more info on the community project kindly send us an email.

Thank you for your support with our project and we appreciate your help dearly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Ocean Paradise is the correct description of this hotel! From arrival to departure we were in Paradise. The staff was fantastic! They took very well care of all our needs. The food and the entertainment was excellent. The fitness centre and the recreation staff was very nice and kept us in motion when we wanted. The location is amazing. Laying in the sunbed with the marvelous pool on one side and the warm ocean on the other side, was just a dream. The houses that we lived in was very very nice and well equipped. We were 4 women travelling and we all did agree that this was our best holiday ever!! Thanks to Ocean Paradise! We will be back in 2014!

Room Tip: The houses were very nice. Quiet and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oddny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you so much for your review and compliments.

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Ocean Paradise Resort.

We are delighted to announce that the Maternity Clinic in the Village that forms part of our Community Project are near completion and ready to open soon. We will continue to find ways to support the Village and community to make their lives more comfortable. Should you wish to get more info on the community project kindly send us an email.

Asante Sana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I was very impressed with this establishment.

From arrival to departure this place was simply great!! We were greeted with cool face cloths after by reception and our check-in sheets were neatly laid out on a lobby table with keys ready for us to just fill-out and go. The chalets are beautifully yet simply decorated and the replacement of fresh flower petals daily was a nice unexpected treat.

Drinks, food, fun - a short walk down the beach to a little clubbing and dancing. Everyone just getting along and having fun.

To top it off, the resort also contributes to the local community/village.

I did not want to leave this place!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eclee97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

it is indeed paradise, the scenery was lovely. The service was consistent and quite pleasant. the rooms are very well situated allowing every room to have a fairly good view of the ocean and if not the landscape is absolutely gorgeous. The bathrooms are dark and very accommodating to humidity and mosquito giving it a moldy smell.
The foooooooooooooooooooooooooood! i loved that bacon and beans, i had a separate plate at breakfast every morning! literally!. their dinners were always different and exciting except that the entrainment was dull and lacked creativity. The cultural dancing was good actually.
Daily activities are quite costly so we opted for for the locals that offered tourist trips on the beach (the most random but exciting thing i ever did) they are shockingly honest and linguistic not to forget the most friendly people i have met. I would really love to go again :(

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chimfwembe m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This resort truly is Ocean Paradise! Wonderful location, beautiful grounds, spacious and well appointed rooms, excellent food and fantastic staff. At this time of year the hotel was quiet which suited us totally, but even if busy I would have thought the resort wouldn't feel crowded. Previous travellers have moaned about the beach boys - when they know you're new they are like bees around a honeypot, but after a couple of days they are just friendly. We went on two trips arranged by Eric (his office is under the palm tree on the beach in front of the hotel) and they were fine (much cheaper than those arranged by Guest Relations). My only criticism would be the hotel's evening entertainment - would have preferred more local music than the obligatory house band, and it all needs better managing. Other than this, I wouldn't change a thing, and hope to return next year.

Room Tip: Back from the beach is quieter at night (avoiding any noise from the evening entertainment)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SussexAnnieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

The reception we received in the Ocean Paradise Resort could not have been friendlier. The other staff is equally friendly and efficient.
You reach the main building through a lovely driveway lined with colourful flamboyants and bougainvilleas.
And at the bottom lies a large garden with hibiscus and frangipani bushes and swaying coconut palms in which most of the rondavel-style guest cottages are situated. The 'kwaa kwaa' cackle of Indian house crows provides a continuous background chorus during the day, and at night you can hear the occasional cry of a bush baby - a much more pleasant sound.
The resort is not really suitable for the elderly and those who walk with difficulty because you have to negotiate a series of steps, depending on where you are going.
The resort style is rustic, especially with regards the bathrooms, but it seems to suit the place. The rooms are spacious with good mosquito nets and are well appointed without being luxurious.
This is a typical tourist resort and most guests will stay on half-board terms. Breakfast is fine and so is the evening buffet with various fish dishes. However, don't expect a culinary tour the force. But who would expect that anyway? We are in Tanzania and not in France, and we came for wild animals, sun and sand.
The resort offers evening entertainment and various daytime activities. While we were there there was an excellent band from Madagascar in attendance.
There is a large, sparkling swimming pool. The beach consists of powdery sand. At low tide you can walk for a kilometre to sandbanks and the reef.
The beach at adjoining hotels is full of irritating peddlers, among them an amazing number of Masai men in traditional garb but armed with cellphones and sunglasses. But for some reason the beach in front of the Paradise is relatively free from pesky hawkers.
The Zanzibar electricity grid is subject to frequent interuptions, but the resort's generator kicks in withín seconds.
Do I have one complaint? Yes, the beer was never really served cold!

Room Tip: Try and get a room near the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VanRiebeeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiwengwa
1.3 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,709 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,786 reviews
13.4 mi away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#5 of 172 in Zanzibar Island
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Pongwe Beach Hotel
Pongwe Beach Hotel
#1 of 6 in Pongwe
942 reviews
15.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
26.7 mi away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa (Relais & Chateaux)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa

Address: Pwani Mchangani | Pwani Mchangani, Kiwengwa 0000, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kiwengwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 Family Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kiwengwa
Price Range: $55 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Zanzibar’s picturesque North East coast overlooking the turquoise Indian Ocean, it is as the name suggests a little piece of paradise. From your arrival at Zanzibar Airport, the resort is a meandering 45 minute journey through un-spoilt scenery, passing typical African villages where the way of life has changed little for hundreds of years. At Ocean Paradise Resort Zanzibar, you will be greeted by a blaze of colour as you sweep down the imposing driveway, saluted by a Masai warrior as you pass through the entrance gate and be captivated as you arrive in reception and look out over the resort and the azure blue sea. Mature coconut palms swinging in the breeze, white sandy beach, beautiful landscaped gardens, traditional style round chalets with pitched makuti roof, a stunning waterfall feature and the largest swimming pool in Zanzibar are just some of the sights that await you. A big smile and the greeting of "Jambo" will be the first words you hear, as you begin to feel the warmth that the people of Zanzibar are famed for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Paradise Hotel Kiwengwa
Ocean Paradise Resort Zanzibar
Ocean Paradise Zanzibar
Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa Zanzibar Island/Kiwengwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing