We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Kiwengwa
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I was at Ocean Paradise in 2010 and when I had friends that wanted to visit Zanzibar without hesitation I suggested we return to Ocean Paradise for our weekend getaway. From the moment we checked in it was like I was back home. Welcoming smiles and friendly faces that remembered me; you couldn't ask for much more. The staff are friendly and happy to assist you with anything you need. The food is fantastic, the rooms spacious and clean, the entertainment is wonderful, and the sunrise on the beach is worth getting up for in the morning. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the beach level so you are closer to everything, but all rooms are gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kristina_l_alexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    204
    35
    20
    20
See reviews for
152
351
52
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
red deer
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Loved this place. Clean, new, modern, trendy, good food, good entertainment, good beach, good pool.

Rooms/huts were unique, large, and new.

The only problem, was we only stayed 2 nights. We would have loved too stay 4-5 nights.

You won't be disappointed in this place. If you are, you have some concerns to work out ;)
The only pain in the butt was the locals on the beach. You just learn to stop talking to them. As rude as blatantly ignoring someone is, they need it to not bother you.

Simply put your hand up and say no thank you, and walk away without talking any more to them. If they continue asking you questions (and they will) just ignore them.

All they want is for you to come look at there shops, which is fine. But theyll hound you if you walk the beach, so either walk with your feet a few inches in the water, or walk along expecting to be asked to shop. It's not a downside, just an annoyance


---
Note - We have been to Bora Bora, St Lucia, Jamaica & more.... This hotel was among the best ever attended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank richknebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Great place, food, people...perfect spot not to be disturbed with your book:)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tomaznina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

On first impression we were very impressed with the resort. Walking into the lobby the view of the ocean beyond were breathtaking.
We arrived a little early for check in and waited 2 hours for our room to be ready. During this time the staff were brilliant offering us drinks and giving us lots of information about the island.
When our room was ready we were unfortunatly in one of the furthest rooms away, not really a huge issue but a long walk from the pool and restaurant.
The room itself was large with a nice balcony but offered vey little in the way of a view. After settling in we discovered the aircon unit had no remote control (Its high up on the wall) and the toilet flush handle was broken and on the floor. We reported this and was told they would address asap. Cutting a long story short we had to report the toilet 4 times as the fixes they made were temporary and broke again and had to use the on/off switch in the electrical cupboard for the aircon unit.
The pool area with swim up bar was nice (there were a couple of tiles missing as mentioned in other reviews but a minor issue as did not feel they were dangerous). The beach is just beyond with a nice private area if you didn't want to mix with the guys on the beach selling stuff.
The restaurant is next to the pool and the food was excellent. Entertainment was provided all nights and personally would have preferred something more traditional than bands covering popular songs. We were much happier at the bar near reception in the evening which overlooks the resort.
On check out we had to query our bill as we had been overcharged for drinks. During our stay we signed each check for the drinks we had and reception could not provide us with all the copies claiming they may have been lost. Eventually the manager was called and agreed there had been an error and we had got another rooms drinks on our bill. It was a shame as it soured an otherwise good stay here.
This is a nice resort but attention needs to be paid to the little details and it would be great. The staff work very hard and really make you welcome but are maybe being let down by management.

Room Tip: Try to get one near to reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank IanB1892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

It was the first time for me and my family to zanzibar. I read reviews and felt really unsure. I feel the reviews were very personal and not targetting all types of guests.
First everyone should accept that it is a four star resort.
When we went there we were really welcomed warmly. We are vegetarians and the choice was really little but on our request it was sorted out and we didnt have any more complain on this issue. Housekeeping was great. Waiters service was a bit slow but all ok.
Rooms were perfect.Pool was great. So was the beach. Its very scenic and clean.
If they do introduce kids club they will do more better.
Its bit far from Stonetown. it almost takes the whole day to come and go and explore it.

My advice, anyone can enjoy if you know how to. ignore small petty things and see the real thing. We had no regrets going there. We dont mind going back there. My kids loved it didnt want to come back home.

Room Tip: If with family, little near to pool and beach area to avoid alot of walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenyamum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Our family of five stayed at the resort for ten nights from the 4th of April 2012. The timing was perfect as the hotel was not very busy due to the low season. We received very good care and the ambiance was perfect. The staff were very friendly especially the Food and Beverage team who knew and spoke to all the guests in person, making sure all needs were met and even asking if we needed anything extra.
The food was very nice with daily buffets based around a changing theme including a great sea food night.

The Animation team was very friendly too and kept our children entertained. They however, may need to be a little more polished.

The rooms were very well proportioned, well cleaned and with good air conditioning.
We were able to interact with the people from the surrounding village community at the public beach without feeling threatened or unsafe. They too were very friendly although perhaps slightly overboard with the ''Hakuna Matata'' phrase they constantly used.

All in all, we could not have asked for a better holiday for ourselves and our three boys. Our youngest made friends with everyone be it staff or guests. We had a very good value for money holiday. Many thanks to the staff and hotel management. Ocean Paradise is recommended. Not sure how well it would fair during the high season though.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Snells5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Beautiful surroundings, crystal clean pool, and shimmering Indian Ocean....along with VERY friendly service and rooms that are spacious and well appointed made for a perfectly relaxing 4 day beach vacation. Recommended and booked by Poa Travel and Tours, we started our Tanzanian vacation with two days in charming Stone Town. Jen (co-owner of Poa Travel) had everything organized for us....we didn't have to think about a thing!! Be sure to ask her to book your Spice Tour and the Stone Town Walking Tour with Mohammed, the guide she chose for us. We enjoyed his charming (and funny!) narrative while seeing parts of Stone Town we wouldn't have found on our own. Buy your spices at the market....NOT on the spice tour!! He will take you where you can get the best prices.
The service was friendly and efficient at Ocean Paradise. EVERYONE greeted us (Jambo...Hakuna Matata) throughout our stay....even the grounds keepers. Food was quite varied at the evening meal and very tasty...both breakfast and dinner.
My only suggestion is that certain amenities be included in the price in order to alleviate the feeling that you are constantly being charged for every little thing. It seems that wireless should not be something one has to negotiate for as everyone needs to stay connected with family and friends.
Also....water should be included with dinner (it was at breakfast) and a minimum of one liter should be provided for each person (per day) rather than the small bottles. Small plastic bottles are unnecessarily wasteful as each guest needs to drink more than just that small amount each day in order to stay sufficiently hydrated in the heat and humidity.
Another suggestion would be to improve the quality of wine. While we didn't mind paying for our sparkling wine before dinner or wine by the bottle or glass during dinner, the quality could be improved....and maybe guests would have that second glass!
All in all, the trip was fabulous! Zanzibar is not to be missed on your travels through East Africa. Contact Jen at poatravelandtours@hotmail.com.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keenainkenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiwengwa
1.3 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
1,566 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,583 reviews
15.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 169 in Zanzibar Island
488 reviews
15.4 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
616 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa

Property: Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa
Address: Pwani Mchangani | Pwani Mchangani, Kiwengwa 0000, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kiwengwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 Family Hotel in Kiwengwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Zanzibar’s picturesque North East coast overlooking the turquoise Indian Ocean, it is as the name suggests a little piece of paradise. From your arrival at Zanzibar Airport, the resort is a meandering 45 minute journey through un-spoilt scenery, passing typical African villages where the way of life has changed little for hundreds of years. At Ocean Paradise Resort Zanzibar, you will be greeted by a blaze of colour as you sweep down the imposing driveway, saluted by a Masai warrior as you pass through the entrance gate and be captivated as you arrive in reception and look out over the resort and the azure blue sea. Mature coconut palms swinging in the breeze, white sandy beach, beautiful landscaped gardens, traditional style round chalets with pitched makuti roof, a stunning waterfall feature and the largest swimming pool in Zanzibar are just some of the sights that await you. A big smile and the greeting of "Jambo" will be the first words you hear, as you begin to feel the warmth that the people of Zanzibar are famed for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Paradise Hotel Kiwengwa
Ocean Paradise Resort Zanzibar
Ocean Paradise Zanzibar
Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa Zanzibar Island/Kiwengwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing